We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful spot off the beaten path” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guesthouse at Mjoeyri

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Guesthouse at Mjoeyri
Ranked #1 of 3 Eskifjordur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Beautiful spot off the beaten path”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

This place offered an amazing experience just off the beaten path. We had no reservation, but chose to drive here rather than stay in Reyðarfjörður. We arrived to find a note on the door with a phone number to call. After a rather interesting experience making the call (another story...), we met Saevar a few minutes later back at the Guesthouse. He showed us the room and gave us the prices. Average prices for guesthouse accommodation, but an above average location. We had dinner at Randulf´s sjóhús and then returned to our quiet and clean room to relax. In the morning we used the boat hot-tub in the sunshine, a perfect way to start the day. We joined 2 other couples in the dining room to eat, and had good conversations with them as well as with Berglind about everything from reindeer hunting ethics to where we were all going next. They went out of their way to make our experience a good one, in an outstanding location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    11
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
34
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed in the cottage - which is nice but the ladder to the second floor where the beds are is hard to climb - our voucher included breakfast and the owner did not like it and checked and rechecked the voucher as if it was the first time he saw it.

The location is great on the fjord in a peaceful surrounding.

The wifi coverage is low in the cottages

The breakfast was basic and simple and it was not served in a friendly manner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zevsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Literally situated on the furtherest point of land in Eskifjordur, this place has the sea at their doorstep. Such a wonderful place, with cosy cabins, a boat jacuzzi overlooking the water, indoor sauna and incredible hosts. Fully functional kitchen and heaters throughout, this is one of the best places we've ever stayed in, and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachelle313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the guesthouse for two nights and loved it. The location is perfect - away from the village but in driving distance to lots of amazing views in the fjords. The room was clean and comfortable and had solid wifi. We even saw a minke whale while standing on the grass across the bay! We immediately started planning a return trip to stay in one of the cottages.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We were 14 traveling in the Gerpir area and knew of the Mjóeyri guesthouse and guides. We spent 4 marvellous days in their company. They supplied us with acommodation in guesthouses or farms on the way,excellent guidence through the area and food,cooked and served by the cook! This is the greatest luxury I have experienced on my hikes. And we all agree! Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gudrun T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavík
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We were a group of 14 people that went on a hiking tour for 4 days guided by Sævar from Mjóeyri. I can highly recommend both the hiking tour and the stay at Mjóeyri. The owners Sævar and Berglind are grate hosts, the facilities are beautiful and they have a great cook at the Randolfshús. The atmosphere of the old seaman’s house „Randolfshús“, is unique where you can dine in between the old fisherman’s equipment. And I recommend swimming in the 8°C sea at Mjóeyri, and afterwards relax in the hot top massage boat. Don´t miss this place if you are travelling to Eskifjörður.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doppottur-Langsokkur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were very lucky by choosing any of our accomotation in Iceland, but i have to say that Mjoeyri gesthouse was really special. An amazing place to stay! Mrs. Berlind and her husband were very friendly, heplfull, patient.. I remmeber, that Mr. Berlind woke up us at 2am to see the Northern lights, he stayed with us for a while and gave us some advices about the right time and conditions to see the Northern lights again. And what is the best, you can observe it right from the jacuzzi, what is pretty cool :-)
Dont miss this charming place on your way...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BonaFortuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eskifjordur
13.9 mi away
Hotel Aldan
Hotel Aldan
#1 of 2 in Seydisfjordur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
9.1 mi away
Fosshotel Eastfjords
Fosshotel Eastfjords
#1 of 1 in Faskrudsfjordur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Eskifjordur
Hotel Eskifjordur
#1 of 3 in Eskifjordur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Herad
Icelandair Hotel Herad
#2 of 5 in Egilsstadir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Apartments
Hotel Apartments
#2 of 3 in Eskifjordur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
7.0 mi away
Taergesen
Taergesen
#1 of 2 in Reydarfjordur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse at Mjoeyri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse at Mjoeyri

Property: Guesthouse at Mjoeyri
Address: Starndgotu 120, Eskifjordur 735, Iceland
Location: Iceland > East Region > Eskifjordur
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Eskifjordur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Guesthouse at Mjoeyri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing