We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Creature comforts near the Blue Lagoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Northern Light Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Northern Light Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Grindavik
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Creature comforts near the Blue Lagoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed here for one night at end of Icelandic tour - mainly to use Blue Lagoon and be near airport for early morning flight. Apart from slight mix-up re shuttle pick up this was a surprisingly good experience. Hotel location is a little odd - at the back of the Blue Lagoon complex with a "lovely" view over the geo thermal power plant. However room was very good, much larger than expected, again with a very comfortable bed and a nice seating area. Food in the restaurant was really good (as were the lovely Icelandic waitresses) although the view of the power plant was a bit strange. Free coffee in the lounge and the honesty bar were very nice touches and staff were very accomodating - serving a very early breakfast (5 am) for those of us catching the early flight back to the UK. Pity we didn't get to see the Northern Lights as it poured down all night (luckily had seen them earlier in the trip)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazza53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    317
    78
    17
    4
See reviews for
173
500
53
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Only two minutes by coach from the Blue Lagoon (which in itself is a lovely memorable experience) the Northern Lights Inn is a pleasant and convenient stay with lovely spacious rooms and good service.
There were a couple of cosy lounges - one with an open fire- and the second one with an honesty bar which I thought was a nice touch.
It is right next to a geo-thermal power station and there is a strong sulphur smell at times, but it is a good, well-decorated hotel.
We had a one-course meal at the restaurant which was nice enough (about £50 for four - Iceland is expensive to eat out), then got a lot of chocolate from the machine for dessert! The view from the restaurant could be spectacular but we always ate in the dark as it was January.
We didn't see the lights on our four-night Iceland stay, but there is so much more to see and do that I kind of forgot about the lights - they would have been a bonus.
All in all, our teenage children (19 and 16) loved Iceland - in fact our student daughter said it was one of her best holidays ever!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichmondLass5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Finished off a stay in Iceland with the last night here so we could avail of the 'Blue Lagoon'. Staff took us in a vehicle and returned to bring us back. Very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very good and the lounge areas excellent. We had an evening meal in the restaurant and it was good as was our 5 30am breakfast !
Not only well located for the Lagoon but also can be used for pick ups to various other locations.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 63Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
258 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed here for a night so I could visit the Blue lagoon. The hotel has several advantages over Reykjavik as its walking distance, is far enough from town to have a reasonable chance to see the lights and the charming staff not only do complimentary airport pick up and drop off but are also happy to take you to the Lagoon or Grindvik.

The surroundings are unusual, a lava field and a big power plant but it makes for some interesting photos, especially if you're lucky enough to see the Aurora.

The hotel doesn't look too promising outside but once through the door its quite lovely, simple, comfortable, spotlessly clean and cosy. Don't miss dinner, its pricy but we had a delicious Icelandic lamb which was worth every penny.

Rooms are generously sized and well equipped, although more storage for clothes would be better for guests staying more than a night.

I wouldn't hesitate to come back again, a really enjoyable last night and day in Iceland.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LollypopSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Went as part of an organised "tour" only lasted 3 days but well worth it.
Stayed at the Northern Light hotel for one night, primarily to utilize the Blue Lagoon which is close and be handy for returning to the airport.
Blue Lagoon is a must see and do, and that's from someone who wasn't that bothered prior to leaving !!
The hotel is well situated and has all the amenities for this type of trip, friendly staff, good food, and helpful, location is close to a power plant but in some ways it adds to the unreal surroundings which are pretty bleak and barren, which really goes for the remainder of Iceland in January.
On the whole pretty good service, given the time of year etc, could be picky but its much better to join in when the weather's poor.

Room Tip: Keep to the ground floor, all rooms are pretty much the same and no great distance from life.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

The inn was beautifully laid out and located in on and around really unusual moonlike terrain.Housekeeping department gets 10 stars!! Impeccably clean and neat and well appointed. The woman that checked us in and out was very hospitable and professional. She had short brown hair, glasses and maybe a chefs jacket on.......Dinner was very confusing ( chicken with red sauce? no explanation ) and the server was very nice but the service was AWFUL! The transportation they offer was very laxidazacal, slow, and not at all punctual. Called for a pick up at the lagoon, waited 30 minutes, had to walk back to call again and it was freezing and snowing and they said oops. They forgot.Would I stay here again? Evidently, they are the only show in town.

Room Tip: if you smoke they have conveniently located ashtrays outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank talkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in order that we could visit the Blue Lagoon,Reykjavik and hopefully see the Northern Lights.The weather was wet and windy so unfortunately didn't get to see The Northern Lights but our visit to the Blue Lagoon was perfect, the more so because of the shuttle service provided by the hotel.Nothing seemed too much trouble for the staff from breakfasts provided for early departures to phone calls from reception re possible sighting of the Northern Lights. The rooms were very clean and cosy and have views of the lava fields.We dined in the restaurant for all 3 nights and the standard of food and service is excellent but would warn that the only daily menu changes are the soup and fish dishes.
Overall would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for a short break to Iceland.

Room Tip: Room 32 quiet position at the end of the hotel and offers views of the lava fields and northern ligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rozbobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grindavik
2.6 mi away
Geo Hotel Grindavik
Geo Hotel Grindavik
#3 of 3 in Grindavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel Keflavik
Hotel Keflavik
#2 of 9 in Keflavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
7.8 mi away
Base Hotel
Base Hotel
#6 of 9 in Keflavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hotel Berg
Hotel Berg
#1 of 9 in Keflavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
24.3 mi away
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Light Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Light Inn

Property: Northern Light Inn
Address: Northern Lights Road 1, Grindavik 240, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Reykjanes Peninsula > Grindavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Grindavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Northern Light Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northern Light Inn - just 1 minute before the Blue Lagoon - is a wonderful place to see the Aurora Borealis, discover Iceland, and enjoy your getaway vacation. 32 geo-thermally heated rooms, free wifi, 24/7 honesty bar, a grand cozy fireplace, and family hospitality await you. Delicious foods from the fjords and fields of Iceland are served in Max's restaurant: ocean fresh fish, free range lamb, geo-thermal vegetables, home baked breads and cakes. 24/7 complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and home made cookies are always available in the lobby for guests, and make-your-own Icelandic waffles every day. We offer free scheduled International Airport transfers from 06:00 (05:00 from the hotel) until 21:00, and complimentary regular shuttles to the Blue Lagoon. The Northern Light inn and Max's Restaurant are 20 minutes from Keflavik International Airport KEF, 45 from Reykjavik, 3 hours from London, and less than 6 from New York. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Northern Light Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Light Hotel Grindavik
Northern Light Grindavik
Northern Light Inn Iceland/Grindavik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing