We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay in Iceland”
Review of Guesthouse Nonni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Guesthouse Nonni
Ranked #3 of 9 Hella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dendermonde, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay in Iceland”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

What a great Guesthouse Nonni runs! He's a welcoming and funny host. We were able to use his kitchen, he even put some candles on the table, so we could enjoy a romantic candlelight dinner :) The rooms are clean and spacious enough, the bathroom was also very clean and a great shower. Everything felt so homely, especially in the morning when we gathered around the breakfast table with the other guests. The breakfast was simply delicious: there was home-baked bread and Belgian waffles!
Definitely the best place we stayed during our trip to Iceland. And we slept at 8 different places in total, so this means something!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LienBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    30
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
131
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Enjoyed staying with Nonni in his very lovely home. Comfortable room, greeted us at the door and made us feel welcome instantly. He also provided great ideas for sites to visit and taught us a few words in Icelandic language. Next time we visit Southern Iceland, we will make this our home base. Oh yeah... Yummy breakfast too!

Room Tip: Guest houses seem to be a great alternative to impersonal hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinetop-Lakeside, Arizona
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Very nice stay. The house is centrally located in the cute town of Hella a couple hours from the Golden Circle and less than one hour to the ferry for the Westmann islands. Local thermal pools are a few blocks away with hot tubs and waterslides. The owner is a very nice and helpful. He directed us to the path along the river, that ends in a beautiful waterfall approximately 2.5 miles from his house. Well worth the trip. Breakfast was excellent with warm homemade bread, smoked trout, and waffles. He has wild strawberries growing in his front yard. Only downside is no private bath, but it worked out fine. Great Value!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Touristnotatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This cosy guesthouse is the best stop for those travelling from Reijkiavik along the south coast, since you can tour the Golden Circle and reach at in the evening. The rooms were sparkling clean, and so were the bathrooms, always furnished with fresh towels. Breakfast was excellent indeed with home baked bread and home made jams! Moreover, the owner let us use the kitchen in the evening so we could have dinner at home and save quite a lot of money. The owner's daughter, Sigrun, is extremely kind and helpful: she does really want you to enjoy your stay and does everything she can to help you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Galia2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this guest house. The owner, Nonni s a lovely chap and we really enjoyed his company. He was very welcoming and explained lots about the local area and glaciers and volcanos.

Hella itself is quite small and non-eventful but it was a convenient stop off for our trip. We had dinner at Aarhus which was very pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Truiden, Belgium
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

It's a while I wanted to write this review... I was at the Nonni guesthouse last August, and I loved it. The owner is one of the kindest person in the world, and an amazing cook. The breakfast is delicious.
The rooms are cozy and extremely clean. Really really good

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LunaRussa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
160 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed for two nights and loved every minute of it. Nonni is a wonderful host and makes every guest feel like family. He was very helpful before we arrived with email - helping us to plan our activities for this area in Iceland. The house is on a very quiet street in the small town of Hella - but there are two good sit-down restarants within walking distance, plus a full service grocery and liquor store. All in all a great stop if you're doing the Ring Road.
Breakfasts are a wonderful and generous treat (we got waffles!!)- and a fun way to meet other guests and compare travel plans.
We can't say enough nice things about Nonni - I wish every B&B was run so well and so warmly!

Room Tip: Our room was a quiet triple upstairs with a view of the islands in the distance! The top three room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoiledSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hella hotels
0.2 mi away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
42.0 mi away
The Highland Center Hrauneyjar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#3 of 5 in Hella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kanslarinn
Hotel Kanslarinn
#5 of 9 in Hella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel Selid
Hotel Selid
#2 of 9 in Hella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Nonni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Nonni

Property: Guesthouse Nonni
Address: Arnarsandur 3 | Guesthouse Nonni, Hella 850, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Hella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Guesthouse Nonni 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guesthouse is in the centrum of the village Hella, South Iceland. 1 Hour drive from Reykjavik. Home made bread and pastry every morning for breakfast. Hella has almost everything you need: Shops, restaurants, excellent swimming pool and bus stop. All around the corner! Guesthouse Nonni is a good place for the Northern lights. Only five minutes drive to be outside of Hella. And best of all, my garden is an excellent place to watch the Northern lights. Situated in the centrum of South Iceland the guesthouse is a good base for visiting all the wonders of nature you can imagine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Guesthouse Nonni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Nonni Iceland/Hella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing