We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Forget the Pyramids !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Silica Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grindavik
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silica Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Grindavik
Certificate of Excellence
Epsom Surrey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Forget the Pyramids !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2010

Just back from a short 2 day visit to the Blue Lagoon Clinic which we stayed at based on other Trip Advisor reports.
If you are looking for a quiet stay with no night life this is the place for you.
Opened by the Heath Minster in 2005 it is a clinic for those with psoriasis and other ailments that benefit from the water and associated treatments.
Booking with the Clinic is really easy and the staff are as good as any 5 star hotel I have come across in my global travels.
Only 18 kilometres away from Iceland’s main airport @ Keflavik and 20 minutes in a pre booked taxi (via the Clinic) which cost us Euro 30.
Great continental style breakfast served from 07:30 – 10:00 which sets you up for the day. The Clinic pool can be used for those not attending for treatments between 08:00 – 10:00 and from 20:00 – 22:00. This night swim has some intimate dark areas for those adventurous types!
The Main Lagoon is approx 600 meters away on a path through the Lava and Moss covered fields which dominate the landscape. (Strong boots and a warm coat are needed during the winter)
Facilities at the main Lagoon include large shallow and deeper pools with rest up areas, Sauna and Steam rooms. (We ended up with sun tans) various café outlets serving snacks etc with a full a la carte restaurant which takes orders until 20:00 each night (except Sunday when the main lagoon is closed)
Clinic rooms are of and dare I say it Scandinavian style with UK TV
In conclusion:
Missing out on the nightlife of Reykjavik you make up for with Lagoon activities on your doorstep and savings on taxis / buses and the entrance fee with a towel of Euro 27 per person.
Don’t bother going to the Pyramids go to the Blue lagoon. We are already planning our next escape!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alphaone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    203
    52
    20
    10
See reviews for
115
449
50
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2010

As we had always planned to visit the Blue Lagoon we jumped at the chance at staying at hotel nearby.

The clinic is less than 10 minutes walk from the Blue Lagoon via a path (remember you will need a torch when it is dark). You are given complementary entry into the Blue Lagoon as part of your stay. However the clinic also has a smaller pool which is open to people staying in the clinic at 8am-10am and 8pm-10pm.

The rooms are quite modern and have amazing views over the moss covered lava fields.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinoringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2010

This hotel was exactly what we were looking for. It was very clean and modern. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast (included) was nice to start off each day. The location however is the main attraction, as you are right next to the Blue Lagoon. When you stay at the clinic, you get a free pass to use the Blue Lagoon, which is nice, because it's not super cheap. I think normally around $15-20/day.

We loved having the thermal pools at the clinic. You are able to use them before the clinic hours begin and after they close. I think it was before 10am and after 8pm. When we visited, it was not crowded at all and very relaxing to sit in the pools. It is interesting to have it be so cold outside and warm water to relax in.

We found the bus from the airport to be quite convenient to get us to the hotel. You can also take the bus from the hotel to the town of Reykjavik. We found the city to be quite nice for a day visit. We ended up renting a car and traveling around a large part of the country one day and that was a nice drive. Nobody was driving, so nice and easy.

Visiting Iceland is very unique. There is not a whole lot to do, so we were there 3 nights and that seemed just right. It allowed us to visit the main city, spend time in the Blue Lagoon, and drive around a bit. During October, it seemed to be the low travel season, so even the Blue Lagoon wasn't all that crowded. When I looked at the pictures online, I was a bit worried, but there was no where near that amount of people when we visited.

Overall, we were very happy with the hotel and the area. It is a nice multi-night trip if you want a relaxing get away, that is really far away. The landscape is very unique with all the lava rock, no trees, and water. Plus, you can't miss the smell of sulfur wherever you go. We would recommend this to everyone for a nice escape.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BrandonT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2010

The hotel or "clinic" at the blue lagoon was a great way to end our trip. We took a bus to lagoon the night before we were meant to leave iceland. The hotel has it's own smaller (though still quite large) lagoon that is open later than the main lagoon. It's much more private and you can take a dip right before you go to bed.

As for the actual accommodations they were very modern, clean and a bit plain, which made for a very relaxing environment. The only negative thing I would say is that the double rooms are two twin beds, which I thing me and my partner just pushed together. Already planning on returning this August for the first night of a euro trip in order to nurse some jetlag.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nycgal6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2009

We only stayed 1 night at the clinic an we loved it!
It is well worth it considering that you can enter the blue lagoon as often as you want.
The private logoon in the clinic is actually sufficient enough and much more quiet. The rooms are really good and have everything you need, we also found the typical Iceland breakfast offering a big choice.
The big blue lagoon is a max 10 min walk through the lava landscape - take your torch from the reception it is really dark!
Will surely try to stay there again when we go back to Iceland and it is also a much better option to stay for a nightover for your return flight than any other hotel in Reykyavik, since the lagoon is also closer to the airport. The blue lagoon bus drops you at the clinic without any problems on the way to the lagoon. Just don't forget this is not a normal hotel, it is a clinic so do not expect any food like lunch or dinner!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2009

This sure is a clinic, and it does what it says on the tin, gives you a restful space to wallow in the mud and eat nice food and relax, and you can walk along to the Blue Lagoon complex just a few minutes walk away. It is great. I have put three for the value for money because nice though it is, it is very expensive. I know Iceland is supposed to be expensive, but it is still a shock to get the bill. Some warnings. We drove there late at night, actually pickin up the hire car at the airport after midnight, and we drove to the Blue Lagoon, and round and round for hours, really til 3.30 in the morning until finally just by chance on the main road we saw a tiny little sign on a wooden board that said 'clinic' and we were so exhausted - me and my partner and her mother on an eightyith birthday trip to Iceland - that we nearly didn't turn down that road, but luckily we eventually found the place. And ... the receptionist was there waiting for us. That indicates the service level. They were very friendly - given that Icelanders like to encourage you to get on with things yourself rather than be cossetted - and it was a great stay. Make use of the bathing!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelzlattern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2009

I stayed here for a night in October. We got a hire car from the airport and drove here, it was only a 15 min drive. The clinic is 600m walk from the main Blue Lagoon. There are I believe about 15 rooms here for hotel guests.

There is a private lagoon in the back which provides the most sensational experience. Although you get free passes to the main lagoon which are worth 30 euro a piece, the private area here is far better.

During the day from about 10am to 6 the private lagoon is used for treatments, before and after this it is for hotel guests only. In the night there might only be a few other people there giving you almost exclusive access to the waters. There is silica on the sides and the private area stretches out, the further you go the less man-made it becomes. The water is about 40 degrees celcius.

Breakfast here is the standard buffet, very clean and very fresh.

We ventured over to the main lagoon using our free passes the next day early in the morning. By 11am the tour buses had come and kids were playing around. All the tourists do ruin the peace of the place. My advice is to stay here and just pop in to see the main lagoon, spend your time in the early morning 8-10 and in the evening 8-10 over here in the private lagoon.

The rooms themselves are of the IKEA style, very simple and functional. The only drawback was the lack of amenities, the shower get was from a dispenser and there was no conditioner which is essential with such salty water. Conditioner is a very serious point here, your hair will be sticking up for 4 or 5 days if you don't take precautions with the abrasive salty water.

I thought this place was a gem, it was well worth staying here and I will not forget the time I spent here with the moonlight bouncing off the pool floating along on a tire....

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avelautham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grindavik
0.4 mi away
Northern Light Inn
Northern Light Inn
#3 of 3 in Grindavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
2.6 mi away
Geo Hotel Grindavik
Geo Hotel Grindavik
#2 of 3 in Grindavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
24.1 mi away
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,478 reviews
7.6 mi away
Base Hotel
Base Hotel
#6 of 9 in Keflavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel Keflavik
Hotel Keflavik
#2 of 9 in Keflavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silica Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silica Hotel

Property: Silica Hotel
Address: Grindavik 240, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Reykjanes Peninsula > Grindavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Grindavik
Hotel Class:4 star — Silica Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of a stunning lava landscape, Silica Hotel is just ten minutes' walk from the Blue Lagoon. The hotel offers its own private bathing lagoon, available for hotel guests every day from 09:00 to 22:00. The Hotel has won several design awards. Built in harmony with the surrounding landscape, it offers an oasis of calm, relaxation, and healing. The hotel has 35 bright and spacious double/twin rooms. All rooms offer private facilities and a veranda, with breathtaking views of the surrounding lava fields. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Lagoon Clinic Grindavik
Blue Lagoon Clinic Hotel Grindavik
Silica Hotel Iceland/Grindavik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing