We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Springfield
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We came looking for a decent , inexpencive place to spend the night while visiting Lincoln Museum and other nearby attractions. For the price we paid we were very happy with our stay. A clean room and a caring friendly,staff made our decision to stay a second night easy. We were checked in at the front desk by David Wilson both nights. He was busy yet attentive and made sure we had our needs met.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrugalMichigander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrispringfield, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Springfield, IL Red Roof. We always enjoy hearing about the experiences our guests have at our hotel.
Will let David know of your compliments he has from you. Thank you. Hope to be able to assist you in your travels once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 140 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

If you can afford it, stay at another hotel! The price is quite low but pretty much you get what you pay for. When we arrived, there were two parties in front of us at the reception and it took like forever I mean really like forever. The receptionist was friendly but working very slowly. Then, while we were checking in, another guest who had just checked in - came to check back out. We were not sure why unti we saw (and smelled!) our room. It smelled of very much very stale cigarette smoke, urine and wet dog. We went back to the lobby and asked for another room, but a large group of peope had just arrived and we would have had to wait until they were all checked in to see if another room was available for us. So we accepted the room and about an hour later, the receptionist came to spray the room, which helped a little. There was a cigarette burn in one of the chairs. So much for the non-smoking room. The rooms are very small. The TV set is out-dated (not a flat screen where you can plug in an HDMI cable). Everything is quite run-down.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thegreatlawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrispringfield, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for your review on your Stay. I apologize for the experience you had during your stay. It is very important to us not only to your meet expectations but to exceed them.In this case in this case it sounds like we did not accomplish this. I have spoken to my team about this .As always we are committed to our guests and their expectations of a nice place for a nice price. We appreciate your feedback on your experience and we look forward to being able to have you as guest in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff and great stay. Just what me and my husband needed . Also nice that there was a coffee pot in the room! Would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there in the future. We stayed for the first two days of our honeymoon.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abschmitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrispringfield, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for your review on your Stay. Although not fully renovated yet, we pride ourselves on being able to offer a clean place , quiet area to give our guests and opportunity to rest from their journeys . We appreciate your feedback on your experience and we look forward to being able to have you as guest in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night on our way to Kansas City. When I walked in the desk employee was in the lobby sleeping. He checked me in quick and was decent. I was surprised that AAA was taken here! They must have lowered their standards! I asked for non smoking 2 doubles/queens, got 1 king and it reekkkkeeeddd of smoke. Everything was dusty and dirty. The carpet was worn and gross. It was 40 bucks so I guess you get what you pay for! Lesson learned.....do not stay here!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jet20111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrispringfield, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

I apologize for the experience you had during your stay. It is our goal to not only meet expectations but to exceed them and in this case it sounds like we did not accomplish either. I have spoken to my team about this goal and as always we are committed to our guests and their expectations of a nice place for a nice price.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We found this on hotels.com and it looked like a perfect location for our stop over at the Lincoln museum. When we pulled in, there were security people in the lot (not always a bad sign...). We checked in, went to the room and found hair and toenail clippings in one bed and a greasy head stain on the headboard. We went down to see if we could get a different room, no problem...the 2nd one had dried vomit and beer bottle tops on the floor. If it had been cleaned, the only thing we could think was that they rent the rooms by the hour between guests. We fled immediately and found a great Travel Lodge down the road.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garvanator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrispringfield, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for your resent review . I apologize for the problems you had on resent stay. Will go over these issues with the staff to ensure they are handled. Thank you for taking the opportunity to stay with us choose us again if you’re in the our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stay at the Red Roof Inn once a week for work and the staff are always very professional, friendly, and helpful. It did not take long for David, the employee who checks me in, to remember me by both name but also room preference. He always makes sure I am satisfied and usually offers some friendly conversation during check-in giving the check-in a welcoming feel. He also usually offers a phone call to make sure the room is okay. The rooms are always clean and inviting. The staff working in the morning, Precious, is equally helpful and friendly. She makes check-out a breeze which is nice as I am usually running late to work. She always greets me with a smile and was also very quick to remember me by name. I highly recommend this hotel based on the amazing staff.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lacey l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrispringfield, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for your resent review . Our staff is always willing to help ensure our guests are very comfortable in their stay. Thank you for taking the opportunity to stay with us and please choose us again if you’re in the our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

we love staying at the red roof inn in springfield...always get treated great...we recommend david Wilson he has always been a great check in guy and they have excellent service....we highly recommend this hotel it is clean and the desk clerk makes sure everything is taken care of we will come back often

Room Tip: upper deck rooms way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenny p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrispringfield, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you for your recent stay information . We appreciate your feedback on your recent stay experience , We take great pride in giving you a great place to stay and offering you great customer service. We look forward to having you as a guest in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Springfield East
Super 8 Springfield East
#34 of 38 in Springfield
370 reviews
6.2 mi away
Sleep Inn Springfield
Sleep Inn Springfield
#31 of 38 in Springfield
84 reviews
3.2 mi away
Route 66 Hotel And Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Springfield
6.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#25 of 38 in Springfield
126 reviews
5.4 mi away
Days Inn Springfield
Days Inn Springfield
#29 of 38 in Springfield
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Springfield

Address: 3200 Singer Ave, Springfield, IL 62703-2140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range: $57 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Springfield 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springfield Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing