We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing once in a lifetime”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Northern Light Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Northern Light Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Grindavik
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing once in a lifetime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

I booked a surprise trip to Iceland for my husband's 40th birthday. We had a 3 nite stay at the Northern Light Inn with a visit to the blue lagoon.
I read virtually every review on here before we went and there is a mix of reviews!
Depending on what you are after this place will either suit you or not. For us it was perfect. It is in the middle of nowhere, but we enjoy the quiet.
The blue lagoon is a 10 minute walk from the hotel, through the lava fields and should be done, why get a lift when you can explore!!
There are 3 hills / mountains that surround the hotel, we chose to explore these and walked up all 3 of them in a day, amazing views from the tops with views of the sea and the glaciers.
The hotel was perfect. Clean and comfortable.
Food was delicious but expensive, but that's Iceland. We saw the Northern Lights 3 nites in a row, we were very lucky.
We couldn't fault our stay. For us it suited us perfectly. We didn't get a lift anywhere, for us it's all about exploring on foot.
The power station is mystical and adds to the character of the place, it does not smell as some have said.
Would give this place 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbrett25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    317
    78
    17
    4
See reviews for
173
499
53
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Steyning, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed here one night before heading back to the UK. The hotel was all one level and large and airy with spacious, clean, warm rooms. The bathrooms were large, very clean with walk-in showers and heated floors. Food was very good in a fine, spacious restaurant though the views of the local geo-thermic power station were different!
The hotel has an closed, observation area with comfortable seating if you plan to see the Northern Lights. We'd already seen them earlier in our trip but didn't see them this night as the weather turned poor.
Nearby (about 2km away and easily walkable) is the famous Blue Lagoon - see hotel website - which is a 'must' to visit. The hotel provides complimentary shuttle service to this, and to the International Airport at Keflavik.
We had a few hours to kill before we departed to the airport and the hotel recommended a visit to the local fishing village at Grindavik. Unfortunately the weather turned rainy and sleety and there wasn't much to doi in the village apart from visiting the local small but friendly cafe (the hotel shuttle bus drops you off there). There is a local museum about the fishing industry but this only tends to open at weekends during the closed season, otherwise there is not much to see aprt from a small harbour. Perhaps the local fishermen could organise tours of the fish processing plant there - that would have been of interest and I'm sure they could partner with the hotel on this?
A good, comfortable, stop-over hotel conveniently next to the Blue Lagoon but not much else to see around there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cloosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Sparten facilities and nothing to do except for your 1/2 day visit to Blue Lagoon (5 mins. away in hotel courtesy bus). So one night stay is maximum I would recommend for final day/night. Breakfast and dinner were poor - very little choice and expensive and nothing like those illustrated on the website. Hotel main rooms cold (March) but bedroom excellent apart from a few bathroom fittings not installed. (Loo roll holder, shower soap tray.)
When we arrived I thought the hotel was the office for the thermal power station, which is adjacent.
Stay was not helped by the blizzard which closed the Lagoon and marooned the guests overnight, but this emphasized that there is simply nothing else to do - especially if you don't have a hire car. The nearest 'civilisation' is about an hour away.
That said, the hotel runs you to the lagoon and airport when you want and would have taken us to the Grindavik fishing village (but for the blizzard).
Book if for your last night and go to the Lagoon in the afternoon before.

Room Tip: All the new rooms in the extension are large and very comfortable. There is no outlook - except for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Multi2D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Unfortunately we didn't get to see the Northern Lights which was the main reason for our stay here. However the weather cannot be controlled by the hotel and they do have good facilities from which to view them had the conditions been more favourable. I did not experience the level of friendlieness from the staff expressed in some of the reviews of this hotel I had read prior to my stay. I did however enjoy my stay the room and the lounge area were clean well equipped and warm and the honesty bar was a bonus although expensive, drinks vending machine was also very useful. I particularly appreciated the free airport pick up and the free shuttle bus to and from the Blue Lagoon. The evening meals were of very good quality but the choice is limited and during our stay did not really vary from day to day the location and bus timetables makes it quite challenging to eat elsewhere so we ate here twice and at the blue lagoon on our third day. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice but I did feel that the staff were monitoring how much we ate and when items ran out they were not replenished. I had not fully appreciated the distance to Rekyavik (an hour by bus) and was disappointed that the last bus back was at 18.00 we did have a lovely day sightseeing though. I had mentioned in the email and telephone booking that I was staying for a significant birthday no cognicence was taken of this but I guess most people visit for a special occasion. I would stay here again at a different time of year but would consider hiring a car to give more flexibility.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susie186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Loved this hotel & would recommend if you are going to the blue lagoon. Stayed here for our first night in Iceland, the hotel offer a free pick up to and from the airport which meant we didn't need to collect our car from the airport until our second day which saved us a days worth of car hire. Hotel is a 15 minute walk from the blue lagoon but the hotel also offer a free shuttle service. Blue lagoon was great, the perfect way to relax after an early morning flight and start the holiday. 

The hotel facilities were great, our room was modern, spacious, light and had a great shower. There are also  lovely lounge areas to relax in the evening. The dinner & breakfast was also excellent. Staff were great. In the evening there are viewing areas where you can look out for the northern lights. We saw the lights but probably wasn't the best ever showing but if it was a clearer night this would be a good place to watch them.

Overall great hotel close to the airport definitely worth staying here either as a first or last stop of a tour of Iceland.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TEK_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We spent two nights at the Northern Light Inn. Unfortunately, the cloud cover prevented us seeing the Northern Lights, but we got a front row seat to some interesting weather! The Inn has an observation room with windows all around. The wind was howling, but we stayed cozy. The room was clean, the beds extremely comfortable. The restaurant served an adequate breakfast and a delicious dinner. The staff was very nice. The chef took us into Grindavik on her way to the grocery store! The inn is next to a power plant, but that is an interesting sight. The building looks almost like a modern sculpture and the only emissions are clouds of steam. We could have walked to the Blue Lagoon in better weather. The days we were there, walking was out of the question, but the hotel will provide transportation. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlaRoanoke_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

I must point out first that this is not my first trip to thr NLI. Last time the accommodation, staff and food were excellent. This time the same can be said for the accom and staff - food not so great. Limited choice I can accept, but the portion size was wanting. I'm happy to pay the Iceland prices but not for that quantity. Last time I went ( pre the dining room extension) the food quality was amazing and the quantity good with more food being offered if you wanted it. Now it is 'architectural' food mainly design and little sustance. We had two different chocolate puddings - one the size of a Mr Kipling almond size and the other about size of two shortbread rounds stacked up - these cost just under £30!!!!!! My advise would be to stay at this clean, friendly hotel - breakfast is very good, but have lunch/ evening meals elsewhere.
P.S. they need to clean the viewing room windows too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RockdocUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grindavik
2.6 mi away
Geo Hotel Grindavik
Geo Hotel Grindavik
#3 of 3 in Grindavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel Keflavik
Hotel Keflavik
#2 of 9 in Keflavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
7.8 mi away
Base Hotel
Base Hotel
#6 of 9 in Keflavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hotel Berg
Hotel Berg
#1 of 9 in Keflavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
24.3 mi away
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Light Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Light Inn

Property: Northern Light Inn
Address: Northern Lights Road 1, Grindavik 240, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Reykjanes Peninsula > Grindavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Grindavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Northern Light Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northern Light Inn - just 1 minute before the Blue Lagoon - is a wonderful place to see the Aurora Borealis, discover Iceland, and enjoy your getaway vacation. 32 geo-thermally heated rooms, free wifi, 24/7 honesty bar, a grand cozy fireplace, and family hospitality await you. Delicious foods from the fjords and fields of Iceland are served in Max's restaurant: ocean fresh fish, free range lamb, geo-thermal vegetables, home baked breads and cakes. 24/7 complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and home made cookies are always available in the lobby for guests, and make-your-own Icelandic waffles every day. We offer free scheduled International Airport transfers from 06:00 (05:00 from the hotel) until 21:00, and complimentary regular shuttles to the Blue Lagoon. The Northern Light inn and Max's Restaurant are 20 minutes from Keflavik International Airport KEF, 45 from Reykjavik, 3 hours from London, and less than 6 from New York. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Northern Light Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Light Hotel Grindavik
Northern Light Grindavik
Northern Light Inn Iceland/Grindavik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing