We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Fresh Food”
Review of Lava Restaurant

Lava Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 13 Restaurants in Grindavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $58
Cuisines: Seafood, Scandinavian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb Fresh Food”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Again we have never had a bad meal here over the years we have been going. Well presented and good healthy food.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    910
    444
    132
    47
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sandgerdi, Iceland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Restaurant carved in lava field!”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Best place to have dinner after whole day in lagoon.Restaurant er carved in lava field and you have fantastic view on the lagoon. Local icelandic food, friendly staff.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank dam5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Good food but limited choices”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Comfortable place to eat after the blue lagoon. There is also a vegetarian option which is rare in Iceland. Choices are limited.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Arun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linkoping, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing food & athmosphere”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

A bit pricey, but everything was excellent. We tried a little bit of everything; the duck, the ox, the fish dishes and had our own "tasting menu", and I'd recommend anything on the menu (except the kids hamburger).

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank skimbaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Great food, Great service”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We had dinner there on one of Iceland's holidays, Women's day, and it was packed, good thing we had a reservation. The restaurant was closed the night before for a party for their employees and we had a sneak peak at the entertainment while they practiced, and it was awesome! I felt like I had been given a treat, a local rock band performing with a men's group. I've been told all employers in Iceland have something for their employees. We jokingly tried to get hired on the spot so we could go the festival! But we did eat there the next night, and had a great meal. We had the specials with appetizers and a half bottle of wine. The service was friendly, and we could tell our waitress spoke some English, but wasn't fluent, so maybe that's what others take as unfriendly? The meal was not cheap,but we would have paid the same at a fine restaurant at home, so we totally enjoyed ourselves.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReenPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lava Restaurant also viewed

Grindavik, Reykjanes Peninsula
Grindavik, Reykjanes Peninsula
 
Svartsengi, Reykjanes Peninsula
 
Grindavik, Reykjanes Peninsula
 

Been to Lava Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing