We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,176)
Filter reviews
1,176 results
Traveler rating
661
386
99
24
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
661
386
99
24
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty bar power station geothermal plant last night waffles honor bar max's restaurant lamb blue lagoon lava fields viewing room wake up call viewing tower common areas lovely hotel board games free shuttle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,176 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2019 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed for two nights this week Monday & Tuesday it was our first visit to Iceland and we picked this hotel because we wanted to visit the blue lagoon. We booked direct with the hotel as this was the best deal also the hotel arranged taxis to and from the airport when we arrived the taxi was waiting for us and even though we arrived a lot earlier 11am, than the check in time the staff had a room ready. The room was very clean and lovely. The hotel felt so relaxed it had lovely lounge areas with jigsaw puzzles and games also they had an honesty bar 24/7 which was a lovely touch. In the afternoon they provided free delicious waffles and hot chocolate. Which again was a lovely touch. The rooms had plenty of tv channels included English ones. In another review I give Max’s restaurant the on site restaurant 5/5 very good food. We also did the spa which had 3 saunas it’s just missing a jacuzzi and it would be perfect. But overall the whole experience was amazing, staff so helpful and friendly make you feel so welcome. The only downside was we didn’t see the northern lights it was too cloudy typical my luck! So I’ll have to come back soon!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank rikkiandleah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern I, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2019

Hi rikkiandleah, many thanks for your kind words and rating. We are happy to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us. Not so happy that you did not get to enjoy the northern lights but hopefully you will be back and will have more luck then. Many thanks for recommending us. We do hope to see you again, one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2019 via mobile

The hotel is clean and comfortable. Staffs are nice and offer wake up call for northern lights. We were so lucky for our one night stay and saw the lights the whole night. The location away from city lights and it is good for picture taken. The free coffee, tea and waffle is the plus. Drive to blue Lagoon is only 5’ and close to airport as well.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank feil675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern I, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2019

Hi feil675, many thanks for your kind words and rating. We are happy that you did get to enjoy the northern lights during your stay and that you did enjoy our facilities. We do hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2019

Northern Light Inn is a wonderful place to stay, especially for families, but you need to have a car - otherwise you will have a big problem visiting anything else in Iceland. This hotel is definitely in the middle of nowhere and that is why it is so beautiful!

Room tip: Ask for a room with lava view!
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wiktoriamaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern I, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2019

Hi wiktoriamaria, many thanks for your kind words and rating. We do hope to see you again with us, some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2019 via mobile

We had a fab time here. The whole place has a lovely feeling about it. The staff are very friendly and the hotel its self is perfect. Rooms are big, clean and comfortable. The free tea, coffee and waffles in the afternoon is a massive perk in such an expensive place like Iceland. We loved everything about it... especially the blue lagoon being so close!
Just wish we'd seen the northern lights (we'll just have to go again!).

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank LJCad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern I, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2019

Hi LJCad, many thanks for your kind words and rating. We do hope that you will return and will be able to enjoy the northern lights here with us, next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2019 via mobile

If you like isolation, this is perfect! Sign to accept a call anytime the lights appear! 130 and 239am for us. Rooms include all you need, regular shuttle to the lagoon, big open fire, 24 hour hot drinks! Friendly team and very good food.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank d9454VN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern I, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2019

Hi d9454VN, many thanks for your review and rating. We are happy that you did enjoy your stay with us and we do hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews