We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Springfield
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Florence, Kentucky
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2007

The Courtyard is a very nice hotel if you need a spot on the west side of Springfield. It's location is very convenient to west end shopping and businesses. The hotel is kept up to the standards of Marriott and quite comfortable. My only complaint is one that the management can't fix. It is very shoddily constructed and thus every footstep overhead is heard and felt. Why oh why chains like Courtyard and Fairfield continue to construct multi-story hotels out of lumber I cannot understand. I'm surprised the fire code allows it for one, but there are so many superior construction methods that cost very little extra and provide substantiality to the building. My hope is that Marriott would consider this in their future properties. They have a great product, it just lacks a quality framework.

  • Liked — Good Location, Comfortable and Clean
  • Disliked — Frame Construction meant noises that would not be present in better constructed building.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank flynomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    50
    25
    2
    2
See reviews for
33
30
6
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2007

Our family stayed here while visiting the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Museum. The hotel is in a convenient location and there are lots of restaurants close by. We had the suite and it was huge and had a sliding door that opened out onto a large grassy area. The room was clean and comfortable. The property is a typical Courtyard by Marriott decor wise. The staff was amazing-they were so friendly and helpful and cheerful. It had a homey feel to it. The pool was good and the kids liked the hotel.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank maverickmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2007

The Marriott Courtyard was located in a convenient location near to the Springfield Mall (White Oaks, I believe). It is a great location for the number of restaurants and businesses nearby. The staff was extremely friendly, room was in good and clean condition, and the furnishings were typical of a Marriott Courtyard. Don't expect anything fancy, just the amenities needed by a business traveler. Overall, a pretty good value for a short stay.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dwbrouwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2006

For those of you that frequent Marriott-brand hotels like I do for work, you will find this hotel meets or exceeds the standard Marriott has for Courtyard hotels.

...and yes, this place is functioning again after the tornado of March 2006. (I have been trying to stay here for a while, but could not util July.)

This review is based on a four-night stay in July 2006. This hotel features:
- pool, hot tub, and exercise room.
- breakfast area (eggs to order, sausages, hash browns, bacon, waffles, patrioes, cereals, juices, muffins, donuts, fruit, milks, etc.) ranging from $5.95 for continental buffet to $7.95 for full buffet.
- rooms with the upgraded Marriott linens.
- lots of TV channels (if that is what you are interested in).
- wireless hi-speed Internet access only (so if you don't have a wi-fi card, you will need one here).
- larger, bright bathrooms than most Courtyards, and it features a curved shower bar.
- and it is on the edge of all shopping and restaurants - good location. Also close to the freeway entrance to Decataur or Jacksonville.
- room rate was $129 USD per night.


Overall, I would recommend this hotel. The service was on par, the rooms and amenities were good, there was sufficient parking (despite sharing it with the Sleep Inn next door, and having sold out because of the National High School Rodeo Competition in-town), and it is close to everything one would want in Springfield.

Given the room rate though, I wonder if more value could be found by staying at the Springhill Suites (another Marriott-chain brand) next door, which is being renovated after tornado, and offers free breakfasts...

  • Liked — Proximity to shopping and restaurants, cleanliness, service, decent room.
  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Canada_Turtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Clinton, Ohio
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2006

i have stayed here 2 times in the last 6 months. my children live in springfield and when i visit this is the place to stay. nice clean room, pool, breakfast and a computer in the lobby. very friendly staff as well. i'll be back

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cardog57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2003

I have stayed at this hotel since 1996. The management and staff are very friendly and help make this hotel a home from home place to stay.
You get the sense that the management and staff really love their job.
There is no other place I would stay in Springfield.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2002

My two daughters, ages 16 and 21, have stayed at the Courtyard Inn numerous times. It's warm, cozy and the rooms are large and comfortable. We've tried other places, but always go back there. Both Courtyard Inns in Springfield are near restaurants, but we prefer the one on Freedom Drive which is across from shopping malls. I especially like the closeness of my favorite place, Barnes & Noble. The staff is always pleasant and helpful and I like the availability of coffee and tea anytime in the lobby. The pool is very cozy and it's quiet in the CYI...you can always get a great night's sleep.
Jane Staley Parman

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Springfield
Fairfield Inn Springfield
#22 of 38 in Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites South
Staybridge Suites South
#18 of 38 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn Springfield
Sleep Inn Springfield
#30 of 38 in Springfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#27 of 38 in Springfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
#8 of 38 in Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Springfield

Property: Courtyard Springfield
Address: 3462 Freedom Drive, Springfield, IL 62704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Springfield 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Springfield Illinois offers hotel rooms and suites near a number of the capital's attractions. Come and explore the history that Springfield has to offer with numerous sites highlighting the life of Abraham Lincoln. The area is home to plenty of colleges including Robert Morris University Springfield, Lincoln Land community College, University of Illinois Springfield, and the Benedictine University at Springfield. Our Marriott hotel provides all of the modern amenities including free WiFi, an on-site fitness center, a meeting room, and The Market available 24 hours for any of your last minute needs. The indoor pool will be undergoing renovations until June 20th. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Springfield Hotel Springfield
Springfield Marriott
Springfield Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing