We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Reviewed July 9, 2014

There's no pool in this facility, but overall our experience was good. Facility is clean and modern with a comfortable couch in the king room that we had. Within 5 minutes of all museums, libraries, and historical venues, which was the purpose of the trip.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 289 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2014

After our terrible experience at the desperately in need of a renovation Howard Johnsons down the street, this place was a gem!

The check in staff were great! they had only one room left and it was a handicap room so we took it, the next day they switched us into a regular room once one was freed up! Very nice of them!

The rooms are very clean and the entire hotel has nice decor and is very clean.

We enjoyed our three night stay and if I were too return to springfield it would be the place id stay at again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSaxe86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

If you make a reservation here ask for the parking lot side of the building. The other side faces the Crown Plaza utility area. If the Plaza runs it's A/C system, the noise may keep you awake. Breakfast is standard HIE, rooms are comfortable, hotel could use an update.

Room Tip: There are many other hotels nearby that may offer better accommodations for the same price,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrHIX, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

I'm sorry the noise bothered you on that side of the building. The rooms on the other side are best suited for our light sleepers. Thanks for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Only stayed one night of our tour, it was all nice and clean and friendly staff.
We got to the Hotel late due to the weather very heavy rain and a Tornado warning luckily nothing happened.
As we only stayed one night i am not sure if this would reflect a longer stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express this week. The air conditioning went out and the hotel got very hot. We had one sleepless night. The next morning, the front desk said they had just fixed the air conditioning and we should feel the room getting cool soon. We waited until 5:00pm that night and the room was still very hot. When we talked to the front desk, they said that only half the system was up and that the other half just got fixed and we should start to feel the cool air. We decided we had had enough, and checked out of the hotel and into a hotel across the street. They handled the situation appropriately, and totally refunded our entire stay without asking.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrHIX, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

It was a hot day here at the hotel! I completely understand leaving due to the extreme heat. The humidity outside was not helping the cause either. I hope you can visit us again and enjoy our new mattresses and a cool, air-conditioned room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We had several road bumps during our stay here. We requested a refrigerator prior to our arrival and we were told it would cost us an additional $25 per night. We complied and were not given one when we arrived. Our room was not comforting. It was in need of cosmetic fixes and upgrades and it was not as clean as it should have been. Housekeeping did not attend to us and the phones in our room did not work. On the up side, the location was fine and the breakfast was good. Staffmember Elvyra was great each morning! Very prompt, friendly, and personable. My husband stays here for business, but it's not high on my list due to cleanliness. Free breakfast was a perk here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrHIX, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

I will address the cleanliness concerns with the housekeeping manager. I appreciate the feedback on Elvyra and have passed along the compliments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We always check first for a Holiday Inn Express and have found that they are modern, clean, spacious and overall a nice place to stay for a few nights. We were disappointed with this property and don't feel that this should be part of the Holiday Inn Express brand. It appears to be a property that was purchased from lower quality, no frills, basic brand and never updated.

The air conditioning unit is wall-mounted, pointing downward and blew cold air directly on us. The furniture was basic, scuffed and out-dated. Ceiling tiles stained and valances falling. We needed to call the front desk and the phones did not work. One side of the building faces the property next door and all we heard all night was the noise from the air conditioning compressors which were on that side of the building. Thank goodness for ear plugs. The bed was comfortable, but while other Holiday Inn Express properties offer both soft and firm pillows, we had only soft pillows.

There are other properties along the same road, which is right off the highway and across from restaurants and shopping. Choose another property.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mom2Boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrHIX, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

I'm sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. I have addressed the pillows with housekeeping since we do have both soft and firm pillows in all of our rooms. Our mattresses are only two months old so I hope you were comfortable throughout the night. If you were to come back and give us another shot I would be happy to find you a room on the other side of the building away from any noise. Thanks for your feedback and your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 38 in Springfield
225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Springfield
Crowne Plaza Springfield
#18 of 38 in Springfield
408 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Springfield, IL
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#15 of 38 in Springfield
187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
#7 of 38 in Springfield
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Springfield

Address: 3050 S Dirksen Pkwy, Springfield, IL 62703-4504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range: $94 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Springfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Springfield, IL features 140 deluxe guest rooms including, 2 parlor suites. All rooms are equipped with microwaves and fridges, Kuerig coffee makers, hair dryers, iron/ironing boards, and free high speed wireless Internet access. The Holiday Inn Express Springfield has one meeting room, a fitness center, and a guest laundry facility. Every morning a deluxe hot complimentary Continental breakfast is served from 6:30am-9:30am in the hotel great room. Holiday Inn Express guests are able to utilize all Crowne Plaza Hotel's facilities next door i.e. Indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, and the restaurant/lounge. We are conveniently located directly off Interstate 55 (exit 94) and historic Route 66. The hotel is located near the World Headquarters for Bunn-O-Matic Corporation, HD Smith, Illinois Department of Transportation, and the Illinois Secretary of State office complexes. The Holiday Inn Express-Springfield is minutes from historic Abraham Lincoln sites, including the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum. Just minutes from the Illinois State Fair Grounds and numerous golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Springfield Hotel Springfield
Holiday Inn Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing