We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay, great food, wonderful staff”
Review of Northern Light Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Northern Light Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Grindavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2010

There are some hotels that stay with you.

We stayed here May of 2009 (I know, I did not have a TripAdvisor account before 2009) for my husbands 50th birthday. The staff was very sweet and warm. They even had a basket of fruit and wine waiting for us. The hotel was undergoing some upgrades (hot tubs and such) but we didn't notice

The rooms were rustic. But oh my goodness how wonderful. The food was amazing! Probably the best food we had in Iceland. Breakfast was hearty too. This hotel while in the middle of nowhere was also apparently within view of the volcanic eruption that occurred in 2010.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aswessen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,015)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

781 - 787 of 1,016 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2010

We spent one night at the Northern Light Inn during our visit to Iceland. The hotel provided a free shuttle service to and from the Blue Lagoon (which is just down the street) and also a free shuttle service to the airport, which was about 20 minutes away and closer than from Reykjavik. The hotel staff was incredibly friendly and helpful in setting everything up and giving us plenty of information. The hotel itself was really cute – they have a lovely room set up with a fireplace, couches, and tea/coffee/hot chocolate for guests to relax and enjoy themselves. And the room was spacious and in really nice condition. So those are all of the positives. The negatives - The location, while convenient to the Blue Lagoon and airport, wasn’t in the most beautiful setting – it’s right next to a geothermal plant so the view is mainly of the plant and the white clouds being released from the plant, which are lit up by colored lights and a bit distracting. Also, we had dinner at the Northern Light Inn restaurant and I didn’t think that it was that great – the baked goods (bread, dessert) were really good but all of the cooked items (meat, salad, soup) were nothing spectacular – and the waitress was not incredibly helpful or attentive. But overall we did enjoy our stay there and I would recommend it if you are looking for a nice, relaxing, convenient stop-over near the Blue Lagoon (they advertise themselves as the only hotel near the Blue Lagoon) and the airport.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurenjamie816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2010

Even though we had seen pictures of the Hotel, I felt slightly apprehensive as we approached. We had turned down an unmade road and seemed to be heading towards a power station - however, even though it was very late at night, we were warmly greeted and shown to our very comfortable and warm spacious room. The bed and bedding were all to a high standard and in the morning, we found the shower to be very efficient. Eating our delicious breakfast next morning we both agreed that although the geothermal power station (simply harnessing free heat!) didn't offend. And it was lit with Christmas colours so thoughtfully dealt with. We had such a great long weekend discovering Iceland, enhanced by the quality of our accommodation, the most delicious food (try the seafood pasta - sublime) and all the delightful staff. And on the last night of our three night stay, the Northern Lights put in an appearance. Not your typical weekend destination but we loved it.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jedward05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2010

If you're looking for a place to stay on the last couple of nights of a tour of Iceland, this is ideal. It's close to the excellent Blue Lagoon but not a close as they would have you believe and for most people still a short drive away. The views from the hotel are of the geothermal power station (which was great for us but not everyone's idea of a nice view) and the lights from the power station pollute the sky, making the hotel's sky-room a bit redundant for the northern lights. In general, the hotel is very clean and modern (although it does feel somewhat unfinished) and the food and sercvice was also good.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha12381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

A very special property...... and I'm a repeat guest. Stunning location and even better staff!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kef101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

We stayed here for one night before a mega early flight back, so our visit was only fleeting. When checking in, the staff asked what time our flight was and what time we were planning to leave - then said they would make sure breakfast is ready for us 30 mins before we were leaving - what a great start!
I still can't believe how close this hotel is to the blue lagoon - you could literally walk it in 20 mins!
Everything was good; from the cosy lounge to the fab bathroom (with complimentary towels for the blue lagoon) and breakfast. Definitely the place to stay if you need to be near the airport or just want to be close to the blue lagoon!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

this hotel is in the middle of no where. excellent restaurant and facilities, free internet. huge rooms and interesting views of lava fields and the nearby geothermal power plant, the staff will drive you to the blue lagoon for free and pick you up from there and bring you back also for free.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitcellsous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grindavik
Geo Hotel Grindavik
#3 of 3 in Grindavik
291 reviews
Hotel Berg
#1 of 9 in Keflavik
807 reviews
Hotel Keflavik
#3 of 9 in Keflavik
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,836 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Light Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Light Inn

Address: Northern Lights Road 1, Grindavik 240, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Reykjanes Peninsula > Grindavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Grindavik
Price Range: $292 - $476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Northern Light Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northern Light Inn & Max’s Restaurant – 1 minute before the Blue Lagoon – is a unique place to stay and discover Iceland. The hotel is 20 minutes from Keflavik International Airport-KEF, 45 from Reykjavik, 3 hours from London, and about 6 from New York. We offer an exclusive Airport Taxi service with the lowest prices, and free scheduled shuttles to the Blue Lagoon. The Northern Light Inn Wellness Spa with Aurora Float & Fitness Center is open from 9 to 9. The Fitness Center is free for all guests while the Spa is complimentary with Deluxe Rooms and a modest fee for others. 24/7 complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and you can make-your-own Icelandic waffles every day in the living room. Max's restaurant serves ocean fresh fish, free range lamb, geo-thermal vegetables, home baked breads and cakes. Vegetarian options are always available. 42 geo-thermally heated rooms, free wifi, 24/7 honesty bar, a grand cozy fireplace, and family hospitality await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Northern Light Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Light Hotel Grindavik
Northern Light Grindavik
Northern Light Inn Iceland/Grindavik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing