We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Northern Light Inn
Nearby Hotels
$142
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Vogar(Vogar)(Great Value!)
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
$145
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Base Hotel(Keflavik)
$72
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Keflavik(Keflavik)
$355
$300
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Diamond Suites(Keflavik)
$837
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$193
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Jazz(Keflavik)
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silica Hotel(Grindavik)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Airport Inn(Keflavik)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,058)
Filter reviews
1,058 results
Traveler rating
595
353
84
20
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
595
353
84
20
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barpower stationgeothermal plantlast nightblue lagoonlambhonor barmax's restaurantlava fieldswake up callviewing roomfree shuttlelovely hotelviewing towernorthern lights viewingsmoked salmonlog fire
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
875 - 880 of 1,058 reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2006

Booked this hotel over choices located in the city center as we knew we were going to hire a car. If you intend to see more than just the Blue Lagoon or prefer not to be stuck as part of a guided tour (of which there are plenty of options), hiring a car is a must if you stay at Northern Light Inn. That said, the staff was very helpful in booking us a car and giving us advice on places to see. The down side of staying here is that there is nothing to do other than to go to the Blue Lagoon which is a 5 minute drive. But if you are independent and have a car, it's a perfectly good place to stay especially if you need to be in close proximity to the airport.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Merkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2006

This is a pleasant little hotel, extremely clean and well decorated and the staff are very friendly and welcoming. Complimentary transfers to and from Keflavik airport are included in the price, and even though our flight in to Iceland was delayed by over four hours, we warned the hotel and they checked the expected arrival time on the web and were there to meet us.

We arrived too late for dinner on our first night because of the plane delay (they offered to see if they could keep the kitchen open a bit longer but we declined as we'd eaten on the plane), and on our second and last night dinner was a vegetarian buffet, which was OK. We did get a chance to sample their usual menu for lunch before departing and it was excellent. The hotel has a lovely sitting room with an open fire which was a nice place to sit and rest after dining.

A minor issue was no soap and a missing TV remote in our room on arrival but this was swiftly rectified once we notified the front desk.

The only major thing we didn't like was that the shower pressure was very poor, surprising when the hotel is right next door to the geothermal power station and the Blue Lagoon.

One tip: the hotel offers complimentary transfers to the Blue Lagoon - DO take them up on the offer: it might be only a 15 minute walk away but the lack of shelter on the road and the ever-present Icelandic wind wil make you regret walking!

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rpjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2006

The Northern Light Inn was the highlight of our stay in Iceland. It is situated in the Reykjanes lava field very near to the Keflavik airport. They offer complementary transport to the Blue Lagoon every day. The staff were very helpful and courteous. Kristjana, who owns the hotel, also cooks a spectacular dinner. The Icelandic Lamb is the best I ever tasted. Saw the Aurora Borealis twice from the hotel itself which was an awesome experience. The room itself is small and basic but very clean. You also have use of the den by the fireplace which is like one big living room.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank epb471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2006

My wife and I stayed at Northern Light at the end of August. We had previously stayed at one of the trendy hotels in Reykjavik and wanted to try something different. We are glad we did.

Rebecca, one of the staff at Northern Light met us at the airport at 6 am and quickly whisked us to reception where we were warmly greeted by Max the dog. The owner of Northern Light asked our name, handed us our key and told us to enjoy our stay. She had no problem with our checking in at 6:30 am. The room was spotless and the bed was perfect.

During our stay, we repeatedly asked for transportation to the Blue Lagoon to meet tour buses and to swim (soak really) and the staff always accommodated us immediately. We caught the bus to Reykjavik to shop but spent most of our time outside of town. There is a fire in the fireplace in the evening and a very relaxed feel to Northern Light Inn.

The restaurant is casual, breakfast very good and dinner absolutely fabulous. The owner of the hotel is also a wonderful chef and the catch of the day - wolf fish - was memorable.

We had an early morning flight and the staff gladly provided transportation to the airport at 5:30 am. There werer no problems with any aspect of our stay. We will definitely stay there again, hopefully in March.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Loons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2006

Northern LIght is an inn near the KEF airport and right next to The Blue Lagoon (which everyone should visit at least once on your way into/out of Iceland).

The rooms are nice and they are clean. The restaurant was excellent and not too pricey. The breakfast was very good. And the staff were very polite.

I'm not sure I would go here specifically for the location or property itself, but this place was a homerun for us, arriving from nearly 20 hours of traveling to get to Iceland. It makes for an excellent option as you arrive into or ready to depart Iceland. And, if you have the time, spend some time driving the road around the peninsula, there are some great sites and some neat thermal springs along the way.

  • Stayed: August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhillyBoyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews