We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing bad to say!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nothing bad to say!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

This hotel was great -- it's like walking into "Catch Me If You Can" and the design was fantastic -- usually something you expect from a boutique hotel, but not at those prices!
The staff were helpful in suggesting where to eat and how to get to various sites in downtown Springfield.
The room was a bit small and there was no wifi in the rooms, but that was all fine because it was a vacation!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaSilvestri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    373
    114
    35
    16
See reviews for
227
340
62
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2010

The hotel was very clean and the room didn't have any of the normal "hotel odor". There was a questionable stain on the couch, but given the couch is "orange" it's a little hard to cover them up like you would with a normal "brown" hotel couch. The breakfast buffet was great! The staff was excellent! The counter in the bathroom is about 8" higher than normal, so bring a stool if you have kids! The toilet is about 4" lower than normal, so be prepared to use the counter to pull yourself up off of it! :) Very nice bathrooms, and they even have "robes"! You normally never find those in a hotel of this genre. They're very "green" to the point where you should really bring a pitcher to fill up under the tub spigot to wash you hair! The water pressure from the shower head will never wash the soap out! There is internet in every room, but it was extremely slow! .56 mbs up and .18 mbs down. All of the furniture including the couch and bed are VERY low to the ground, so don't expect to use them as "normal" furniture unless you're 18 years old! I'm 49 and in pretty good shape and it was still a trial to get up off the couch. They have a piano type bar that's open every evening and a weight room! No pool though! The hallways are a bit bleak and very WARM...but at least the elevators are quick so you don't have to stand around very long!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDFitzCTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2010

We were only in Springfield for one nite and THIS hotel was THE place to stay! Very friendly staff; clean rooms; extensive breakfast hot & cold; reasonable; close to the Lincoln Library and some other sites. All this AND a cool flashback to the American 60's! Soooo cool! We stayed on a Friday nite...quiet downtown, but more stuff happening about 4 short blocks away to the Old Capitol and Pres. Library...which is a totally ramped up experience...meaning kids will like, too!
GREAT lunch at The Garden of Eatin'!! Cheap and wholesome...closes at 3pm.

Should also see the Frank Lloyd Wright house a short drive away, tho still in Spgfld.; and, to cap off your trip, going to Quincy, IL to tour a house of the same vintage BUT a la Victorian architecture (the Quincy Museum on Maine St.)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidwestKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downstate Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2010

What a nice place in the heart of Springfield. The hotel was renovated back to it's original 1960's appearance a few years ago. When you walk in the door you literally feel like you have traveled back to the 60s. All the furniture, wall coverings, everything is straight out of the 60s. There is no pool, so keep that in mind when traveling with the kiddies. Everyone was friendly and the place has plenty of public areas. The bar looked interesting, but I did not have a chance to partake. They have a little mini store next to the front desk where you can buy little pizzas and things to microwave. The breakfast is very nice with hot and cold items. The hotel is also very green. They try to use washable dishes in the breakfast room instead of all that plastic. Individual hot water systems for each room. Their web site has a lot more info on that. The room was nice. Decorated in very 60's style of course. There are maybe 2 suites in the place? The rest are just standard size hotel rooms. Beds were comfy. Some kind of memory foam? The best part about the hotel is that it is right in the middle of all the Lincoln sites. You could walk to most of them if you wanted. It is also very close to the state capitol, as the name implies. Our only complaint was the loud people in the hall all night. There was some kind of party going on downstairs and people were loud going to and from their rooms. We did not call down to the desk, I was half asleep. This seems to be more and more common anymore. People get hammered and take over a hotel. All in all, it's a a very nice hotel in a great location. It's nice to see a piece of Americana preserved rather than bulldozed. I highly suggest checking out their web site. Recommended

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelwithmydear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobden, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

I stay at many Choice Hotels properties, and have been a frequent guest at this property in Springfield. Today (July 6, 2010), a meeting I was to attend tomorrow moved to the next week. I tried to change my reservation, but unlike most other Choice Hotels properties that have a 6pm the DAY OF policy, State House has a 4pm the day PRIOR cancellation/change deadline policy. I acknowledged my mistake, tried using Choice Hotels Guest Relations to intervene on my behalf, and tried calling Damon Pirdy, the Asst Gen Mgr. They refused to budge one simple inch on their policy, even considering I was not taking away the business, just moving it to the next week. I will not stay here again, no matter how nice the hotel is.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimRice61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odin, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2010

My family and I have stayed in many different hotels (Hilton, Embassy Suites, Renaissance, etc.) on many occasions and this Hotel, ranks with the best. I had read the various reviews before I booked our stay and was still pleasantly surprised by the atmosphere, decor and friendliness of the staff who immediately made us feel at home. For those who had negative remarks about this Hotel, all I can say is "What Castle do you think you live in? I booked the Historical Package and my wife, 13 year old son, his friend and I had a great relaxed weekend with plenty to do and everything located within a mile or so. This was topped off with an evening meal at Saputo's, a local restaurant, which we received a Gift Certificate for $50 with the Historical Package. We booked a suite on the 7th floor which was clean comfortable and had everything you need. My wife commented that it was one of the quietest rooms we have ever had. The breakfast buffet was great with plenty of food, smiles and a friendly accommodating staff when you needed them. To the manager and staff of this hotel, Thank You for a Great weekend and we look forward to our next stay with you. To the owners and staff at Saputo's, we are already recommending your establishment to our friends and family whenever they head to Springfield, for any reason.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RRM4360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2010

With its clean lines and boxy appearance, don’t let the Ascend Collection State House Inn in Springfield fool you—this is not some "old Holiday Inn." The State House Inn is a gem, a remarkable recreation/renovation of a grand 1960s downtown hotel, complete with retro “spaceage” furniture in the lobby and the rooms, surprising art on the walls of its public spaces, and a sense of geometric enthusiasm that I thought had long ago disappeared. If you have any interest in mid-century architecture or the history of interior design, or if you hanker to return to the days when color television was new and cars had huge fins, this is hotel for you. Cool place.

My wife and I opted for the two-room king suite because it cost just a bit over $100 dollars a night the weekend we stayed—not that much more than we wold have paid for the boring, run of the mill, cookie-cutter accommodations you can find all over the area. We appreciated the tile and granite bath with its Bath & Bodyworks amenities, the cushy bathrobes and abundant towels. The bed (by Simmons) was perfect; the two rooms were spacious: the “moderne” furniture giving a sense of Kennedy-era elegance. Although the windows in the rooms don’t open—one of my pet peeves, but probably historically correct—we were able to control the airflow and temperature easily in our suite.

No, the tvs aren’t big flat screens playing The Jetsons, but anyone who spends time watching television in a city with as many top rated attractions as Springfield should be staying in a motel by the interstate. Ditto the internet, which is available in the rooms only through an ethernet cable. Who cares? I connected easily to check stock prices and email—then it was off to the complimentary breakfast, which was the only major disappointment. Yes, I know it is complimentary, but the baked goods were dry and pasty, and the options very limited...absolutely no better than the free breakfast offered at Comfort Inns (also part of the Choice Hotels chain.) The Statehouse Inn should consider offering a fancier option for which they charge. It would better match the level set by the rest of the hotel.

Overall, a very happy experience—especially for those old enough to be able to name the Mercury 7 astronauts (you know who you are)—and a special opportunity for kids, if you say something about what it all means. A classy, exceptionally clean and gracious hotel. Except for breakfast, high marks all ’round.

(Experience has taught me to check TripAdvisor whenever I stay at a Choice Hotels property...their record is too spotty when it comes to cleanliness and quality...but this hotel you can visit in confidence.)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelphantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.5 mi away
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Springfield City Centre
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Carpenter Street Hotel
Carpenter Street Hotel
#12 of 38 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield
3.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 38 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel

Property: The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
Address: 101 E Adams St, Springfield, IL 62701-1108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Springfield
#10 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#16 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The State House Inn is the only major hotel in downtown Springfield, Illinois to offer a complimentary full hot breakfast, super fast hotel wide WiFi and parking. The combined value of these complimentary goods/services make us, by far, the best value in Springfield. Also, when we say "Breakfast", we mean a real breakfast with eggs, breakfast meats, potatoes, biscuits & gravy, waffles, cereals, yogurt, muffins, toast, juices, Seattle's Best coffee & teas, etc. You could easily spend $10/person replicating our breakfast in a restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Springfield
Clarion Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing