We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Experience”
Review of Blue Lagoon

Blue Lagoon
Book In Advance
More Info
$124.75*
and up
Blue Lagoon Spa with Roundtrip Transport from Reykjavik
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Grindavik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This geothermal lagoon has a comfortable temperature averaging 104 degrees Fahrenheit (40C) with mineral-rich waters rumored to have curative powers.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Unique Experience”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We organised this trip through Reykjavik Excursions as the entrance fee to the Blue Lagoon was included in the price. We were picked up from our hotel in a mini bus & taken to the bus depot to join the coach. They have an hourly coach so you can chose what time you return to your hotel. We spent the afternoon & evening lazing in the natural hot springs and bathing in geothermal mud rumoured to revitalise the skin. It certainly made my skin feel really soft. Towels and robes are available to hire, and each al fresco pool also comes with views to the chilly lava field that surrounds the area. Bathing suits, towels & robes can be rented on the spot. Included in the entrance fee is a wrist band which gives you access to a locker where you can store all your clothes. When purchasing meals, drinks etc you just show your wrist band which is scanned and you then pay when you are leaving. There is a pool bar where you can purchase drinks and it felt decadent drinking a glass of wine in the hot, steaming water. If you are coming from or going to the airport, you can safely store your luggage while bathing & this costs 500 ISK per bag. Although there are separate showering areas for men & women (which are very clean) many people walk about naked but there are individual shower cubicles with doors for privacy. Shampoo & conditioner is provided in the showers and it is wise to put conditioner on several times as the silica mud does tend to make your hair go hard. I would also recommend taking a pair of flip flops as the ground is freezing before entering the lagoon. All in all we had a fantastic unique experience and would definitely go again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank hyperlocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,956 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,969
    3,244
    1,157
    359
    227
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth it”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We took a trip here on the way back to the Airport as its only 15 mins from the Airport so I would definitely recommend doing it that way plus its also a nice relaxing end to the trip. It is a beautiful spa in a magical location. There are different packages you can have and we just went for the middle of the road one where you get a drink, face pack and dressing gown and towel. It is expensive but definitely an experience not to be missed.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Billy1602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing, expensive, cold, warm..”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The blue lagoon is a must do when in Iceland but as with everything in Iceland (minus the parks) it's a bit pricey. If you think you're going to hang your robe up and come back to it you're kidding yourself-seems to be alot folks that choose not to pay for the robe and just borrow yours.. My only true complaint was I wanted to be able to purchase another beer or 2.. I have to say I've experienced anything quite like the place-pretty cool!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ItAintFlat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“great afternoon out”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Arrived in Iceland on the 31st and went straight to the Blue Lagoon. It's easy to find, but it is not signposted as Blue Lagoon (forgot the name).
It has several prices 35 euro pp upwards. I chose the 60? euro option, and although I didn't use all the services, I still had a great afternoon there.
The staff are friendly - l didn't read the instructions on how to secure the locker, the staff do regular checks and secured it.
The air was very cold, but once you get into the water, you're in heaven... I even applied the silica mud, badly, as did everyone else.
I will go again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“An expensive 'must-do', now done!”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We went on an organised out-of-town excursion arriving as the Blue Lagoon opened and the sun was rising - the snow / lava / weak sunshine and steam off the water made for a very atmospheric setting. After visiting the thermal baths at Laugardals we knew what to expect re. changing facilities - all pretty much state-of-the-art. The team at the Blue Lagoon don't miss a trick and personally welcome you - also offering to take pictures of you in the lagoon and then instantly sending them to your e-mail address. Do make use of the complimentary silica for a face mask and treat yourself to a slush puppy at the swim-up bar. We came out feeling rejuvenated 2hrs later. Expensive - yes, especially when compared with Laugardals. Would I have wanted to miss the experience whilst in Iceland? Definitely not!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ExburyOx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Lagoon also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Blue Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing