We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable and magical place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Guesthouse at Mjoeyri
Ranked #1 of 3 Eskifjordur B&B and Inns
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unforgettable and magical place to stay”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were very lucky by choosing any of our accomotation in Iceland, but i have to say that Mjoeyri gesthouse was really special. An amazing place to stay! Mrs. Berlind and her husband were very friendly, heplfull, patient.. I remmeber, that Mr. Berlind woke up us at 2am to see the Northern lights, he stayed with us for a while and gave us some advices about the right time and conditions to see the Northern lights again. And what is the best, you can observe it right from the jacuzzi, what is pretty cool :-)
Dont miss this charming place on your way...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonaFortuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    12
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
37
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rishpon, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We, a family of four - the parents and two adult (25, 21 years old) stayed at Mjoeyri guesthouse for one night only, sorry to say, during the start of May. This was definitely one of our best stay in Iceland, maybe the best, and we surly picked the very best accommodations in Iceland. First, Mrs. Steina Berglind and her husband gave us the very best treat, they were patient, warm, amiable, informative and ....see the end. The location is second to none - on the tip of the fjord, almost on the water, with the little lighthouse nearby. See pictures in their site, they don't lie, maybe the opposite where the view is definitely stunning, and the nearby little village is charming. The huts are very comfortable, although a little condensed for a family of four, but are cozy, warm (it was still freezing in May), and well equipped. AND - that is where I tried the Hakrl (the rotten shark), a must in Iceland, together with Brenivin, which was a great experience for me, especially for the Hakrl, and the Brenivin, for a guy who is not used to alcohol. Tips: (a) Don't miss a visit or a meal in the restaurant there, the place is extraordinary and full of tradition. (b) Go there any time, but I guess you should book well in advance in July or August. (c) The guesthouse is located in the far south of the village. (d) Don't also miss a visit to the caves south to the guesthouse. Sure you can make it by yourself. The owners are very kind and they will give you the appropriate equipment and instructions, free. (e) you may use the boat-like hot tub even in einter! Don't ever dare to miss a stay at Mjoeyri.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamir_Caspi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

What an unforgettable stay we had in one of these lovely cabins by the bay... Everything was perfect, from the location to the hosts, the decoration and facilities. We enjoyed a nice drink in the jacuzzi and used the sauna before cooling ourselves in the sea. Our only regret is to have spent only one night in this northern paradise !

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had a one night stay here on our driving holiday to Iceland in May 2013....but unfortunately we were on the wrong side of the weather and could not enjoy the location much. The setting is amazing but it was extremely windy, cold and some snow fall too. Getting out of the cottage and not getting blown away was a major fear.....our 4X4 parked outside the cottage was shaking due to the strong winds....the cottages were nice and clean with private sleeping space for 2 couples on the upper floor. We were tense as some of the roads leading to Akureyeri had experienced snowfall and were on the verge of being closed. Wifi inside the cottages was good, Berglind was of great help and gave us an update on the conditions and some practical driving tips on snow (we dont get any snow in Mumbai / India)...we had some sunshine the next morning but since we were in a hurry to leave so as to reach safely to our next destination...we did not use the hot tub (in a converted boat) and the sauna....would certainly want to visit again.....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmahesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed in one of the private cottages for a night on our honeymoon. It was absolutely fantastic. The views of the fjord and mountains were just lovely and there was even a baby artic fox living underneath our cabin! We also really enjoyed the old boat converted to a hot tub. can't recommend Mjoeyri highly enough!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2012

You get a warm welcome from the helpful people at Mjóeyri. I like it so much I've returned 5 times. The lodges are clean and comfortable with everything you need. They are good value for groups of three or more. The rooms and sleeping bag accommodation above the house are a clean and simple alternative for those on a limited budget. The setting is beautiful, with mountains and bird watching on the doorstep. As the Mjóeyri website says, there are lots of activities in the area, many from Mjóeyri itself. Others are a short drive so a car is useful, but not essential - you can walk to the 1,000m Svartafjall straight from the house. The highlight of hiking in the area is walking week in June each year. Mjóeyri is situated on the edge of the small town of Eskifjörður, which has a shop and ATM, a couple of places to eat, with Randulffssjóhús serving excellent Icelandic dishes, and a swimming pool.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in one of the summerhouses for a week, well fitted and although compact it was warm and cozy. Absolutely stunning location with converted boat/ hot tub and sauna well worth using. Berglind made us very welcome with plenty of advice on what to see and do. They had a small arctic fox cub being looked after who visited daily for scraps. Dolphins swam within 50 metres of the quiet beach, you could even hear them taking breaths. Mackerel shoaled on the beach daily. Took one of their small boats out and hired everything went jigging and caught some good cod and haddock. Cabins were very warm at night with geothermal heated radiators within. Had a brillient week, highly recommend for a quiet break or as a base to explore the east.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thebigfella52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eskifjordur
9.2 mi away
Fosshotel Eastfjords
Fosshotel Eastfjords
#1 of 1 in Faskrudsfjordur
233 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hildibrand Hotel
Hildibrand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Neskaupstadur
77 reviews
22.0 mi away
Hotel Hallormsstadur
Hotel Hallormsstadur
#1 of 1 in Hallormsstadur
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Herad
Icelandair Hotel Herad
#2 of 5 in Egilsstadir
333 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hotel Aldan
Hotel Aldan
#1 of 2 in Seydisfjordur
271 reviews
7.0 mi away
Taergesen
Taergesen
#1 of 2 in Reydarfjordur
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse at Mjoeyri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse at Mjoeyri

Property: Guesthouse at Mjoeyri
Address: Starndgotu 120, Eskifjordur 735, Iceland
Location: Iceland > East Region > Eskifjordur
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Eskifjordur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Guesthouse at Mjoeyri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing