We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay and wonderful host!”
Review of Guesthouse Nonni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Guesthouse Nonni
Ranked #3 of 9 Hella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay and wonderful host!”
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

After reading all the fantastic reviews on tripadvisor we had high hopes for Guesthouse Nonni and it delivered! It's nicely situated in a small town called Hella, about a 1 hour drive from Reykjavik. The location is perfect to explore South Iceland if you have a hire car. We stayed for 4 nights in a large double room which was incredibly comfortable and clean. But the star of the show is Nonni himself who is the perfect host - kind, helpful and courteous. As soon as you step through the door you feel at home which is something I've never really experienced before on holiday. And Nonni's breakfasts are absolutely fantastic - the freshly baked bread and waffles in particular. Every day we looked forward to chatting with him over breakfast where he would help plan our day ahead (local knowledge is crucial!) and even provide a thermos of hot water, tea bags and bread to keep us going!
A wonderful place to stay in South Iceland - go ahead and book it!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lukesouchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    30
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
131
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Everyone has already said it, so I'll just reiterate: Nonni is great. The room is cute, the breakfasts are lavish (meats, cheeses, fresh bread, homemade jam, waffles), and Nonni is an all-around great host. He's friendly without being nosy, and he's invaluable for planning a great day in the area. Nonni suggested an amazing scenic way to reach the Golden Circle, past Mt. Hekla and stopping at a massive waterfall with not a single tourist in sight. He sent us off with extra bread left over from breakfast each morning. Restaurant recommendations, Icelandic pronunciations, local vignettes: you name it. 57 people (and counting) can't be wrong. Stay here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Branden55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
137 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Nonni's is unique.

The inimitable ingredient is the man himself - a modest, engaging, helpful host who puts his guests first. The legendary breakfast is testamentent to the effort that Nonni invests to make sure his guests have a great experience - a varied and delicious super-fresh spread famous for Nonni's homemade breads and waffles. He also made an awesome apple cake one evening which appeared at breakfast the next day to great cheer - especially since he served it up with some sensational ice cream made by 'Little Nonni', his cheeky and entertaining grandson.

I witnessed Nonni going well and truly out of his way to help people multiple times - once he spent nearly an hour on the phone trying to find the location of an obscure valley and waterfall for a couple of French visitors, and on another he graciously allowed a bunch of rowdy Italians to use his kitchen to cook (yes cook) their own dinner and take over the space where I assume he usually spends his evenings. This is what he does for people all day, every day.

The rooms and bathrooms are clean and comfortable, and the house is cute - but it's the man that makes the house, not the other way around. The guest book entries articulate in words and pictures just how much the people who stay with Nonni love Nonni. Legendary.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnlisa27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dendermonde, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

What a great Guesthouse Nonni runs! He's a welcoming and funny host. We were able to use his kitchen, he even put some candles on the table, so we could enjoy a romantic candlelight dinner :) The rooms are clean and spacious enough, the bathroom was also very clean and a great shower. Everything felt so homely, especially in the morning when we gathered around the breakfast table with the other guests. The breakfast was simply delicious: there was home-baked bread and Belgian waffles!
Definitely the best place we stayed during our trip to Iceland. And we slept at 8 different places in total, so this means something!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LienBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Enjoyed staying with Nonni in his very lovely home. Comfortable room, greeted us at the door and made us feel welcome instantly. He also provided great ideas for sites to visit and taught us a few words in Icelandic language. Next time we visit Southern Iceland, we will make this our home base. Oh yeah... Yummy breakfast too!

Room Tip: Guest houses seem to be a great alternative to impersonal hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinetop-Lakeside, Arizona
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Very nice stay. The house is centrally located in the cute town of Hella a couple hours from the Golden Circle and less than one hour to the ferry for the Westmann islands. Local thermal pools are a few blocks away with hot tubs and waterslides. The owner is a very nice and helpful. He directed us to the path along the river, that ends in a beautiful waterfall approximately 2.5 miles from his house. Well worth the trip. Breakfast was excellent with warm homemade bread, smoked trout, and waffles. He has wild strawberries growing in his front yard. Only downside is no private bath, but it worked out fine. Great Value!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Touristnotatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This cosy guesthouse is the best stop for those travelling from Reijkiavik along the south coast, since you can tour the Golden Circle and reach at in the evening. The rooms were sparkling clean, and so were the bathrooms, always furnished with fresh towels. Breakfast was excellent indeed with home baked bread and home made jams! Moreover, the owner let us use the kitchen in the evening so we could have dinner at home and save quite a lot of money. The owner's daughter, Sigrun, is extremely kind and helpful: she does really want you to enjoy your stay and does everything she can to help you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Galia2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hella hotels
0.2 mi away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
42.0 mi away
The Highland Center Hrauneyjar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#3 of 5 in Hella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kanslarinn
Hotel Kanslarinn
#5 of 9 in Hella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel Selid
Hotel Selid
#2 of 9 in Hella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Nonni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Nonni

Property: Guesthouse Nonni
Address: Arnarsandur 3 | Guesthouse Nonni, Hella 850, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Hella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Guesthouse Nonni 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guesthouse is in the centrum of the village Hella, South Iceland. 1 Hour drive from Reykjavik. Home made bread and pastry every morning for breakfast. Hella has almost everything you need: Shops, restaurants, excellent swimming pool and bus stop. All around the corner! Guesthouse Nonni is a good place for the Northern lights. Only five minutes drive to be outside of Hella. And best of all, my garden is an excellent place to watch the Northern lights. Situated in the centrum of South Iceland the guesthouse is a good base for visiting all the wonders of nature you can imagine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Guesthouse Nonni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Nonni Iceland/Hella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing