We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stopover hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Check-in was quick and staff was friendly, complimentary popcorn and apples in lobby. Room was clean and spacious with free wifi, no flat screen tv but old style tv with many channels available. Bed was comfortable, bathroom clean and had a great shower. Good breakfast which is complimentary.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKellerGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2011

Thank you for your favorable feedback from your recent stay. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay. I do want to share that the hotel will be upgrading TV’s to flat screens in the next few months. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and hope we’ll have that opportunity soon. Jkeller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 289 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2011

We had an overnight stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Springfield and was pleasantly surprised. Upon arrival, the Desk Clerk was very nice and helpful with questions we had about the area. Since we were traveling with another couple he asked us which rooms we preferred. The rooms were nicely decorated and the bathroom was extremely clean. The carpet and furniture also looked and smelled very clean also. The beds slept very nice and they supplied you with 4 fluffy pillows on each bed. I had a very restful nights sleep. Our room was located just outside the elevator, but we were surprised how quiet this hotel was. The breakfast they offered was a little more than continental. They had alot of hot items such as sausage gravy & biscuits, hard boiled eggs, pancakes and waffles. Also the usual breakfast items. Very pleased with breakfast. The area was nice with a small outside shopping mall across the street and alot of good restaurants within a block or two. I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Springfield, IL

Room Tip: They did have some smoking rooms on the first floor. All other rooms were on the 2nd and 3rd floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank LAL1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKellerGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2011

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Express and for taking the time to post your experience on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to read that you would recommend our hotel, and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome your return.

Once again, thank you for your comments and for choosing to spend your time with us.
JKeller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

This hotel is located in the heart of town, lots of places to eat within a couple blocks. The hotel is pet friendly, so if you are not a pet friendly person you may want to stay next door at the Crowne Plaza. The room across the hall from our room had a dog left in the room while the owners were out, and barked continuously. Upon check-out, I complained to management about the dog barking late into the night and the following morning (waking us up bright and early), and the manager did not charge us for our one night stay! Definitely went above and beyond to make sure we were completely satisfied with our stay.

Room Tip: When checking in, make sure to ask for a room with no pets on the floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank timvines5640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKellerGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2011

We sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. This was an unfortunate situation and we’re very sorry that it happened. Our team makes every effort to deliver upon the high standards we have set ourselves; we strive to ensure our guests recognize the services and facilities we provide as offering a high level of value and a warmly memorable experience. When we fall short in any area, we know we must restore that confidence and do what is right! Thank you again for your review, we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Jkeller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My family recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Springfield, Il. Our stay was a part of our family reunion we have every 3 years with relatives coming in from all around the world. The customer service we experienced was well above our expectations. The people at the front desk (Stella, Anecha and Alex) went above and beyond in every aspect of their job to help us have a wonderful time.

I was in charge of setting up most of the reservations and I chose your hotel because of the reputation Holiday Inn Express has as a business traveler. We were looking for a fair price that included breakfast and this hotel hit the mark. Also, we all agreed we are much smarter now that we have stayed at Holiday Inn Express:)

I hope we will have the opportunity to stay at this hotel another time in the near future!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BLD55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKellerGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2011

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your positive feedback about your recent visit. I am very pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay with us. Also, many thanks, for commending our staff, who really do their very best to cater to our guests' needs. Along with my team, I look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express in the future. Thank you.
JkellerGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We booked this room through Priceline's Name Your Own Price. It was a perfect location for a our one night stay. The check in process was the only major complaint I would have had. The gentleman running the desk was very slow and was very hard to understand with his thick accent. Once we got to our room, it was very clean and comfortable. The AC unit kept us nice and cool with the 100+ degree outside temperature! The room had nice cushy chairs to relax in and the beds were very comfy as well. Each bed had 4 giant pillows. I slept like a baby when we came back in for the night.
Other than the check in complaint, the only other problems we had were with calling for an ashtray for our smoking room. We called 3 times within a 2 hour period and no one ever brought one. When we arrived back from our concert, we found had been left. The other problem was the coffee maker. It was setup in the bathroom on the counter. The electrical outlet did not work and I had to move it to an outlet in the room.

Overall, this is a very nice stay for the price. It is well located near many different restaurants and shopping spots. It was also a quick drive to many of the Springfield historical locations. I'd definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srembe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKellerGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for providing such an honest review concerning your stay. I do want to apologize for the check in experience, a delay in service and for the outlet not working. We truly do not want these things to happen and have taken steps to prevent any reoccurrence. I am confident that a return stay would provide to you a flawless experience. We truly appreciate your feedback to keep us focused on always improving. We do get a lot of compliments on our pillows! I’m glad to know that overall you enjoyed your stay and that you would choose our hotel in the future. We certainly will look forward to welcoming you back!
Sincerely,
Jkeller -GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We (2 adults, 2 children) stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Springfield overnight on a two-day drive to a family funeral. A bit skeptical given the reviews, we booked it anyway because it had a smoking room, a rarity for those of us who smoke. Check-in was quick and smooth, and Christian and Alex at the front desk were not only friendly but so extremely helpful. Our room, updated, attractive, and immacultate, was set up for three, but within minutes of my call to the desk, we had the needed towels and shampoo--delivered with smiles and an inquiry whether there might be anything else we needed, and then he refused a tip! Having just spent six nights at the Holiday Inn Georgetown (DC) where we had to wait more than an hour for housekeeping to deliver the plastic cups they'd forgotten to leave when they "cleaned" our room, I was astounded by the service in Springfield!

What I saw of the hotel--the lobby, including the breakfast area, hallway, and our room--was quite lovely and sparkling. Breakfast was standard HIExpress fare, including the fabulous cinnamon rolls.

Check-out was amazing because of Anecha. She was beyond cheerful, gracious, and helpful--genuinely so--and even packed us a "to go" bag, mostly for the kids, when she learned our circumstances (family death). Like Alex and Christian the night before, Anecha was wonderful.

The hotel is tucked between two taller hotels--a Crowne Plaza and a Hilton Garden Inn--but our GPS led us right to it. There are also a number of restaurants at the same exit, so having dinner after checking in was a breeze.

While our stay was only a pit stop on the highway, it exceeded our expectations in every way and far exceeded virtually every aspect of our stay at the Holiday Inn Georgetown--who would have thought it?

Kudos to the hotel and special thanks to Anecha, Christian, and Alex!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelDocinOKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed here for 40 bucks on priceline. No frills but clean and staff was friendly. i wouldn't stay here if you want to see the sights and not close to downtown but a great place if you are making a pitstop and/or are willing to stay a little farther away from the Lincoln sites to save some money.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
Thank nickiwms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 38 in Springfield
225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Springfield
Crowne Plaza Springfield
#18 of 38 in Springfield
408 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Springfield, IL
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#15 of 38 in Springfield
187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
#7 of 38 in Springfield
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Springfield

Address: 3050 S Dirksen Pkwy, Springfield, IL 62703-4504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range: $94 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Springfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Springfield, IL features 140 deluxe guest rooms including, 2 parlor suites. All rooms are equipped with microwaves and fridges, Kuerig coffee makers, hair dryers, iron/ironing boards, and free high speed wireless Internet access. The Holiday Inn Express Springfield has one meeting room, a fitness center, and a guest laundry facility. Every morning a deluxe hot complimentary Continental breakfast is served from 6:30am-9:30am in the hotel great room. Holiday Inn Express guests are able to utilize all Crowne Plaza Hotel's facilities next door i.e. Indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, and the restaurant/lounge. We are conveniently located directly off Interstate 55 (exit 94) and historic Route 66. The hotel is located near the World Headquarters for Bunn-O-Matic Corporation, HD Smith, Illinois Department of Transportation, and the Illinois Secretary of State office complexes. The Holiday Inn Express-Springfield is minutes from historic Abraham Lincoln sites, including the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum. Just minutes from the Illinois State Fair Grounds and numerous golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Springfield Hotel Springfield
Holiday Inn Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing