We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,199)
Filter reviews
1,199 results
Traveler rating
805
267
74
30
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
805
267
74
30
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private lagoon main lagoon lava restaurant lava fields silica mud free entry blue lagoon hotel guests minute walk northern lights premium pass hotel pool much quieter last night locker room relaxing experience geothermal pool
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
317 - 322 of 1,199 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2017

Not sure whether or not to visit the Blue Lagoon, we chose to spend our last night at Silica and did not regret it: luxury stay, beautiful private lagoon, & complimentary access to the main lagoon. Staff were wonderful and our entire stay felt luxurious and relaxing!

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loveandlayovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueLagoonIceland, Manager at Silica Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2017

Dear Loveandlayovers,

You are too kind!
Thank you for a lovely visit. Words like yours remind us that we are on the right track in our efforts to create unforgettable experiences.

We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind regards,

The Blue Lagoon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2017

The USD-to-ISK exchange rate is pretty terrible right now, so there is some sticker shock when you get your bill at Silica. That is the one and only "issue" I had with Silica. Otherwise, it was amazing, comfortable, and a worthwhile indulgence.

For starters, the staff were very friendly and helpful from checkin to checkout. The included breakfast was an incredible buffet of everything: eggs, a waffle station, various pastries, pickled fish, etc. etc. The private lagoon is also a great benefit. It's just as warm as the waters at Blue Lagoon, but with a bit more silica lining the bed...and a lot more privacy. Plus it remains open until midnight.

Silica is a beautiful property and a relaxing place to visit, meditate, or just absorb all of the natural scenery, which is like nowhere else on earth. Even the aforementioned sticker shock is not so bad when you figure that it includes a top-notch breakfast, a private lagoon, and premium tickets to Blue Lagoon, which includes a complimentary drink. All in all it is a worthwhile indulgence.

Room tip: Don't worry about which room you get. They're all on the same floor, and are all good.
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sabotage12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueLagoonIceland, Manager at Silica Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2017

Dear Sabotage12,

Thank you so much for your kind and encouraging review.
Your praise means a lot and we will continue to do our best!

Kind regards,

The Blue Lagoon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2017 via mobile

The Hotel is fabulous ... well worth the cost. The hotel pool is massive and really just an extension of the Blue Lagoon. Spent hours in the very quiet pool with Silica mud facepacks on. Worth every penny

Date of stay: April 2017
Thank SOS57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueLagoonIceland, Manager at Silica Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2017

Dear SOS57,

You are too kind!
Thanks so much for a lovely visit, we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

The Blue Lagoon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2017

We splurged by spending one night here in March, and it was the highlight of our vacation. We heard that the main Blue Lagoon sees ~30,000 visitors per day, so in comparison the Silica's private version of Blue Lagoon feels like your own personal 8th wonder of the world. There can't be more than 15-20 rooms in this hotel, so you almost never see other guests except during the *excellent* breakfast buffet (included).

Walking through the hotel feels like you're in a day spa, or exclusive resort, and the attention to detail and design are extraordinary. We loved how easy it was to walk from our room to the changing rooms, then a completely enclosed indoor hot spring that leads outdoors to an enormous, yet private, version of the nearby public Blue Lagoon. It was a magical feeling floating in the warm water late at night waiting for the snow clouds to part, showing a pitch-black star-filled sky. The hotel will call you when northern lights are showing, and when they called, everyone in the hotel ran outside to see the spectacle.

This is like no other hotel in the world, and worth the splurge!

Room tip: Pick a room on the north side, so you an see northern lights from your balcony
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grant H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueLagoonIceland, Manager at Silica Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2017

Dear Grant H,

How wonderful!
Thank you so much for spending time with us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. Hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

The Blue Lagoon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2017 via mobile

I traveled around Iceland with my son for 8 days and decided to spend our last day at this hotel and enjoy Blue Lagoon. I wanted to relax after long driving days and make our trip memorable. The night is expensive but worth every penny! The staff were very welcoming and skilled. They already assisted us with our premium voucher to the Blue Lagoon. We dropped our luggage in the room and went there through the nice path (about 800m) in the middle of the lava fields and lagoon, so beautiful. It is a nice walk. The hotel is quiet and impeccable from decor to cleanness. The private lagoon is beautiful and sometimes you will find nobody there. Amazing and peaceful! The hotel offers flip flops which can be taken as souvenir<3)

Ok, let´s talk about the bed. It was the most comfortable bed I´ve ever slept in. OMG it is incredible. All the fluffy pillows!!! The room has a nice deck with view to the lava fields and at night we were able to see the northern lights from there. My son was impressed by the tablet in the room, to order complimentary tea and coffee, check the northern lights forecast etc. Breakfast was included but since our flight would leave very early in the morning they helped us with a breakfast bag to go. A kind touch no hotel ever thought about it.
If I could afford it I would definitely spend more time here. It´s a great experience everyone should have.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank SunaraK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueLagoonIceland, Manager at Silica Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2017

Dear Sunara K,

You are too kind!
Thank you so much for spending your time with us.
We are grateful for your kind words and encouragement!
Wish you all the best.

Kind regards,

The Blue Lagoon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews