We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic! Do not rush it!”
Review of Lava Restaurant

Lava Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 12 Restaurants in Grindavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $56
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
208 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Fantastic! Do not rush it!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We chose Lava for our final Iceland dinner, after a day blissfully soaking in the Blue Lagoon. However, we didn't anticipate the European pacing of dinner (we had a 9pm appointment elsewhere, and went in to dinner at 7, thinking 90 minutes would be sufficient.) It became apparent one hour in, that this was a place to have a long, leisurely dinner, enjoying the excellent food & wine, and the other-worldly view of the steaming lagoon at dusk, right outside the windows. Even though we chose that night's 3-course preset dinner, we still had to rush, and eventually had to ask (before the entrees arrived) for our desserts to-go. What a pity---everything was quite delicious and artfully prepared and presented... amazing langostines! We probably should have chosen the bistro next door for a quicker meal, had we realized we didn't have adequate time, but I have no regrets about the delicious food we enjoyed at Lava---only that we had to rush due to our own timeframe. Give it at least 2.5 hours for dinner! (The chocolate ganache dessert, later back at the hotel, was sensational!)

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    874
    420
    128
    47
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lunch buffet was lovely and great for kids”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The kids really enjoyed the restaurant sitting in their bathrobes and being able to pick and choose what they wanted to eat. The adults enjoyed the sushi and roast dishes, plus the atmosphere was lovely. Since the children were only half price and free, it became a very decent price for the meal. All food in Iceland is very expensive and this a highlight.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MomDadandBlueberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukilteo, Washington
Level Contributor
94 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A seafood smorgasbord”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

That was the best part, and who doesn't love sushi for lunch?We only had the option of the buffet for lunch (it's a seasonal thing) and the food was very good, but the overall price was a bit much.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ems1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent service but food not on par”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The restaurant is nicely located in front of he lagoon, and the setting is nice and elegant. We were impressed by the courtesy, professional skills and warmth of the personnel (at least those who attended us) but food was pretty average: fish soup was too salty, char was average (although ingredients seemed to be of good quality). A good dining option if you spend the day at the lagoon (they start serving dinner as of 17:00) but do not plan a visit for the restaurant alone.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Bounteous langoustine and good wine”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Honestly, after a day of soaking in the Blue Lagoon (and we were fortunate to have booked the exclusive lounge), they probably could have served us dog food and we would have been content. BUT I ordered the langoustine AND WOW - it was fabulous and the Lava kitchen was very generous with the quantity. Dinner was delicious - and 3 out of 4 of us ordered different entrees and we were all very pleased with our dinners. The waitress was lovely and the wine list ample. Really, I have nothing but good things to say about this meal, which was memorable and, of course, looked out on the lagoon, which we learned was a happy accident but is also a marvel.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GAIL T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lava Restaurant also viewed

Grindavik, Reykjanes Peninsula
Grindavik, Reykjanes Peninsula
 
Svartsengi, Reykjanes Peninsula
 

Been to Lava Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing