We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for the Blue Lagoon & Airport”
Review of Northern Light Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Northern Light Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Grindavik
Certificate of Excellence
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Location for the Blue Lagoon & Airport”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

My husband & I stayed here for one night in December 2012. The property is not fancy, but the room was very clean & functional. There are a few cozy spots in the common areas to have a drink and relax. The hotel has a free shuttle to and from the Blue Lagoon, as well as to the airport. Breakfast was included in the room rate, so I thought this property was a great value. We had dinner in the restaurant, and the food was fresh and tasty.

The best part? Max - adorable & full of personality!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aimee-Marie1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    322
    78
    17
    4
See reviews for
179
508
54
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
121 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We spent one night here since we arrived in the evening and wanted to go to the Blue Lagoon the next day before making our way to Reykjavik. The rate was close to Euro 150 for a double room with breakfast, airport transfers and shuttle to the lagoon which is about 5 mins drive or 15 mins walk. Our pick-up at the airport was efficient and friendly, as was the check-in.

You will find the location either a novelty or off-putting (we thought the former) since your view is either the puffing geothermal power station or the dark lava fields. The inn has the outward appearance of a rather charmless motel but our room was large and comfortable, T.V. with lots of channels, Wi-Fi, coffee and tea, very quiet, and we certainly had a good night's sleep.

However, I can't imagine staying here for more than one or two nights since your dining choices are restricted if you don't have your own wheels. The airy hotel restaurant had a limited dinner menu but food was well-prepared. Breakfast was a reasonable buffet, mainly cold, with one hot egg dish.

The hotel website perhaps over-exaggerates its charms but this is a good alternative if you want to be near the lagoon.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BooksHampshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch
Level Contributor
197 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We arrived in the rain, and initial thoughts were not good. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere, in a bleak landscape of black lava, with a power station in the back garden !!!
Putting this to one side, on we went. Check in was painless, and you couldn't fault the room. Specious, spotlessly clean, warm, free wifi. A bit sparse, but this is to the Icelandic taste.
As you are miles from anywhere you are stuck with dining in the hotel. This is sadly where the hotel falls down. The menu is the same every day ( 4 starters, 4 mains) , apart from the fish dish which changes daily.
Having said that it was catfish for 3 days out of 4. And as the choice was limited, at least you would have expected it to be very good. Again no. 1st night, the hot starter was cold, and the main course was wrong. 2nd night the chicken wasn't cooked through, 3rd night, no sauce on the main, and needed to prompt the waitress to fetch it.
Having said all that, these were rectified at the time, but you really expect better given the prices.
Can't comment on the northern lights as it was either cloudy, foggy or raining for our entire stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chaz-b98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed at the northern lights inn as a family for 3 nights. We were met at the airport by one of the staff who took us the short ride to the hotel. He promptly checked us in. The room was as we expected, clean and functional with good shower room, television, tea and coffee making facilities and free wifi. Beds were very comfortable. Breakfast is buffet style with choice of cereal, juices, cold meats ,scrambled eggs, cheese and fruit. Dining room has the most amazing view of the lava fields and the geothermal power station. Every member of staff we came across was friendly and helpful.We walked to the Blue Lagoon through the lava fields in the snow, but the view was still great. Blue lagoon is a must experience. The hotel staff at our request organised a private taxi to take us around the main sights. Kris our guide was great and we had a wonderful day visiting waterfalls and geysirs. The hotel will call you in the evening if you request when the northern lights appear. Sadly we didn't get to see the lights. Never mind, a good excuse to come back. Iceland is amazing and the Northern Lights inn was perfect for us. We are already looking to see when we can return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lag111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Northern Light Inn – We arrived at the Inn early afternoon under a heavy overcast sky and during a ferocious storm. Upon first sighting the Inn nestled in a dark and moss covered lava field, with the backdrop of a very large geothermal power station, my first thoughts were less than complimentary. But, as is said, do not judge a book…… Having previously read reviews about the Inn I was prepared to reserve judgment until I had sampled the interior. I was not to be disappointed. The door was opened for us upon arrival and we were quickly registered and in our room, which was spacious and warm if somewhat sterile in appearance. However, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom both clean and functional. The restaurant which we visited for dinner on each of the 3 nights of our stay looked out onto the power station. Now you may not consider this a picturesque outlook but in the gathering dusk and darkness of night with the steam plumes lit up it provided an other worldly ethereal backdrop to what were excellent dinners. The menu choices varied each night, with on one occasion a specials menu headed by a local lamb dish, and of course the ubiquitous “Catch of the Day”! Prices were of an Icelandic standard but the quality of the food could just about substantiate this. The highlight of each evening was relaxing on the sofa in front of the open fire and finishing off a few glasses of what you fancy. Indeed we availed ourselves of the comfy chairs in the lounge and bar areas on several occasions, looking out at the rain flying horizontally across our vision. We were able to visit the Blue Lagoon and Grindavik, on both occasions being transported by courtesy of the Northern Light Inn. We also did the Golden Circle tour, being picked up from the Inn and transferring to a coach in Reykjavik. This was a long day, 07:45 departure returning at 18:30 but well worth it to see some of Iceland’s more famous landmarks. Finally, if you are looking for a place to relax and unwind you will be hard placed to find anywhere better, although I think the remoteness helped to re-enforce the sit back and relax attitude.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zymology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We loved this hotel , friendly helpful and we even saw the Northern lights on the last night with no coach trip- from their observatory!
All staff were great - rooms were clean and warm - and its really near the blue lagoon - a lovely little walkway we were told about- or a short courtesy drive.
I agree with Dawn W as we too had a late flight in and an early flight out and a full breakfast was provided at 5am!
The chef Berta kindly gave us a lift to her village and showed us around Grindavik too.
Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helengart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed one night here at the begining of our Iceland stay. The purpose was to both try and be woken up to see the Northern Lights . ( they did not co operate) and to be close to Blue lagoon. We had not been able to stay our first night and so had booked another place in Grindavik ( Steinar- also reviewed elsewhere). So we arrived around 1pm were able to go to our rooms and then drove to Blue Lagoon where we gave back our car and after our visit there( fantastic) the reception at Blue Lagoon phoned Northern Light Inn and within ten minutes we were on our way back. Great service. They also take you to the airport free and bring you back and forth from Blue lagoon to catch the RE bus into Reyjkavik for daily excursions.

We had a lovely room with lava views and also of the power station. The room was very nice and the bathroom and shower was a highlight. We enjoyed the dinner, and breakfast and the ambience. there is a lovely very old dog who is very friendly, and lots of spaces to relax and chill out. I loved the place and met many people who were staying longer and also enjoyed being there.

If you enjoy big trip excursions there is no reason that this inn is inconvenient as Reyjkavik excursions pick up here or at Blue Lagoon for every trip. For us we wanted to spend time in the city itself so did not consider this place as our only stay. But while we were there it was a lovely place with great staff who wanted you to enjoy yourself, and who looked out for you. They even found my medicine and noticed us just waiting to leave and came out and gave it to us. I had not even noticed it missing and was impressed that they remembered us and where we had sat for breakfast.

I would stay again for at least one night, either at begining or end of a stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank springqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grindavik
2.6 mi away
Geo Hotel Grindavik
Geo Hotel Grindavik
#3 of 3 in Grindavik
250 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel Keflavik
Hotel Keflavik
#2 of 9 in Keflavik
883 reviews
23.8 mi away
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Hotel Berg
Hotel Berg
#1 of 9 in Keflavik
733 reviews
24.3 mi away
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,557 reviews
7.8 mi away
Base Hotel
Base Hotel
#7 of 9 in Keflavik
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Light Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Light Inn

Property: Northern Light Inn
Address: Northern Lights Road 1, Grindavik 240, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Reykjanes Peninsula > Grindavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Grindavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Northern Light Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northern Light Inn - just 1 minute before the Blue Lagoon - is a wonderful place to see the Aurora Borealis, discover Iceland, and enjoy your getaway vacation. 32 geo-thermally heated rooms, free wifi, 24/7 honesty bar, a grand cozy fireplace, and family hospitality await you. Delicious foods from the fjords and fields of Iceland are served in Max's restaurant: ocean fresh fish, free range lamb, geo-thermal vegetables, home baked breads and cakes. 24/7 complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and home made cookies are always available in the lobby for guests, and make-your-own Icelandic waffles every day. We offer free scheduled International Airport transfers from 06:00 (05:00 from the hotel) until 21:00, and complimentary regular shuttles to the Blue Lagoon. The Northern Light inn and Max's Restaurant are 20 minutes from Keflavik International Airport KEF, 45 from Reykjavik, 3 hours from London, and less than 6 from New York. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Northern Light Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Light Hotel Grindavik
Northern Light Grindavik
Northern Light Inn Iceland/Grindavik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing