We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lava Restaurant

Lava Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 12 Restaurants in Grindavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $54
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

This was one of the cheaper restaurants we ate at during our time to iceland and were expecting a more basic affair especially as this was at a tourist attraction. However what we found was really good food, a great setting, good service and good value (for Iceland, its an expensive country!).

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank istanbultrip059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    850
    416
    128
    46
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
193 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“The finishing touch to your visit to the Blue Lagoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

We were spending the day at The Blue Lagoon and decided to book lunch at the Lava restaurant, great choice the food was outstanding and reasonably priced, it was that good if it had been closer to Reykjavic we would have gone back in the evening. You can order any combination of starters or main meals to share, We just wore the robes having been in the lagoon in the morning, however you must wear shoes to entert the restuarant and the payment tag does not work in here you must pay with cash or acard lucky for me they let me go back before I left to pay.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DriverCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, NY
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Astonishingly excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

I did not expect one of only 2 dining options at a major tourist attraction (The Blue Lagoon) to be so good. The creative presentations - the quality and freshness of the food - the interesting menu - we were very happy to have made a reservation here for our first dinner in Iceland. So happy, in fact, that we returned for our last dinner here too - and were equally delighted. Lovely service too, and spectacular location/view! Save room for dessert and choose the Mexican chocolate dream dish (with the mojito sorbet.) This was the first of many lovely surprises on one of the best trips we have ever taken!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ZoeChloe827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
136 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Superb fish dishes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

We booked a few weeks in advance and were given a table directly overlooking the thermal pools. When night falls, there are the most amazing colours and reflections, as the dining room's lighting is designed to make the most of the almost alien view outside. And the restaurant itself is carved out of the lava, so no shortage of visual interest.

Choose the fish dishes! (We still can't understand why Lava bothers to put curry or spring rolls on the menu when their fish is so good)

Creative dishes, fabulous tastes, beautifully presented. Catch of the day was a perfect piece of cod. We also had the langoustines, a beautiful fish soup (bisque) and the smoked duck (ok, so that's not fish) which was literally smoking when it arrived. And pudding was divine - the most intense chocolate mousse with a mojito sorbet.

The dining room was large, and I can imagine that during peak season the ambience and perhaps the cooking may not be as good?

But it was one of the two best meals we had in Iceland, and we'd certainly have dinner here again.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DH76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“lovely food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Obviously has great views of the blue lagoon - which makes this a unique experience. My friend an i went here after at a day at the spa and didnt really have alot of time to spend there. Food was good - we ordered off the lunch menu and had a steak sandwich. Friendly staff - would try again.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lava Restaurant also viewed

Grindavik, Reykjanes Peninsula
Grindavik, Reykjanes Peninsula
 
Svartsengi, Reykjanes Peninsula
 

Been to Lava Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing