We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect retreat in the east fjords”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Guesthouse at Mjoeyri
Ranked #1 of 3 Eskifjordur B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect retreat in the east fjords”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the guesthouse for two nights and loved it. The location is perfect - away from the village but in driving distance to lots of amazing views in the fjords. The room was clean and comfortable and had solid wifi. We even saw a minke whale while standing on the grass across the bay! We immediately started planning a return trip to stay in one of the cottages.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    11
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
35
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We were 14 traveling in the Gerpir area and knew of the Mjóeyri guesthouse and guides. We spent 4 marvellous days in their company. They supplied us with acommodation in guesthouses or farms on the way,excellent guidence through the area and food,cooked and served by the cook! This is the greatest luxury I have experienced on my hikes. And we all agree! Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gudrun T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavík
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We were a group of 14 people that went on a hiking tour for 4 days guided by Sævar from Mjóeyri. I can highly recommend both the hiking tour and the stay at Mjóeyri. The owners Sævar and Berglind are grate hosts, the facilities are beautiful and they have a great cook at the Randolfshús. The atmosphere of the old seaman’s house „Randolfshús“, is unique where you can dine in between the old fisherman’s equipment. And I recommend swimming in the 8°C sea at Mjóeyri, and afterwards relax in the hot top massage boat. Don´t miss this place if you are travelling to Eskifjörður.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doppottur-Langsokkur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were very lucky by choosing any of our accomotation in Iceland, but i have to say that Mjoeyri gesthouse was really special. An amazing place to stay! Mrs. Berlind and her husband were very friendly, heplfull, patient.. I remmeber, that Mr. Berlind woke up us at 2am to see the Northern lights, he stayed with us for a while and gave us some advices about the right time and conditions to see the Northern lights again. And what is the best, you can observe it right from the jacuzzi, what is pretty cool :-)
Dont miss this charming place on your way...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonaFortuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishpon, Israel
Level Contributor
114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We, a family of four - the parents and two adult (25, 21 years old) stayed at Mjoeyri guesthouse for one night only, sorry to say, during the start of May. This was definitely one of our best stay in Iceland, maybe the best, and we surly picked the very best accommodations in Iceland. First, Mrs. Steina Berglind and her husband gave us the very best treat, they were patient, warm, amiable, informative and ....see the end. The location is second to none - on the tip of the fjord, almost on the water, with the little lighthouse nearby. See pictures in their site, they don't lie, maybe the opposite where the view is definitely stunning, and the nearby little village is charming. The huts are very comfortable, although a little condensed for a family of four, but are cozy, warm (it was still freezing in May), and well equipped. AND - that is where I tried the Hakrl (the rotten shark), a must in Iceland, together with Brenivin, which was a great experience for me, especially for the Hakrl, and the Brenivin, for a guy who is not used to alcohol. Tips: (a) Don't miss a visit or a meal in the restaurant there, the place is extraordinary and full of tradition. (b) Go there any time, but I guess you should book well in advance in July or August. (c) The guesthouse is located in the far south of the village. (d) Don't also miss a visit to the caves south to the guesthouse. Sure you can make it by yourself. The owners are very kind and they will give you the appropriate equipment and instructions, free. (e) you may use the boat-like hot tub even in einter! Don't ever dare to miss a stay at Mjoeyri.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamir_Caspi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

What an unforgettable stay we had in one of these lovely cabins by the bay... Everything was perfect, from the location to the hosts, the decoration and facilities. We enjoyed a nice drink in the jacuzzi and used the sauna before cooling ourselves in the sea. Our only regret is to have spent only one night in this northern paradise !

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had a one night stay here on our driving holiday to Iceland in May 2013....but unfortunately we were on the wrong side of the weather and could not enjoy the location much. The setting is amazing but it was extremely windy, cold and some snow fall too. Getting out of the cottage and not getting blown away was a major fear.....our 4X4 parked outside the cottage was shaking due to the strong winds....the cottages were nice and clean with private sleeping space for 2 couples on the upper floor. We were tense as some of the roads leading to Akureyeri had experienced snowfall and were on the verge of being closed. Wifi inside the cottages was good, Berglind was of great help and gave us an update on the conditions and some practical driving tips on snow (we dont get any snow in Mumbai / India)...we had some sunshine the next morning but since we were in a hurry to leave so as to reach safely to our next destination...we did not use the hot tub (in a converted boat) and the sauna....would certainly want to visit again.....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmahesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eskifjordur
9.2 mi away
Fosshotel Eastfjords
Fosshotel Eastfjords
#1 of 1 in Faskrudsfjordur
208 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hildibrand Hotel
Hildibrand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Neskaupstadur
71 reviews
22.0 mi away
Hotel Hallormsstadur
Hotel Hallormsstadur
#1 of 1 in Hallormsstadur
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Gistihusio Egilsstooum
Gistihusio Egilsstooum
#1 of 5 in Egilsstadir
254 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hotel Aldan
Hotel Aldan
#1 of 2 in Seydisfjordur
262 reviews
7.0 mi away
Taergesen
Taergesen
#1 of 2 in Reydarfjordur
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse at Mjoeyri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse at Mjoeyri

Property: Guesthouse at Mjoeyri
Address: Starndgotu 120, Eskifjordur 735, Iceland
Location: Iceland > East Region > Eskifjordur
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Eskifjordur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Guesthouse at Mjoeyri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing