We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food”

Max's Restaurant at Northern Light Inn
Ranked #5 of 12 Restaurants in Grindavik
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Max's Restaurant & Lounge at the Northern Light Inn, is just 1 minute before the Blue Lagoon. We are open every day, serving contemporary Nordic cuisine sourced from the best of the the fjords and fields of Iceland. Max's and Northern Light Inn are 20 minutes from Keflavik International Airport KEF, 45 from Reykjavik, 3 hours from London, and less than 6 from New York. We hope to see you soon!
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Amazing food”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Although it was not the cheapest it was still very good value as the food was great and portions were large.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    84
    25
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
258 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Superb Evening”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The prices appear to be quite high by English standards at least but everyone in my group agreed that it was worth every penny.
I had the Icelandic Lamb which was perfectly cooked and served with a delicious wild mushroom sauce. A generous portion with crisp veg and a little baked potato. It was absolutely gorgeous, but sadly I was far too full to sample the homemade ice cream. Oh well, will just have to persuade my husband that we need to back again.....soon

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank LollypopSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“awful”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

food didn't make sense. service comical. almost like food was premade and then reheated in boiling water.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank talkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Only in Iceland can you have a dining room with huge panoramic windows overlooking an energy plant!! Sounds weird but it works. The food was great,and service top notch. Far better choice than the Lava restaurant attached to the Blue Lagoon in my opinion.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank baconandbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Romantic restaurant”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Wonderful food and a lovely romantic, if space-age like setting. My husband and I would recommend it to anyone, especially mid-week when the guest count is slightly lower.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Max's Restaurant at Northern Light Inn also viewed

Grindavik, Reykjanes Peninsula
Grindavik, Reykjanes Peninsula
 
Grindavik, Reykjanes Peninsula
Grindavik, Reykjanes Peninsula
 
Grindavik, Reykjanes Peninsula
Grindavik, Reykjanes Peninsula
 

Been to Max's Restaurant at Northern Light Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing