We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Lagoon

Blue Lagoon
Book In Advance
More Info
$108.80*
and up
Blue Lagoon Spa with Roundtrip Transport from Reykjavik
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Grindavik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This geothermal lagoon has a comfortable temperature averaging 104 degrees Fahrenheit (40C) with mineral-rich waters rumored to have curative powers.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Magical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

This is one of the most wonderful places I have ever been to. The weather was really cold on that day and windy. From the bus we had to run to the warm reception and I was a bit apprehensive of the whole adventure. However, when we entered the water we could not get out. It was so warm and even hot in places!!! It aslo began snowing so felt a bit unreal. The whole complex is modern and very clean. If I ever go back to Iceland - the Blue Lagoon is on the top of my list to visit again!!!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank yuliya_kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,649
    3,072
    1,106
    340
    215
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful, relaxed end to a 4 day trip on the way to the airport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

We did this on the way to the airport and they make it very easy. Somewhere to stow the luggage and a bus picks you up near the entrance to take you to the airport. Beautiful facilities inside - very well appointed as you expect in Iceland. The lagoon itself is great, a wonderful way to while away an hour or two.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank MhairiFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
356 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 472 helpful votes
“A Battery recharge with a cold beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

The last time we visited the Blue lagoon, it didnt have the bar in it, it was nice to stand and have a cold beer while chilling out in those healing waters. We had kids with us this time too, and they loved it. Its alovely experience walking around the lake with the soft squishy silica underfoot.
I trip to Iceland surely isnt complete without a visit here.
Save some time to visit here on your way to the airport, it really relaxes and refreshes for your flight home.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank stugrmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Sooo relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

Could not see inside the Blue Lagoon from our hotel, just the steam rising. A wonderful relaxing way to start your stay in Iceland.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank flathead53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
369 reviews
173 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Relaxing and fun trip out with beautiful scenary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

The Blue Lagoon is a really nice short and easy trip out from Reykjavik. We just booked the trip with the tourist information office and went that afternoon. They pick up from your hotel and its all very well organised. We took our own towels as they charge extra for them there.

The lagoon itself is lovely outside - it had been snowing and the views of the surrounding area just outside the entrance where just amazing. Inside, all is well organised - once you hand in your ticket, you're given a wrist band which acts as your entrance and your locker key.

The lagoon itself is great fun. The wrist band also acts as a payment for drinks (you settle up when you leave) from the swim up bar. Theres 2 saunas, waterfalls, bridges and sections where you can get mud and rub it over your faces.

All in all its a rather unusual and relaxing trip out. We went about 2 in the afternoon so were there for the sunset at 4.30ish. A great afternoon out.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Poopyscoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Lagoon also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Blue Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing