We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great stay - close to many hot spots”
other travelers have booked this property
Northern Lights over Viking Villa (photo by Nick M, Nov 13)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Northern Lights over Viking Villa (photo by Nick M, Nov 13)
Welcome to Viking Log Home, 1 bed fully equipped apartment on ground floor :-) Masterbedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Northern Lights over Viking Villa (photo by Nick M, Nov 13)
Welcome to Viking Log Home, 1 bed fully equipped apartment on ground floor :-)
Masterbedroom
Fully equipped kitchen
Dining area for 6 people
Bright and roomy living area.
Kitchen seen from dining area
Masterbedroom - seen from the window corner
Comfortable sofa bed in the living room 140cm
Bathroom with a shower, washer/dryer, a hair dryer and a hair straightener
Sister houses;  Viking Villa (3 beds) on the left and Viking Log Home (1 bed) on the right
Viking Log Home 1 bed ground floor apartment. Fully equipped in August 2013
Maggnus Viking and son Hjalti Robin Viking are building an enormous veranda around the house
The deck under construction in August 2013
Planting trees, Viking Villas in the back
Gullfoss is 15 minutes drive away
Geysir is 15 minutes drive away
Þingvellir is 30 minutes drive away
Iceland is a volcano island
Flying in a private airplane in the mist of Gullfoss, available to all our guests
Aurora Borealis, the northern lights, can be seen on dark clear sky
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Fludir, South Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
ReneK118
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay - close to many hot spots”
Reviewed October 4, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We had a great stay in the viking villa. The accommodation is spacious, clean, well equipped and well located. As you have the whole house for your self, we were lucky to watch the northern lights by walking around and finding good spots to take photographs.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry C
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“So why Iceland in Autumn?”
Reviewed October 12, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

So why Iceland in Autumn? a really good question with out a good answer to begin with. It started with an off the cuff comment, "I want to stay in a log cabin" and one internet search later, we found it in Iceland. We originally chose the trip because of the accommodation, and my did that turn out to be a good choice. The Villa is superb! Maggnus and Inga have built a stunning house with everything you could hope for, it's supremely well built but it feels like a home you could live in, The space inside for 2 people felt very luxurious, the bed which can sometimes let accommodation down was excellent, and as a base to explore and discover this wonderful island it couldn't have been better. We made use of Maggnus's friend Jo, who took us up into the interior in his super Jeep. Be warned it's a bit rugged but well worth it to stand on a Glacier and see the landscape untamed. Jo was also very friendly and spoke eloquently about his country and answered all of our questions patiently. We did the usual golden circle tour, and other than feeling like a couple of tourists, this was excellent, we also used the local supermarket, and there is lots of fresh fruit and veg available direct from the local suppliers in town, pick what you want and leave the money in the "honesty box". We found the local spa, well worth a visit and also one of the local restaurants Mika was also excellent. But it's the island itself that entices you, when the very changeable weather decides to play, this place lights up literally and glows in the sunshine. We decided to take a trip to Jokulsarlon, and the island woke up to bright sunshine all day, it's a very long drive, but almost every corner revealed something different, in the end Iceland put on it's Sunday best for us, on a day I don't think we will forget for a long time. Finally we were luck enough to see the Northern Lights at there very best, be warned when they dance and show off they will amaze and beguile you, I used up a set of batteries that evening just trying to get 1 good photo!

So back to my original question, why Iceland in Autumn? it turned out to be a very happy accident, and I wouldn't hesitate to tell you to visit this wonderful place, and as a base to start from you couldn't wish for more than use this villa, the place and people are beguiling, we will be back at some point, we haven't finished with Iceland yet!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detlef A
1 review
“Cosy accomodation in the middle of the golden circle”
Reviewed August 18, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a wonderful vacation in Villa Viking II. The accomodation was clean and cosy. It contains all you need. Inga and Maggnus are very nice and hospitable people. They gave us useful hints for our sight seeing trips. Once a week we got fresh towels and some eggs out of their own henhouse.

Fludir is perfect for explorations to Gullfoss waterfall, Thingvellir and Geysir. The south coast is even reachable in 1 h by car.

@Inga and Maggnus: thank you very much for all! Maybe one day we come back...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall impression of the house and the surrounding area
Liked least: No german tv channels
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cygnet24
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful villa, perfect location and wonderful, welcoming hosts!”
Reviewed April 22, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The Villa exceeded all our expectations. Warm and cosy with fabulously comfortable beds - all in a superb location for exploring some of Iceland`s natural wonders. We had everything we needed for our stay..including eggs from the chickens! Although we had snow for most of the week, we still managed to get to most of the sights including Gulfoss and Geyser. We met some lovely, friendly folk on our travels but none more entertaining than our hosts Magnnus and Inga. Thank you to you both for taking the time to brief us on some of Iceland`s history.
To round off our stay we were treated to a Northern Lights display...absolutely magical...
Looking forward to our return visit...with a better car!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Villa was just perfect! Location, view and comfort.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
332debora...
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best holiday we've ever had”
Reviewed April 7, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Viking Villa near Fludir is the best holiday property we have ever stayed in. It is clean, comfortable, has everything you could need, and Magnus and Inga are the best of hosts. Our welcome was second to none. This property is perfectly situated for glaciers and geysirs, the Golden Circle, south coast towns and villages, and not too distant from Reykjavik, Keflavik airport and the Blue Lagoon. Iceland is a beautiful country and Viking Villa is the best place to stay to enjoy it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelled...
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic rental, perfect hosts.”
Reviewed March 26, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Wonderful location, everything you could possibly want in a home from home including a great coffee machine. Bed was really comfortable, kitchen well equipped and seating/dining area also really comfortable plus the views from the villa were lovely.
Maggnus was extremely helpful and even phoned to make sure we were OK when the weather changed for the worse, the lovely bunch of roses was also much appreciated.
We had a lovely relaxing time and the local supermarket had everything we needed with an off licence next door.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janmeents
Klettgau, Germany
1 review
“Wonderful stay in beautiful Iceland”
Reviewed November 15, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We spent our summer vacation with our three boys aged 1, 3 and 6 in the appartement and we just loved our stay! We just had everything there. We've never seen such a well equipped holiday home before and we felt more than welcome. The host arranged horseback riding when we asked him for, made suggestions for trips and he invited us over for his Vestmannahelgi Bonfire. The location of the house is just perfect to see some of Iceland's main attractions such as the Gulfoss Waterfall, the great Geysir or Thingvellir National Park.
Our boys are still talking a lot about Iceland and our wonderful stay and we hope we'll be back some day. We highly recommend to book this holiday home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing