We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top quality in a top place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silica Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grindavik
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silica Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Grindavik
Certificate of Excellence
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Top quality in a top place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2007

Fab hotel.
We hired a car and drove there after a terrible night at the Hotel Keflavik at the aiport. It is a 45 min drive and well worth renting your car a day early to get there.
Very stylish and modern, well stocked fridge, good shower, reasonable breakfast and internet computer in lounge. Staff all look very smart in their spa/clinic uniforms.
Have a nice swim in the hot pools before breakfast, then go up to the Blue Lagoon for no extra charge and lounge around there - good day out.
Those expecting a cheap Hotel 101 should be aware that it is actually a clinic and if you look closely you might feel slight;y like you were in a very smart private hospital!
The restuarant at the Lagoon is very good and well worth splashing out on Icelandic lobsters and lamb. The walk back to the clinic in the dark is awesome - please note that it is not lit and if you are there in winter, then take a torch (or eat lots of carrots).

  • Liked — Stylishness
  • Disliked — No eggs benedict at breakfast
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TheYoungLaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    200
    50
    21
    10
See reviews for
112
441
48
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2007

Just incredible spa hotel. Very good value - 200m walk to the blue lagoon (with entry included in price of the hotel - two people's entry is already about 20% of the price of the stay at the hotel!). However, the highlight is the pool here - used during the day for clinical soriasis treatment (no need to have treatments to stay at the hotel), but in the morning and evening the pool is opened to all guests. It is much quieter and better quality that the main lagoon.

The restaurant at the lagoon is perfect for dinner, and the hotel does a great breakfast (even at 5 am; we had an early flight). Free expresso all day - great shower in the rooms, private veranda overlooking the lava field, the list goes on.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jhorsfieldbradbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2007

I have just returned from a week at the Blue Lagoon clinic. I won't go on about the details about the clinic itself, the previous writers describe it perfectly. It is fabulous! The staff were lovely. Hello to the other people staying there at the same time. We didn't really get time to talk properly because most people seemed to only stay one or two nights, but I met some nice people.
The Blue Lagoon itself was a bit disappointing. Firstly, it was green, not blue. This is a seasonal thing. The algae is apparently growing at present, which makes the water appear green. Fair enough, not a lot we could do about that. However, the changing rooms are a different story. They look very nice, but they are not very functional. Renovation work was going on and the upstairs was closed. There's no point in me droning on about the layout but basically if there is more than three people in each section at the same time, there is absolute chaos. There were often queues outside the showers, people getting in each others way all over the place and just general anarchy which is completely at odds with the serene environment that you would expect. I'm sure it will be lovely in 2010, though, when the changes are complete.
I suspect, sadly, that the problem is due to the Blue Lagoon's success. I went there six years ago and it was very different. It was fairly busy but relaxing: laid back and typically Scandanavian. Now, it seems to have allowed its sucess to go to its head. There are so many buses arriving every hour. The products in the shop are, in my opinion, outrageously overpriced. In fact, they seem to have more than doubled since my last visit.
I know I sound like I am totally knocking the place and I really don't want to do that because I love Iceland and the Blue Lagoon has a special place in my heart but I can't help feeling that it has been invaded by the superpowers, ie. Big Business Brains.
Make your own mind up, chaps.
By the way, that Arctic char a previous writer mentioned was yummy, but avoid the monkfish with barley risotto & Bourginonne sauce. Very nice separately, I'm sure, but a very odd combo on one plate.
If you visit the rest of Southern Iceland, I would heartily recommend Halldorskaffi in Vik. Very cute town, lovely pizza and puffins to watch. What more does a girl need?

  • Stayed June 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MaurK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2007

Dont think about booking elsewhere, mega clean, free entry to main lagoon, healthy brekkie, remote location, great view of the northern lights, friendly staff, afterhouse mini lagoon all to yourself and wait for it I was sat on the bed watching London Tonight and Corrie. How they pipe TV in like its british god only know. we didnt come for the tv but seriously this is a secret place and i hope it remains so. cant wait to get back...............better than Reykjavik

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank TBeckett100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2007

Before you read further, this is a breathless report in high praise of The Clinic, but please be assured I don't normally do this, and in fact it takes a lot to impress me.

Oh my, this place is a hidden gem. It's not advertised, never mentioned, and despite being visible from Icelands most visited tourist attraction, has zero profile. This is strange - are they trying to discourage tourists? the all-round fabulousness of the place suggests not.

We stayed for a single night, but wished for more. The night we were there there was only one other room occupied, making it feel like we owned the place. Staff are warm, the rooms are modern, and offer surreal views of the lava landscape (think of the surface of the moon), and unique in Iceland, it's relatively cheap.

The private hot spring is perfect - incredibly romantic. We heard that the place has no bar, so we brought some wine to toast the evening, but when we got there, the place has such a healthy, serene feel that we couldnt bear to break the spell - The wine stayed in our bag.

I can't recommend this place highly enough - If you''re reading this, you've already discovered it, so go. Just make sure you keep the secret.

  • Liked — Beatiful
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank leylandrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2007

We really enjoyed our stay at the Blue Lagoon. This is a clinic for patients with Psorasis and is also a hotel. It is a relaxing and serene place with scandia designed rooms with comfortable beds and great spa robes. The hotel had a wonderful healthy breakfast. I loved the icelandic Skyr. The room rate ($180 USD)included admission the the Blue Lagoon for both of us for both days. The Blue Lagoon is a short walk from the clinic on a lava rock pathway with amazing views. We found the iceland and the blue lagoon to be so peaceful and picturesque. The Blue Lagoon is so much fun, we floated around for hours and put the silica mud masks on our faces. It is very relaxing and therapeutic. We also ate dinner at the Blue Lagoon restaurant and found the seafood fresh and some of the best we have had. Try the Artic Char. We will definately return to the Blue Lagoon and stay at the clinic.

  • Stayed March 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 2141Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2007

We stayed at the Blue Lagoon Clinic. Yes. It is a clinic, but it is also a hotel, although they do not really advertise it as a hotel. You have to look under clinic on the website - and it does rival a five star hotel. The rooms are excellent!

We read the one and only other review and we echo EVERYTHING that was said.

The clinic and the Blue Lagoon are two separate locations. You can easily walk between the two places, but at night it can be a little awkward as there are no lights and it was pitch black - but fun!

There was an issue when we arrived at the Blue Lagoon over our booking, but the staff were excellent and sorted it out without any fuss. Well done!

The lagoon itself is great and the restaurant is much better than we expected and well worth a visit.

In the evenings between 8-10pm at the clinic you are allowed to go for a late night dip in the dark - very cool, very romantic and great fun.

The entire Blue Lagoon experience is a MUST.

Earlier in our trip we stayed at Room With A View (read the review) and we wanted to recommend the cheaper of the Golden Circle tours. Much better than the more expensives one. We are just sorry that we cannot remember the name of the tour provider...

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Malachi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grindavik
Northern Light Inn
#2 of 3 in Grindavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Geo Hotel Grindavik
#3 of 3 in Grindavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Hotel Keflavik
#2 of 9 in Keflavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Miõborg
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silica Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silica Hotel

Property: Silica Hotel
Address: Grindavik 240, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Reykjanes Peninsula > Grindavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Grindavik
Hotel Class:4 star — Silica Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of a stunning lava landscape, Silica Hotel is just ten minutes' walk from the Blue Lagoon. The hotel offers its own private bathing lagoon, available for hotel guests every day from 09:00 to 22:00. The Hotel has won several design awards. Built in harmony with the surrounding landscape, it offers an oasis of calm, relaxation, and healing. The hotel has 35 bright and spacious double/twin rooms. All rooms offer private facilities and a veranda, with breathtaking views of the surrounding lava fields. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Lagoon Clinic Grindavik
Blue Lagoon Clinic Hotel Grindavik
Silica Hotel Iceland/Grindavik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing