We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food!”
Review of Lava Restaurant

Lava Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 13 Restaurants in Grindavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $59
Cuisines: Seafood, Scandinavian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Detroit, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We loved the food and the view while enjoying it! It's a little pricey but well worth the splurge :)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank RonKel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    926
    452
    133
    47
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Arhus, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Buffet was average”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The sushi and salad bar in the buffet was very good but the rest was awful. The meat was rubbery and inedible. I saw some of the prepared meals from the menu at other tables and they looked amazing. I will get that next time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank readgroves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A good address but which does not worth a bend”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Necessarely recommended by the blue lagoon clinic this restaurant was not a disagreeable experience, many flavors as well as the nice presentation.
Dishes are served in small quantity but they have a very good quality.
But there is one negative point, the service which is slow and distant (cold).
There is a judge contrast between cooking and the service.
The ambiance is nice but all the charm of volcanos and the blue lagoon are reduced by the huge dining room (this a personnel filling and you might think something els)
To conclude, a good address but which does not worth a bend

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Revock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrewsbury
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Not too bad, but not as good as it could be.
We had our lunch included in our ticked for the Blue Lagoon. We were allowed to eat in the restaurant with our robes on which surprized me a little! The food could have been better for the price!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jcjimages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“good food with a view of Bláa Lónið”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We spent the better part of the afternoon and evening at the Bláa Lónið and had lunch here. I had the buffet and my wife enjoyed a three course menu. I like buffets since you can sample a variety of things and while I am not a sushi person, the other diners seemed to enjoy that. My salad was tasty, and I tasted a variety of meats (lamb and fish) and veggie dishes. No dessert option on the buffet by my wife shared hers.

At Blue Lagoon you have two choices: Lava and a sandwich place. Given the prices, Lava stand out as a choice and there is a package deal that includes meals with entrance to the lagoon, although we did the day ala carte.

Several of the diners, at least at lunch enjoyed their meal in robes, but that just adds to the experience.

Others noted poor service, but it was fine for us!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RecRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lava Restaurant also viewed

Grindavik, Reykjanes Peninsula
Grindavik, Reykjanes Peninsula
 
Svartsengi, Reykjanes Peninsula
 

Been to Lava Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing