We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, absolutely perfectly located for the blue lagoon!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Northern Light Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Northern Light Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Grindavik
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good hotel, absolutely perfectly located for the blue lagoon!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

We stayed here for one night before a mega early flight back, so our visit was only fleeting. When checking in, the staff asked what time our flight was and what time we were planning to leave - then said they would make sure breakfast is ready for us 30 mins before we were leaving - what a great start!
I still can't believe how close this hotel is to the blue lagoon - you could literally walk it in 20 mins!
Everything was good; from the cosy lounge to the fab bathroom (with complimentary towels for the blue lagoon) and breakfast. Definitely the place to stay if you need to be near the airport or just want to be close to the blue lagoon!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank willeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    311
    78
    16
    4
See reviews for
170
491
52
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2010

this hotel is in the middle of no where. excellent restaurant and facilities, free internet. huge rooms and interesting views of lava fields and the nearby geothermal power plant, the staff will drive you to the blue lagoon for free and pick you up from there and bring you back also for free.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mitcellsous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds, uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2010

The Northern light did seem out of the way at first but i have to admit i quite enjoyed this fact. We got picked up at hte airport and taken straight to the hotel, our room was bright and clean with tv and king size bed (which was extremely comfortable). The hotel arranged transfers to the blue lagoon when needed and also arranged for the transport to get us to reykjavik when we needed. The food in the restaurant was expensive but was worth every penny (or ikr) we ate there twice and found both times it was exceptional, also the buffet breakfast was fantastic. On our departure we were greeted with fresh coffee and a full buffet even though it was 4.30am and then taken to the airport by 6.00 am. The staff and management were extremely helpful throughout our stay, admittedly if i was to go back to Iceland i may stay in reykjavik for some of it but would make sure i would stay here to go to the lagoon or back to the airport.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oatcake_mb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2010

This is one of two hotels located in the middle of moon-like lava field where the world famous Blue Lagoon is located. The Blue Lagoon Clinic is the other hotel. Booked two nights here the day of our arrival after looking at both websites and feeling better about this one. It is a very new hotel and was very well appointed. The rooms all overlooked the lava field which made for a very cool setting (see the picture we took of the room). They provide you with yellow towels for the Blue Lagoon (in addition to your bath towels and white robes) which saves you about $15 at the Blue Lagoon.
The living areas of the hotel were actually incredibly warm and comforting (see pictures of large fireplace, etc.) and they had a free coffee and tea spread at all times. We actually made the breakfast on our last day and were quite impressed with the spread (everything from cereals to salmon).
The hotel promises free transport to the Blue Lagoon (you can actually walk it is so close) and free transport to the international airport and they meant it. They were right on time for our airport trip and when the Blue Lagoon bus had already left when we needed a ride, a staff member took us in her car rather than have us wait.
The only complaint is that the very long hallways make for one heck of an echo when guests were loud and let doors slam, but it wasn't that bad. Good free WiFi...reception gives you a password.
It was a perfect end to the trip and we actually plan on going back some time in the winter so we can see these namesake Northern Lights.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cdrozp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

Reviews I read of this hotel prior to our trip did not do it justice. Although they generally praised the rooms as large and clean, both of which are true, there's quite a bit more to this place that recommends it very highly.
The main draw is that it is a 5 minute drive to the Blue Lagoon. After spending one night in Reykjavik, we got a bus to the Blue Lagoon and the driver dropped us off at the Inn, which was handy. The hotel is in the middle of a remarkable lunar landscape featuring old lava fields and the thermal heat plant that serves the local area. Despite the occasional smoke coming up from the rocks and power plant pipes, the hotel itself is completely non-smoking, which we liked. It is abosolutely immaculate. The staff was incredibly friendly. Our dinner at the hotel restaurant was terrific (despite the fact that there were only a few other guests due to the volcanic eruptions that sidetracked flights), and the view out the restaurant window was right out of Jules Verne. We had to be at the airport by 6 am for our flight to Copenhagen, and staff got up to serve us breakfast at 5:30 am (included) and drive us to Keflavik airport (about 15 minutes away, no charge). While we found the Blue Lagoon itself a little less than expected (not that hot, not that blue), we were glad we stayed at this hotel and experienced the Blue Lagoon. I'd definitely recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a relaxing visit to the Blue Lagoon or wanting to spend the night close to the airport but away from it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GINGOLDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2010

It’s been more than a year since we stayed at the Northern Light Inn, and I can’t say enough good things about this place. This place truly is a hidden gem nestled in the lava rocks that Iceland is so well-known for. The food was excellent (Kristjana’s catfish is the best!), the daily breakfast buffet was delicious, and the inn was warm and charming. Best of all, the staff was extremely friendly and did everything to accommodate our needs (driving us to the Blue Lagoon, assisting us with our rental car, helping us plan our activities). The inn really felt like a "home away from home," providing both a cozy and spectacular backdrop for a romantic Icelandic holiday. Far away from the noise, lights and hustle and bustle of the city, NLI is perfect if you want a more private, secluded and down-to-earth experience. Don't be mistaken though - this place also offers gorgeous views of the Icelandic sky and convenient access to the popular Blue Lagoon resort. Though we only planned to stay here for half of our Iceland trip, we loved it so much that we extended our stay. In fact, my fiancé proposed to me here!

A big thank you to the warm and hospitable staff members of NLI (Raquel, Kristjana, Jenny), who made our experience here something we will remember for the rest of our lives. Though we didn’t get to see the Aurora Borealis this time around, it gives us a good excuse to visit again. We promise that we’ll be back, perhaps on one of our wedding anniversaries =)

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlaymnine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
153 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2010

It lived up to it's name - we saw the Northern lights on the night we stayed, though they were a dull green that night.

The hotel is quite ordinary, rooms simple but clean. Restaurant for dinner and breakfast being functional but little else.

But it's located fairly close to the airport and next to the wonderful Blue Lagoon spa. For that reason, this hotel is a must for perhaps just one night.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Empathology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grindavik
2.6 mi away
Geo Hotel Grindavik
Geo Hotel Grindavik
#3 of 3 in Grindavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel Keflavik
Hotel Keflavik
#2 of 9 in Keflavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
24.3 mi away
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hotel Berg
Hotel Berg
#1 of 9 in Keflavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
23.7 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Light Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Light Inn

Property: Northern Light Inn
Address: Northern Lights Road 1, Grindavik 240, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Reykjanes Peninsula > Grindavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Grindavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Northern Light Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northern Light Inn - just 1 minute before the Blue Lagoon - is a wonderful place to see the Aurora Borealis, discover Iceland, and enjoy your getaway vacation. 32 geo-thermally heated rooms, free wifi, Cognac Lounge with 24/7 honesty bar, a grand cozy fireplace, and family hospitality await you. Delicious foods from the fjords and fields of Iceland are served in Max's restaurant: ocean fresh fish, free range lamb, geo-thermal vegetables, home baked breads and cakes. 24/7 complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and home made cookies are always available in the lobby for guests, and make-your-own Icelandic waffles every day. We offer free scheduled International Airport transfers from 06:00 (05:00 from the hotel) until 21:00, and complimentary regular shuttles to the Blue Lagoon. The Northern Light inn and Max's Restaurant are 20 minutes from Keflavik International Airport KEF, 45 from Reykjavik, 3 hours from London, and less than 6 from New York. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Northern Light Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Light Hotel Grindavik
Northern Light Grindavik
Northern Light Inn Iceland/Grindavik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing