We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly reasonable - and usefully close to the Blue Lagoon”
Review of Pizzeria Mamma Mia - CLOSED

Pizzeria Mamma Mia
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Perfectly reasonable - and usefully close to the Blue Lagoon”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

If you come out of the Blue Lagoon and are hungry you can go to the BL cafe, but it is expensive. Or you can drive back to Reykjavik, which is a fair distance if you are feeling hungry. Or you can pop down the road to Grindavik, and eat at the Mamma Mia. It isn't much to write home about, but the food is reasonable, and the prices reasonable as well - steak and chips for £12.50. My daughter said that the pizza was good, and the boxed the rest of it up for us and we ate it the next day. So we are glad we went there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonDarjeeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    11
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Value Restaurant in Grindavik.”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My wife and I with my sister and her husband were traveling by car to the Blue Lagoon and made a slight detour to Grindavik to view the fishing fleet. After which we made are way to the Mamma Mia Restaurant. We had we think the best pizza ever with a portion of real chips cooked to perfection, this was matched with very friendly service by our waiter who was also the chef. Many thanks to Poroteinn. Sorry wrong spelling, Icelandic is a little difficult to say the least !

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jhorwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“OK at best”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The pizza was just ok. They were changing from Coke to Pepsi and also their spirits vendor so all the signage and menu's were wrong. It was a Wednesday, but we only saw one other party in the restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Delmov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Great pizza restaurant a short drive from the Blue Lagoon. Made a welcome change from the over priced hotel food. Freshly made to order, traditional tasting pizza. They do take away as well.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ste_ste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mamma Mia-Grindavik”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Grindavik is one of the premier commercial fishing villages in Iceland with large modern cod trawlers docking to off load their catches. Mamma Mia serves many of the local fishermen and the fish plant workers. Nothing fancy, cold beer, pizza, and local fish. Reasonably priced by Iceland standards.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DrMung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria Mamma Mia also viewed

Grindavik, Reykjanes Peninsula
Grindavik, Reykjanes Peninsula
 
Grindavik, Reykjanes Peninsula
Grindavik, Reykjanes Peninsula
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing