We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and a warm, friendly environment”
Review of Salthusid

Salthusid
Ranked #2 of 13 Restaurants in Grindavik
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food and a warm, friendly environment”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

The Salthusid Restaurant is one of our favorite places to eat in Iceland! Located in the seaside town of Grindavik, the owner/chef, Porlakur "Luke", creates delicious meals and really makes his guests feel welcomed. The restaurant is housed in a custom-built log cabin, which is spacious and inviting. On our recent visit, I enjoyed freshly caught halibut, while my husband had lamb steak. The portions are generous and satisfying. There's a quaint little bar in the main lobby and a stage in the main dining room where local talent often performs. We happened to be staying at a local hotel and didn't have a car, but Luke was more than helpful in arranging transportation for us. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening and look forward to returning!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steph P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    111
    15
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
197 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We we stayed at the Blue Lagoon Clinic last week, and we had a wonderful dinner at this restaurant. First we were picked up by the owner, as we didn't have a car. We had a leisurely dinner with great fresh seafood with large portions. Service was very attentive and we were driven back when we were finished. Had we known they were having a band play there that night, we might have gone later for some local entertainment. We almost went back the next night had we been able to move after our in water massages. If your in the area, you must stop here!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ReenPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“NICE RESTAURANT DODGY BACKGROUND MUSIC”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Had dinner on one night in restaurant travelling from Northern Light Inn. Nice warm, clean restaurant. Had a very nice meal which was reasobaly priced and well attended by staff. Only 6 others in restaurant.

The main topic of our conversation was the dodgy background music which if you went there having had a relationship break up would leave you wanting to cut your wrists! Very sad and dour songs.

Would eat there again but would take IPOD just in case

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 11, 2012

The food is amazing, I can't rate this restaurant highly enough. The manager 'borlakur' and staff are very welcoming and helped to make the evening even more enjoyable.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank janm6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious!!”
Reviewed October 23, 2011

The owner provided us with free transportation to and from the Clinic hotel. The food transcended our expectations. Fish prepared with such care and creativity. Afterwards, the chef came out and chatted with us about local fish, the challenges of getting certain kinds, and the joy of cooking. Wonderful experience both in the culinary sense as well as socially!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank travlindot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salthusid also viewed

Grindavik, Reykjanes Peninsula
 
Grindavik, Reykjanes Peninsula
Grindavik, Reykjanes Peninsula
 

Been to Salthusid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing