We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Springfield City Centre
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Reviewed March 29, 2008

We booked the A-Z Lincoln Package. For the price, this was an excellent value. Hotel is clean. Bottled water is free in the room. Beds are comfortable. Walking distance to Lincoln sites and short distance from others if you drive. Pool is small, but fine for little kids. We would stay here again (we booked for state fair). Don't know what the negative reviews are about.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwcoleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,221 - 1,227 of 1,276 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2008

We found the this hotel to be staffed by reasonably friendly people - especially the guy at the information desk near the main door. The room was very clean, fresh and looked like it had been recently updated. The beds were comfy - and the best part: the view from the 23rd floor! This feature alone was worth spending a little more for our short (2-night) stay!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLCooLil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2008

We just stayed at the Hilton Springfield for a New Year's Eve bash. While the experience overall was ok (the celebration was pretty fun), please be advised that if you stay here during a windy time, you won't get any sleep! The wind evidently causes the elevators to sway making a constant creaking noise. During high elevator usage times, it is even worse. I woke up at 6am to use the restroom and was not able to go back to sleep. What was supposed to be a relaxing, fun getaway for New Year's Eve, turned out to be not quite so relaxing.
If you are planning to stay here the front desk said that rooms 1 and 18 of each floor get the worst noise because they are so close to the elevators. Basically, the only thing they could do was offer earplugs and their apologies and she said if we moved, we would have the same problem.
Needless to say, I WILL NOT be staying there again! They did not even offer to give us any kind of compensation so in my opinion, they didn't even seem to care. They got our money for the bash and that is all they cared about.

Stayed: January 2008
1  Thank Stephlyn14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2007

I was staying at the hotel for just one night, thankfully, whilst attending a weekend seminar.

Firstly, I need to do some more research on the booking website, but I remember reading a parking fee both for "self parking" and one for "valet parking". Anyway, once I had finally found the hotel in the maze of roads, and pulled up to the main entrance, only then did I see a sign to park in the Municipal car park just around the corner. No "valet" in sight, or doorman for that matter, so, once more round the block and in. I think they could have made the parking issue a bit clearer on their webpage!

Check in was quick, mainly because there was no one else there. Up to the 26th floor for my room.

The rooms are very well appointed. I'm not too fussy about hyper cleanliness, and hence this passed muster easily. The bed, for me, was extremely comfortable and the pillows, delighful. I also really liked the coffee machine in the room which was the "single/two cup" direct brew system with coffee pods. It meant as a single traveller I had lots of options, plus they had been thoughtful eneough to supply two bottles of water plus "to go" cups with lids. Nice touch!

Then up to the 30th floor for dinner at "Capisce's" restaurant. FIrstly, I was a bit suspicious as the place was near empty at 7.00pm. The view is great overlooking Illinois capital city. I sat down and ordered crab cakes and lasagne, but asked for the latter to come much later, when I asked for it as I had a good book,.....yes, a sad "single" traveller.....and wasn't too hungry. I was surprised when the monstrous crab cakes came about 3 minutes later. I commented on the speed however, upon dissecting the crab cakes they were stone cold on the inside. Not being a fussy eater, and as they tasted great, I devoured them but suggested the waitress mention to the chef they may need a few more watts of energy next time. I proceed to enjoy my book and wine, and was patiently checked upon by the waitress. Finally, so as not to concern her further I asked for the lasagne. What came up was a cremated offering which had obviously been under some form of grill for about 3 days by the looks of it. I decided not to complain as the waitress was patient and skulked off to my room.

Then to bed. Now, on the 26th floor you would think that one would be somewhat immune from noise however I swear, every hour, on the hour, a train came through town, horn blaring making it impossible for me to sleep more than 50 minutes at a time. To add to that, the plumbing was as noisy as heck making everyone elses ablutions abundantly clear.

Breakfast the next day was quite adequate. My room came with a complementary ticket. A colleague who attended the same conference with his wife informed me that he recieved 3 tickets only after having booked the room for 3 days resulting in him having to pay for one person each day.....a bit cheesy in my mind. The service in the restuarant was quite good.

Final whine. Why do hotels like this insist on charging people $10 for internet per day????? Come on guys, get with it! We are paying $140 a day for the hotel.....chuck in the complimentary internet will you?????

If I do have another trip to Springfield, I think I'll look for a hotel/motel a little further out of town, away from that darned train driver and his air horn.!!!! I'll miss the bed, but not much else I'm afraid!!!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank PeoriaBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2007

I'm here on business and unfortunately this is the only hotel w/ better beds. The housekeeping needs to do better job w/ daily cleaning of the bathrooms.

I been here since the middle of the year on and off, so I'm @ the gold status. You would think they automatically upgrade my room to the gold member floor but of course that doesn't happen here. It's like luck of the draw, if you get the one and only friendly front desk check in, you don't have to tell them anything. Otherwise be warned how rude these front desk check in people are.

I asked the front desk if I can get ONE .41cents stamp, she said "NO, you can try the gift shop." Come on, I'm staying for 10 nights @ $119 per night + $7 parking and I can't even get ONE .41cents stamp. I go to the gift shop they ran out...told me to walk 2 blocks to the post office. You think if I wanted to do that in the first place I would have??

Bottom line...if you want friendly or even basic service don't expect much from these people. Someone needs to retrain these people to understand what true customer service means!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank peccle168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2007

We stayed here for a weekend to do Lincoln Stuff. I was wary of staying here based on the feedback but I found the hotel to be perfect for us. The staff was friendly and helped with anything we asked from directions to reservations. The rooms were comfortable and looked recently redecorated. We were in walking distance of all the sights and all the restaurants and a bellman helped us locate a bowling alley, too. We were alloted two free breakfast passes for each night we stayed and it worked out to be enough for all of us to go once. The weekend breakfast buffet featured lots of cereals and fresh fruit as well as a great selection of breads. The hot food items were so-so but they did the trick. I think this a great place to do all the traditional Springfield activites and we will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank leo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2007

On a bus tour from Chicago area to Springfield we stayed at the downtown Hilton Hotel Thursday night, August 30th. Assigned to room 310, we found housekeeping and routine maintenance to be sadly lacking. An end hook was not in place securiing the sheer curtain behind the drapery at one of the windows, causing the curtain to obviously sag on that side. There was one large gouge in the wallpaper in the room's hallway near the dresser and several lesser defects in the wallpaper in other locations. The mirror above the dresser was not straight, and lamp shades were askew. Water pressure in both the sink and the shower was very low. There were spider webs and spiders visible in the bathroom light fixture above the mirror. The television made intermittent "zapping" noise and maintenance was notified. They responded in a timely fashion and suggested that it was possibly ham operator or other interference; however the noise was consistent throughout all channels, not just cable. Glad we were only there for one night!

Thank Diane200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0 mi away
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Springfield, IL
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Springfield
Crowne Plaza Springfield
#18 of 38 in Springfield
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
0.5 mi away
State House Inn
State House Inn
#10 of 38 in Springfield
977 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
#7 of 38 in Springfield
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Springfield City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Springfield City Centre

Address: 700 E Adams St, Springfield, IL 62701-1617
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range: $113 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Springfield City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the award-winning Wyndham Springfield City Centre located downtown near many attractions and state buildings. This hotel offers complimentary shuttles to the airport for your convenience. It also boasts the best views of the city. All guest rooms come with complimentary WiFi and comfortable queen or king beds. Dine at one of the restaurants located inside the hotel including Nick and Nino's Penthouse Steakhouse. The extensive meeting space and proximity to the convention center make this hotel ideal for groups as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Springfield City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Springfield Hotel Springfield
Springfield Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing