We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Northern Light Inn
Nearby Hotels
$272
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Vogar(Vogar)(Great Value!)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Base Hotel(Keflavik)
$93
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Keflavik(Keflavik)
$233
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Diamond Suites(Keflavik)
$714
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$166
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silica Hotel(Grindavik)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Airport Inn(Keflavik)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,060)
Filter reviews
1,060 results
Traveler rating
595
353
86
20
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
595
353
86
20
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barpower stationgeothermal plantlast nightblue lagoonlambhonor barmax's restaurantlava fieldswake up callviewing roomfree shuttlelovely hotelviewing towernorthern lights viewingsmoked salmonlog fire
Filter
Updating list...
577 - 582 of 1,060 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The Northern Light Inn is just lovely, cosy and intimate. The hotel was beautiful and the service excellent. There were lots of beautiful living areas where you could sit by the fire and read, check your emails or just chat. We walked just over a mile in the snow to the Blue Lagoon which was wonderful. We had a lovely three course dinner that night in the restaurant. It was a Sunday which meant a carvery with optional fish or vegetarian option.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pound_Witch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Stayed on the last night of a 5 night trip to Iceland. We had an early morning flight so it made sense to visit the Blue Lagoon and stay close to the airport on our last night.
This hotel ticked both of those boxes, being a very short shuttle from Blue Lagoon and about 20 mins from the airport.
It isn't a cosy, beautiful hotel, it is very clean, very friendly with spacious rooms. It is a long way from anywhere other then the Blue Lagoon and geo thermal power station.
We ate in the restaurant which was fine, not gourmet food but very good. As it was a Sunday I too can vouch for the slow roasted rack of lamb.
Very comfortable lounges with an honesty bar - we spent a happy couple of hours reading and relaxing by the fire.
There is an upstairs viewing platform (indoor and out) for watching the Northern Lights, should they put in an appearance. They didn't for us sadly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grumpysimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I travelled with my wife for her birthday. We were picked up from the airport with no issues. The Inn is only a 20 - 30 minute drive away even in the snow. Be warned the hotel is miles away from any town but close to the Blue Lagoon.

The first thing you notice about the Inn is the giant geothermal power plant behind it lit up like a christmas tree. It is a beautiful sight however there is a strong smell of sulphur in the air which can catch you off guard at times.

The rooms are spacious and warm. The bathroom is very modern with a walk in shower. The beds are comfy. The room didn't have a iron but reception can provide you with one if asked.

The restaurant is great over looking the power plant and lava fields. The food is expensive but all food is in Iceland. Everything is fresh and high quality. We stayed for 3 nights and tried everything on the menu so if staying longer you might be limited on choice.

We encountered one problem when checking out. We found items against our room which we didn't have so double check your bill when checking out. I noticed another reviewer noted this so be careful.

Overall a fantastic hotel and the perfect location to enjoy Iceland in all it's beauty

Room Tip: Ask for a high room number as far away from the bar and reception area
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nuthouse1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

My partner and I have just returned from a 3night stay at the Northern Light Inn and would have to say we absolutely loved it. Gorgeous inn with fantastic views of the snow covered volcanic rock landscape. We were picked up from the local airport Keflavik and driven to the NLI in less than 20minutes. The restaurant is lovely and the dinner was filling and tasty every evening. Highly recommend the 4hour slow roasted home cooked lamb they have every Sunday evening. We made sure to sign up the the Aurora lights wake up service, but sadly due to unpredictable weather missed out of the spectacle of the dancing green lights!

We spent one day visiting the blue lagoon. What a place!!!!! Just a fantastic experience. We also spent one day visiting the local town of Grindavik. This was the only time in our holiday where we felt slightly let down. Its a very industrial, fishing town, and only 3000 people live there. Even though we have an amazing home cooked lobster soup in a rustic harbour cafe, the lack of any activities in Grindavik left a lot to be desired. We ended up just walking around for a few hours taking in the fresh air and admiring the slow paced lifestyle of this rather small town.

The staff at the Inn were absolutely amazing. Kind, accomodating and very flexible in regards to the amount the offer. I mean our airport driver was also our waiteress for dinner and also our cleaner in the morning. Very polite and kind staff with an incredibly hard work ethic which is what makes the Inn feel so homely and comforting. Its not a chain hotel. Its an Inn. Our nights were spent with a glass of wine, some dark chocolate, some movies on our iPad with the beautiful night sky in our view, sitting on a couch next to the fireplace. For us, that was perfect :-)

Cant wait to return!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TKenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We were picked up from the airport and taken to the hotel for our three nights stay, the first thing you notice as you near the Inn is the smell of sulphur which takes a bit of getting used to and can catch you off guard in the hotel as well. However as the power station is located next door this was expected and would not stop me from recommending the Hotel. The power plant is beautiful and the restaurant faces it so you can see it lit up in the dark sky.
The Inn is spacious and provides plenty of resting areas including a lovely open fire lounge and an honesty bar.
We ate at the restaurant each night and found the food to be costly (which is to be expected in Iceland) and of good quality. I can recommend the soup starters they are delicious. If you are lucky enough to stay here on a Sunday I also recommend you take advantage of the rack of lamb, the best I have ever tasted, stunning!
We took advantage of the free shuttle to the Blue Lagoon, available from the Inn every hour on the hour from 10am to 8pm. When you want to return to the Inn you just ask at the Lagoon reception and they phone them to collect you, perfect.

Tip
Don't forget to put your room number down at reception as they will then give you a wakeup call if the Northern Lights show themselves.

Tip
Also check your bill before you leave we had the wrong one when we checked out but they did quickly change the tab when we advised them that we had already paid for the accommodation and listed the food we had eaten.
I would recommend a stay here but other than the Blue Lagoon there is not much else around so you will need to book another activity. We felt that a short stay is advisable because of this.

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious however the higher the room number the further away from reception, bar and restaurant you are, which for us was great as it was quiet.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ivebeenonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews