We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay at an unusual location.”
Review of Northern Light Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Northern Light Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Grindavik
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay at an unusual location.”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

As previous reviewers, we stayed here on the final night of our "Discover the World," Northern Lights and Volcanoes" tour. It provided a relaxing end to a fairly full 4 night trip. Our room was spacious and comfortable, with good en suite facilities. The view of the power plant from the upstairs viewing room and the restaurant, was quite other-wordly. Unfortunately the Northern Lights were not to be seen! We enjoyed our meal in the hotel restaurant, where the food was good quality and the service was friendly and efficient.
We were a bit disappointed in the breakfast selection the next morning. The toaster was useless and the scrambled eggs were a solid lump! The hotel kindly allowed us to take our towels to the Blue Lagoon, thereby saving us the hire charge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    332
    78
    17
    4
See reviews for
185
520
56
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed 2 nights. Helpful and friendly staff. Nice hotel, nice room, nice sitting areas, nice restaurant, good food and excellent waitress - she was delightful. Very convenient for the Blue Lagoon. Made good use of their shuttle service to and from the Blue Lagoon and airport. But the big question .... why build a hotel right next to a geothermal power station, in the middle of a lava field? The dining room has big windows looking at the power station - not evident from the website. A very strange location!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gruggill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, England
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hotel is modern, clean and well appointed. Restaurant food is good if expensive and breakfast is OK. Sadly it falls down on its free wi-fi service. I and other members of our group had problems getting a connection anywhere and the staff did not seem disposed to help us. They have one free terminal as back-up but that is not the same. I can survive without wi-fi if I know when I plan a trip but have difficulties meeting my family responsibilities back home if the promised service does not materialise.

The walk in shower was good except the floor had't been sloped enough and when you got out parts of the bathroom were flooded.

Aurora viewing is compromised slightly by light pollution from Keflavik and the nearby power plant but more so by irresponsible guests who leave the lights on in their room and blinds open whilst they disappear to the bar/restaurant for long periods. If you stay please remember one of the main reasons for staying and have some consideration for those trying to view/photograph the Aurora.

I didn't have a problem with the view out to the nearby plant. This epitomises what Iceland is all about and how they have adapted nature to enable them to live in such a hostile environment.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJandMrsCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halkyn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We chose this hotel for its location near the Blue Lagoon and for its Northern Lights viewing platform. We were transferring from our hotel in Reykjavik and arrived a bit earlier than we had expected. However we were greeted warmly and our room was ready so we unpacked and then went back to the reception to see what we could do. There are games, book and magazines as well as an Apple Mac iMac computer for guests use. Free WiFi is also available throughout the hotel with a good signal. At this point we were offered a free lift into nearby Grindavik and were dropped at the habourside cafe and told to get them to ring when we were ready to return and they'd come and collect us (which they did)

We had dinner in the hotel restaurant which was very good indeed and had hoped to see the "Lights" but it was too cloudy so we watched TV and retired. Breakfast was continental type buffet and very nice. We then walked the 10 to 12 minutes to the Blue Lagoon geothermal waters through a freezing cold but lovely crisp morning and enjoyed those facilities being picked up again by the hotel courtesy transport.

We had a light dinner in the restaurant and then had an amazing two and a half hours watching the spectacular Northern Lights from the viewing platform.

We had an 8am flight the next morning but the hotel was supplying transport and had breakfast ready for us at 5am.

This is a great hotel with few frills but very comfortable. The services were excellent and the staff warm and friendly. We would most definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here on our last night in Iceland and took in the Blue Lagoon which is close enough to walk to, if you want to see the lava field. The hotel is right next to the power plant - wouldn't have minded a tour! - and this provided a rather unusual view from the bedroom window. The room was large with very comfortable beds and an ensuite wet room - an extra floor mat would have been handy to wipe up, otherwise you are standing on a slippery floor or wet mat when at the sink. As this is the main mirror for make-up or shaving it wasn't ideal when two are getting ready at the same time. There are several communal areas which are cosy and have plenty of large sofas and chairs to relax in, plus quiet corners if you want to read. There was also an honesty bar! We ate dinner in the restaurant which was lovely, although not a huge amount of choice. We wished we could have stayed another night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiltshireBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here on the final night of a discover the world trip - the Northern Lights did not appear but that's not the hotel's fault - you can't control nature! The rooms were of a good size and the showers good without a sulphur smell which was welcome. The service in the restaurant was good but the food was pretty average for dinner. We has soup (very thin and unimaginative) followed by what was billed as seafood pasta in a garlic butter. The seafood was actually a bit of a white fish, 3 prawns and a crab stick. There was not trace of garlic and the portion was very small. Dinner for 2 which consisted of a soup for 2, salad for one, 2 pasta dishes and a beer and glass of wine cost £45. The breakfast was good and amazingly was provided at 5am in order that we reach the airport for 6am for an 8am flight back.The golden retriever Max is a sweetie! The location is otherworldy - bang next to the geothermal power station and Blue Lagoon - the strangest place I have ever stayed in for sure! But then iceland is pretty functional and quirky. It took 20 mins by coach to get to the airport.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

we came to the restaurant as we were staying at the blue lagoon clinic, and there is no restaurant like this at the clinic.

the hotel and restaurant staff are super friendly and very accommodating.

the food and wine were delicious.

selections as in many of the restaurants in this area are limited, fish and lamb the usual selection, but they are very very well served and very tasty.

the staff is incredibly friendly giving us a ride back to the clinic after dinner.

i will likely syat here next time i visit and of course dine at their restaurant

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graycloudrios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grindavik
Geo Hotel Grindavik
#3 of 3 in Grindavik
258 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,655 reviews
Hotel Berg
#1 of 9 in Keflavik
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Keflavik
#2 of 9 in Keflavik
905 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Light Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Light Inn

Property: Northern Light Inn
Address: Northern Lights Road 1, Grindavik 240, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Reykjanes Peninsula > Grindavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Grindavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Northern Light Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northern Light Inn & Max’s Restaurant, just 1 minute before the Blue Lagoon, is a unique place to stay, enjoy a delicious meal, see the Aurora Borealis (conditions permitting) and discover Iceland. It's 20 minutes from Keflavik International Airport-KEF, 45 from Reykjavik, 3 hours from London, and about 6 from New York. We offer an exclusive Airport Taxi service with the lowest prices, and free scheduled shuttles to the Blue Lagoon. 24/7 complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and you can make-your-own Icelandic waffles every day in the living room. Max's restaurant serves ocean fresh fish, free range lamb, geo-thermal vegetables, home baked breads and cakes. Vegetarian options are always available too. 42 geo-thermally heated rooms, free wifi, 24/7 honesty bar, a grand cozy fireplace, and family hospitality await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Northern Light Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Light Hotel Grindavik
Northern Light Grindavik
Northern Light Inn Iceland/Grindavik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing