We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge a book by it's cover - this is a great hotel in an unusual location”
Review of Northern Light Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Northern Light Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Grindavik
Certificate of Excellence
Teddington
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by it's cover - this is a great hotel in an unusual location”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at the Northern Light Inn in October 2012 for 4 nights. The rooms are comfortable, clean, spacious and warm. The food is very good (but extremely expensive, as in the rest of Iceland). Breakfast offers smoked salmon, scrambled egg, a choice of 3 cereals, very good coffee, fruit juices and cheese and a selection of breads. And yogurt. I had the best roast lamb I ever had for one of the dinners. Staff are friendly and helpful and speak good English.

The hotel is in the middle of a lava field - all bare rocks - and looks out onto a geothermal power station (very quiet, no smells). It looks a bit industrial from the outside but is really nice and smart inside.

It's about 20 minutes drive from Keflavik airport.

I didn't see the Northern Lights, but still had a great holiday.

The hotel is a few minutes drive from the Blue Lagoon, an outdoor geothermal spa. It's fabulous! Pricey, but worth it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MusicianTeddington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    327
    78
    17
    4
See reviews for
182
513
55
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alsace
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

From the outside it looked a bit too much like a motel - but it was actually quite nice. It is right next to a power station which just means lots of clouds of steam! It was lit up at night, it made for quite a nice view from the restaurant. NO lunch service. evening menu was not brilliant. Tip - just go for the buffet starter, which is enough for a meal. Free transfers to airport and Blue Lagoon. Our family room was huge. Breakfast started at 5am for all the many people going to the airport. right next to the Blue lagoon which must be experienced!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank memsaabkali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

yes it's expensive here. but it worths it. friendly and helpful staffs. super delicious breakfast(omg..i'm missing the smoked salmon). lovely, warm and clean rooms(there were 2 of us but we got 1 king size + 2 single beds! :O). free shuttle from airport(there's free shuttle to aiport too..we didn't use it). free shuttle to/from blue lagoon. free car rental drop off on our 2nd day.
the only drawback is that we didn't get to see the northern lights. but all in all i love this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skyskyskysky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

First impressions on te drive upto this hotel is it is in the middle of nowhere with nothing but the power plant close by. The building isn't amazing from the outside but strict earthquake regulations mean the buildings are all either made out of concrete or steel structures.
We were greeted at the airport and transferred directly to the hotel by one of their shuttle buses. Completely hassle free. One opening the front door the place was so warm and welcoming, check in was speedy again hassle free and the staff informative and friendly. You walk past the number of lounges and sitting areas to get to the rooms and they are all very cosy, welcoming and there is plenty of things to do... Read a book, play chess, snuggle under a blanket infront of the fire, cards, all great for relaxing and warming up from the cold outside. With this hotel being slightly out of the main stream all the excursion companies will pick you up from the hotel, the staff are more than helpful and will arrange on your behalf. They also offer free transfers to the blue lagoon at anytime and will take you to the local town and give you a mini tour before dropping you off and then one of the shops/cafes will call them to fetch you when you are ready.
The bedrooms are all perfect for what you need for a few nights stay and are modernly furnished. My only critisisum for the room we stayed in (17) was one lightshade really needs changing and there could be another small mirror on the wall other than the bathroom as getting ready tool longer!! The rooms are cleaned daily and fresh towel and toiletries are provided. They also give you free towels to take over to the blue lagoon which saves the rental fee.
Then there is the dining! The menu is limited but certainly no complaints they have perfected the dishes and I has the best lamb I have ever had here along with the best homemade tomato soup! They should win awards for the tastyness of this food would definitly recommend eating here and not venture out into the cold. The service was speedy and friendly and again nothing was tooth trouble.
The big disappointment for us was the lack of northern lights but this is hardly the hotels fault as they have thought of everything but only the almighty can control the weather! They print out the aurora forecast on reception and give tips and advise for looking, they also build an observation room so when the weather is clear you can have the luxury of sitting indoors watching them.
I really do recommend this hotel and praise all of the staff as they are the ones who make this place so special whatever you need or want they will gladly help.... One day one of the women spent all day shuttling people around as once she got back in someone else want to go somewhere!
They even have a resident dog Max who is getting on abit but such a love.
I hope if you stay here you have as good a time as us.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kha2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at the Northern Light Inn at the start and end of a trip round Iceland. I must admit I was not expecting much with it being out in the middle of no where and surrounded with nothing but Lava. I was very much mistaken!!

The hotel from the outside does not look special (see photo), however it is in the middle of a lava field so it is expected.

The service: Outstanding! The hotel provides free drop off/pick up wherever you want to go. Whether it is the airport, Blue Lagoon or even into the local town - they cant do enough to help. The staff are brilliant and will help out in any way they can, I cannot recommend them highly enough

The food: Fantastic! The food is just as good as your would find in the best restaurants in the UK. It is freshly prepared and tastes delicious. I can certainly recommend the lamb and steak.

The rooms: Simply excellent!

If you want somewhere 20 mins from the airport, 2 minutes from the Blue Lagoon with fantastic food, service and accommodation the Northern Light Inn is the only place to be!!

Room Tip: North side you will see the lights (if they come out)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here our last night in Iceland and it was a perfect choice. We arrived early in the afternoon. Our room was ready and a shuttle was waiting to take us to the Blue Lagoon. Dinner in the restaurant was delicious . The choices were limited but well prepared. The rooms are a nice size and cosy. There are several lounge areas: one with a fireplace and chess tables and the Cognac Room with an honor bar. They also provide shuttle service to the airport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed at the Clinic Hotel, but when we arrived they immediately told us that the Lava (the restaurant right at the Blue Lagoon) was fully booked. They told us we could either try the cafe or walk over to Northern Lights. Desperate and hungry, we walked 20 minutes in the 40 degree afternoon to Northern Lights. We got there around 5:10, they were immediately gracious & warm and were told that they would start dinner service at 6pm. We sat in the lounge and had a coffee (me) and a beer (husband.)

Options were limited, but we were VERY pleasantly surprised at how good dinner was. I got the fresh Atlantic Wolf Fish (tender and delicious), my husband got the fresh lamb (HUGE pieces!) The buffet included some decent items, but notably - the best cream of asparagus soup I've ever had. AND we had a spectacular view of the sunset over the very surreal landscape, from the huge windows in the dining room. I would gladly stay here on our next trip. As I said, the walk from the actual lagoon is about 25 minutes (not actually a far distance, but the road is windy) - but I see from other reviews that they do have a free shuttle. It really was a lovely & charming hotel & the staff was far more pleasant and warm than that at The Clinic Blue Lagoon (where we stayed).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grindavik
Geo Hotel Grindavik
#3 of 3 in Grindavik
256 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Berg
#1 of 9 in Keflavik
746 reviews
Hotel Keflavik
#2 of 9 in Keflavik
894 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Light Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Light Inn

Property: Northern Light Inn
Address: Northern Lights Road 1, Grindavik 240, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Reykjanes Peninsula > Grindavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Grindavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Northern Light Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northern Light Inn & Max’s Restaurant, just 1 minute before the Blue Lagoon, is a unique place to stay, enjoy a delicious meal, see the Aurora Borealis (conditions permitting) and discover Iceland. It's 20 minutes from Keflavik International Airport-KEF, 45 from Reykjavik, 3 hours from London, and about 6 from New York. We offer an exclusive Airport Taxi service with the lowest prices, and free scheduled shuttles to the Blue Lagoon. 24/7 complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and you can make-your-own Icelandic waffles every day in the living room. Max's restaurant serves ocean fresh fish, free range lamb, geo-thermal vegetables, home baked breads and cakes. Vegetarian options are always available too. 42 geo-thermally heated rooms, free wifi, 24/7 honesty bar, a grand cozy fireplace, and family hospitality await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Northern Light Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Light Hotel Grindavik
Northern Light Grindavik
Northern Light Inn Iceland/Grindavik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing