We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Guesthouse at Mjoeyri
Ranked #1 of 3 Eskifjordur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome place to stay!”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The people are extremely helpful and the place is a wonderland. The most beautiful place to stay in Eskifjordur and if you want to know anything about the area and beyond you just ask Berglind and Saevar (the owners) and they are always ready to help, full of useful... and not so useful but fun facts and knowledge.

I have stayed there often and enjoyed it thoroughly every time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjarniellertisleifss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    11
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
35
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed at Mjóeyri during the local walking week in June 2012, staying in one of the wooden lodges. The lodges are well equipped, clean and comfortable. As well as your own accommodation, you can use the sauna and hot-tub, which was great on tired muscles after being out all day walking. The location of Mjóeyri is very beautiful - just beyond the town and next to the fjord surrounded by mountains. The owners, Saevar and Berglind, are very welcoming, helpful and kind - happy to suggest and help with trips or activities if you want. We also ate at Randulffssjóhús, just back up the road towards Eskifjörður- the restaurant, an interesting old shore house, has excellent local food, as well as a relaxed atmosphere. We had a fantastic stay at Mjóeyri and certainly hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLea013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Very nice cottages located on a fjord, around 15 min walking distance from the city. The welcome was very warm and the service was excellent. We stayed at the main house, in the first floor. The rooms were nice and clean. There was a small lounge with a sofa and shared bathroom for all the rooms of the floor. Outside, in the garden there is a boat transformed to a jacuzzi and when we stayed there was also a small arctic fox that was being treated by the owners, because it had a hurt leg. We had dinner at Randulffs-sjohus (Randulf´s sea-house), a very nice restaurant-museum, also operated by the owners. Overall, a suggested place to stay in eastern Iceland.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrazyTourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hafnarfjordur, Iceland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Got great service, very personal and invigorating. Went with them to the Iceland-spar mine, went fishing and had a great dinner. The best recreation my workplace has ever done. I can recommend the place for all workplaces. The fjord is also beautiful and worth visiting. The owners served us themselves, they were very entertaining.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tobbitenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Although they were not expecting anyonw (we turned up mid week, late evening, off season) we were very well received, given a choice of room, restaurant options. We were in the main house, upstairs. It's nicely decorated, the rooms are arranged around a comfy lounge with sofas and TV, a mini kitchen, a large bathroom. The rooms are confortable, warm and clean. the best part was definitely the staff. We were very well recived, given advices on things to see, to do, where to eat, etc.
They have a boat full of heated water to bathe, but we didn't see it when we arrived, we would have loved to try it otherwise.
It is located quite out of the way, but it's part of the beauty of the place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hey_joh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
97 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

These cottages were very nice sitting directly out on a fjord but a warning is that due to the location, it gets very cold and windy - perhaps it's not as cold in July/August, we were there early September. The heaters in the cottage didn't work that well and we were pretty bundled up while inside the cottage to keep warm. The cottages are 2 levels with lovely views. The furniture could use some updating and the kitchen chairs could definitely be replaced.

There is a wonderful hot pot (with a jacuzzi jet!) in an old boat - that the owners creatively converted into a hot pot. That was quite lovely on the cold days.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay but the heaters not working properly should be addressed.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 4EverTraveler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eskifjordur
9.2 mi away
Fosshotel Eastfjords
Fosshotel Eastfjords
#1 of 1 in Faskrudsfjordur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hotel Aldan
Hotel Aldan
#1 of 2 in Seydisfjordur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Eskifjordur
Hotel Eskifjordur
#1 of 3 in Eskifjordur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Guesthouse Askja
Guesthouse Askja
#2 of 3 in Eskifjordur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
7.0 mi away
Taergesen
Taergesen
#1 of 2 in Reydarfjordur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Apartments
Hotel Apartments
#2 of 3 in Eskifjordur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse at Mjoeyri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse at Mjoeyri

Property: Guesthouse at Mjoeyri
Address: Starndgotu 120, Eskifjordur 735, Iceland
Location: Iceland > East Region > Eskifjordur
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Eskifjordur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Guesthouse at Mjoeyri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing