We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”
Review of Northern Light Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Northern Light Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Grindavik
Certificate of Excellence
Crowborough
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Fabulous hotel. We couldn't fault it and felt emotional when the time came to leave! The place is very warm, the food is fantastic. Nothing is too much trouble. The hotel pick you up and take you back to the airport and to the blue lagoon for free. There is complimentary tea and coffee in reception. The rooms are great, very spacious and have everything you need. The lounge and bar areas are very atmospheric, with tea lights and candles everywhere. We were lucky enough to see the northern lights twice!! You can put your name down and they wake you up. The blue lagoon is a must. All in all I couldn't fault this place!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinyDancerEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    321
    78
    17
    4
See reviews for
175
505
53
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Wanted an opportunity to see the lights without the discomfort of a coach/minibus chase throughout the night. Took a chance on this aiming to see the lights and sample The Blue Lagoon. My group aged from early 20s to late 60s and we were unanimously wowed by this hotel, it's services, it's facilities and the restaurant. Rooms were spacious and extremely comfortable and the use of open lounges offered a relaxing experience for everyone. We booked through Discover the World who organised our day trips to collect and return us to this location without a problem. I would most definitely use this hotel again. Yes, we saw the lights on our last evening. The staff alerted us and took time to ensure all the guests understood what they were seeing as the lights developed and changed. A special mention that the food here was very well presented and deliciously tasty. We based our costs at around £25/head including wine and two courses.

Room Tip: All rooms are ground level and did not appear to suffer from public noise. Possible higher number ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bassett163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Clean,comfortable, efficient and friendly, which more than made up for the unconventional site next to a large geothermal energy plant! It wasn't noisy and was easy enough to ignore, but it is an off-putting sight as you arrive at the hotel. That said, the extras such as the free shuttles to and from the airport and the lagoon made our stay stress free. The food was excellent, which is a good thing as there isn't really anywhere nearby to eat. You can walk to the Blue lagoon through a lava field and the hotel offer a wake up service is the lights make an appearance after midnight.

All in all a great stay and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoBlackwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We Stayed on our last night of three with discover the world trip. Hotel was nice and modern inside rooms were very clean and comfy and lounge areas were lovely too, could do with some music on as very quiet ( which is nice) but not much to do in the evening especially when no northern lights appearing! We had a set menu which was good but you help yourself from the food set out but we found it wasn't very warm which was a bit disapointing.

Our group left early for the airport so we had breakfast at 5am, choice was ok but no hot food at that time so was bread selection, yoghurt etc.
The hotel is great for visiting the blue lagoon and for being near the airport but don't think would want to stay more than couple of nights

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lws83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We had an amazing time at the Northern Light Inn! Everything was stellar! They are so nice and so helpful. They picked us up from the airport...for free...took us to the Blue Lagoon...for free...picked us up from the Blue Lagoon...for free. Fed us a wonderful breakfast...again...for free. Then we paid for dinner and oh my goodness! It was soooo yummy! The room was super clean and the bed was the best sleep I've had in ages. There is a coffee/tea set up in the room...yummy chocolates. Also there are several places to lounge in the hotel...an honor bar and a coffee & tea station...again for free. I felt so at home there. Wonderful sweet people that just want to make you happy! I admit not charging us for all the extras that other hotels charge for made our stay less stressful and just did it for me! I loved it!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10...it had two twins and a double bed so it would be a family room but was just t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in an attempt to see the Northern Lights (no luck unfortunately). As others have said the inn is nothing to look at from the outside and sits next to the geothermal power plant. However, inside it is warm and welcoming and the staff so helpful. The rooms are clean and simply furnished but the beds were super comfortable and tea/coffee facilities available in the room. Whilst you relax in the common areas you can help yourself to complimentary tea/coffee/hot chocolate. As the inn is quite some distance from other places you will probably eat in the restaurant. Food was excellent, served promptly and was hot. The lamb was superb as was the fish. For dessert try the Skyr cake. For those wanting a drink there is an honesty bar which was reasonably well stocked.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lincolncarle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

My friend and I booked a 4 day break here hoping to see the Nothern Lights, but unfortunately too much cloud cover for the whole break! However, this hotel is a little gem. It's very close to a Geothermal power station (which has lights on at night in different colours which is quite fun) and within walking distance of the blue lagoon. It's of typical icelandic construction, the rooms are spacious and warm, with feather duvets and pillows, limitless hot water thanks to the Geothermals. There are 3 lounges, and the food in the restaurant is excellent. One or two reviews have said that it is expensive, but we found that the average is £5 for starter/pudding and around £20 for main course, which is about average for UK. All of the fish dishes are amazing, and we also sampled the lamb which was beautifully cooked and presented. The staff all speak excellent English and are happy to help booking excursions, ferrying you to and from the Blue Lagoon and the airport, and for me, best of all, I had forgotten my phone charger and asked at the desk on the offchance that someone may have one, when a box full of chargers was presented, we found one that fitted and my phone was back on again. No charge - priceless!!
I would certainly recommend this hotel if you don't want to stay in downtown Rekyavik. Its a good price, quiet and staff are very nice.

Room Tip: We had No.20 which looked out towards the power plant, but as it's silent it's fine and ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyB69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grindavik
2.6 mi away
Geo Hotel Grindavik
Geo Hotel Grindavik
#3 of 3 in Grindavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel Keflavik
Hotel Keflavik
#2 of 9 in Keflavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
7.8 mi away
Base Hotel
Base Hotel
#6 of 9 in Keflavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hotel Berg
Hotel Berg
#1 of 9 in Keflavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
24.3 mi away
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Light Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Light Inn

Property: Northern Light Inn
Address: Northern Lights Road 1, Grindavik 240, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Reykjanes Peninsula > Grindavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Grindavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Northern Light Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northern Light Inn - just 1 minute before the Blue Lagoon - is a wonderful place to see the Aurora Borealis, discover Iceland, and enjoy your getaway vacation. 32 geo-thermally heated rooms, free wifi, 24/7 honesty bar, a grand cozy fireplace, and family hospitality await you. Delicious foods from the fjords and fields of Iceland are served in Max's restaurant: ocean fresh fish, free range lamb, geo-thermal vegetables, home baked breads and cakes. 24/7 complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and home made cookies are always available in the lobby for guests, and make-your-own Icelandic waffles every day. We offer free scheduled International Airport transfers from 06:00 (05:00 from the hotel) until 21:00, and complimentary regular shuttles to the Blue Lagoon. The Northern Light inn and Max's Restaurant are 20 minutes from Keflavik International Airport KEF, 45 from Reykjavik, 3 hours from London, and less than 6 from New York. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Northern Light Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Light Hotel Grindavik
Northern Light Grindavik
Northern Light Inn Iceland/Grindavik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing