We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect End to my Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Northern Light Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Northern Light Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Grindavik
Certificate of Excellence
Syosset, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect End to my Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

Northern Light Inn was out of my price range, but my boyfriend and I decided to splurge for our last night in Iceland. I am so glad that we did. We were pretty exhausted from 5 days of traveling, hiking and exploring, and having the last night in a beautiful hotel with a huge room and hot shower was absolutely perfect. It is walking distance from the Blue Lagoon and a 15 minute ride to the airport which was so great for our morning flight. There are a lot of tour options that leave from the hotel as well, and the front desk was really helpful setting one up for us last minute. A guide picked us up from the hotel and we rode quads at sunset, finishing at the Blue Lagoon for a night "swim". I hope to come back again sometime!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    317
    78
    17
    4
See reviews for
173
500
53
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Littleborough, Rochdale
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights over New Year 2011. Room was lovely, super comfy bed and nice hot shower. Residents' lounge was really cosy with the open fire, comfy chairs and blankets. Food at breakfast was good, and the evening meals were some of the best we have had (lamb and monkfish were both delicious).

As excellent as the rooms are, the main feature of this hotel is the fantastic team of staff, who are extremely helpful and welcoming. Nothing is too much trouble for you, and we were bowled over by their service. We would love to go back one day.

Tips:

- Ask for a lift to the Blue Lagoon to collect the coach to Reykjavic. You can then get the return coach from Reykjavic to the Blue Lagoon, and then ask to be collected from the Blue Lagoon.

- You can ask to be woken up if the lights come on whilst you are asleep (we did, and we were lucky enough to see them!)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenpenpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

We stayed here for one night after flying in from London. We got lost on the way as the signs we were advised to follow were completely covered in snow however I would say that as you travel down the main road from the airport, if you drive past a large factory on the right, then you have gone too far as it is about 150 metres before this.

We were a bit daunted about the fact it was so close to a power plant of some form however there was nothing to worry about. There was absolutely no noise, smell or anything to put us off. The hotel offer complimentary transport to the Blue Lagoon - you cannot stay here without going to the lagoon - it is wonderful.

All staff were very, very nice and friendly. We arrived after the restaurant had closed but they offered to cook us a meal. The bar area was decorated very well and rooms were spacious and comfortable. We only had breakfast - other than scrambled egg, everything was cold but again very nice.

As mentioned at the start, we got lost on the way, but a quick phone call to very friendly staff with our location and they sent someone out to find us and bring us to the front door.

There is a good viewing room on the 1st floor with all round visibility and a small balcony so that you can view any Aurora that may appear with a 360 degree viewing platform. It is in a rural area so there are no issues with light contamination from any town or city. The only thing nearby is the factory/power plant but, as above this was not an issue or problem at all. All bedrooms were on the ground floor. The living room was being decorated so we cannot comment on that but everything else decorated well.

Thank you for a lovely stay!

Room Tip: Twenty four rooms in total - all seem relatively good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

Recently stayed for 4 nights. The staff were very welcoming and helpful and the food was extremely good but a bit too much of it. Not as expensive as we had been led to believe. Room was warm but not hot with lovely eider duvets. Sadly no northern lights so they didn't need to wake anyone up but the tower had plenty of activity! Good directions to the Blue Lagoon and planty of offers to send a car if we needed a lift back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the geothermal power station. There's no noise or pollution fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

The staff were particularly helpful, but remember to let them know that you wish to be woken should the 'lights' appear when you are asleep.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tortoiselife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

Stayed for 4 nights at the Northern Light Inn. The staff are really welcoming and will go out of their way to help you out.
Food was outstanding - 3 of the nights had a menu where you paid for the main course and the buffet starter and small chocie of desserts were included. Fish of the day changed each day and the lamb was the best I've ever had. Only complaint - the portion servings are just a bit too big.
The rooms were fine - geothermal hot water in the bathrooms and eider down duvets on the beds. NO complaints.
The viewing tower was where quite a few of us would spend a lot of the nights on the look out for Aurora.

Room Tip: If you want to be woken up for the Aurora - ask at reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights November 10th 2011.

We booked through discover the world and everything was just perfect.

The hotel picked us up from the airport around 4pm, arrived at the hotel at about 4.30 ish, got the key to our room (number 24) first impressions walking through the hotel was great. It all looks so cozy and nice.

We unpacked our things and had a glass of wine (we bought 3 bottles of wine and 12 bottles of lager from the duty free shop) Although we are not big drinkers we had heard how expensive it is for alcohol, so thought it best to get some wine at the airport

The room was spacious, and clean, comfy bed and lovely duvets. The maid came every day we were there.

When we arrived at the hotel the lady explained where the blue lagoon was and how we got there etc.

Yes there is a big power station, which might be a little unsightly but this is not noisy or smelly, and if it wasnt there then the blue lagoon wouldnt be there.

We went on an excursion, the golden circle, booked through discover the world but this can be booked at www.re.is or google Reykjavik excursion.

If like us you want to explore Reykjavik the best and most simple way is to get the hotel to take you to the blue lagoon and then get the bus from there. the last bus back is 6pm. getting back to the hotel about 7.

We had 1 meal in the hotel, i had fish and my boyfriend had chicken, both were delicious.

Breakfast is ok for 3 days but may get a little boring after that, plently of choice of continental meats though.

Unfortuntaly didnt see the northern lights but would love to go back next year...

I would recommend going to the blue lagoon the morning you fly home as this is more than enough time, as you probably only need a morning there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prettyfeet123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grindavik
2.6 mi away
Geo Hotel Grindavik
Geo Hotel Grindavik
#3 of 3 in Grindavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel Keflavik
Hotel Keflavik
#2 of 9 in Keflavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
7.8 mi away
Base Hotel
Base Hotel
#6 of 9 in Keflavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hotel Berg
Hotel Berg
#1 of 9 in Keflavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
24.3 mi away
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Light Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Light Inn

Property: Northern Light Inn
Address: Northern Lights Road 1, Grindavik 240, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Reykjanes Peninsula > Grindavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Grindavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Northern Light Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northern Light Inn - just 1 minute before the Blue Lagoon - is a wonderful place to see the Aurora Borealis, discover Iceland, and enjoy your getaway vacation. 32 geo-thermally heated rooms, free wifi, 24/7 honesty bar, a grand cozy fireplace, and family hospitality await you. Delicious foods from the fjords and fields of Iceland are served in Max's restaurant: ocean fresh fish, free range lamb, geo-thermal vegetables, home baked breads and cakes. 24/7 complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and home made cookies are always available in the lobby for guests, and make-your-own Icelandic waffles every day. We offer free scheduled International Airport transfers from 06:00 (05:00 from the hotel) until 21:00, and complimentary regular shuttles to the Blue Lagoon. The Northern Light inn and Max's Restaurant are 20 minutes from Keflavik International Airport KEF, 45 from Reykjavik, 3 hours from London, and less than 6 from New York. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Northern Light Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Light Hotel Grindavik
Northern Light Grindavik
Northern Light Inn Iceland/Grindavik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing