We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel...Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Monroe, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average hotel...Great location”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

State house had a great offer for lodging, tickets to the Lincoln Museum, $25.00 towards food, and 2 free drinks. The hotel is a bit old but comfortable. The breakfast was included and it was very plentiful. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    379
    119
    36
    16
See reviews for
230
347
63
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

One night stay in king suite. Large living room. Couch was more like futon than regular foldout. A little weird for sleeping as it was in middle of room. Breakfast, free parking and easy walk to Lincoln Home Historical Site and Statehouse. BTW, the chambers in the Statehouse are beautiful. Would stay at the State House Inn again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CINCINNATI
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The hotel had a old feel at first, rooms are nice, the beds were kind of low, might be kind of hard for older couple to get up or down. Also furniture in lobby was low, retro décor, for some reason the hallways were extra hot, but every building I went in Springfield was like that. Bathrooms were nice with bathrobes, rooms did not have fridge or microwave, but there is one you can use in the lobby snack shop. Older tv, but works fine and jacks in front. Breakfast was good, they had eggs, bacon, waffles, fruit, cereal, etc. Enough stuff was on the breakfast bar, so we didn't have to go out. The location was great, close to everything. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLERK34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Checked in late and tired to a very welcoming receptionist who got us to our room quickly and sorted us with directions to a good steak restaurant.

The room was a good size with quiet a/c, bathrobes and water in the room, walking distance to everywhere with the Lincoln Museum not far away and worth a visit for sure, the free parking was nice to have on site as was the complimentary hot buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MayoKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mo
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We went to tour the Lincoln Museum with our kids and grandkids and picked The State House Inn to over night. It is really a neat place. Cute retro look. We arrived several hours before check in, but they gave us our rooms right away. Had the two room suite, with a king sized bed. Sitting room with mini fridge, microwave, coffee pot, desk, wifi. Tv's in both rooms. The bathroom toiletries were from Bath and Body, which I like. Liked the idea that there was a thermostat in both rooms. Had a drink in the bar, which is decorated retro. Soft drinks are free, which is highly unusual. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. You name it, they had it. The ladies working the breakfast were very efficient. I recommend this place and we are going back and staying there again. Almost forgot, the bed was very comfy and I liked the sheets, but the pillows were very little.

Room Tip: Get the two room suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janesookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We arrived during the Route 66 annual festival in Springfield (fantastic event) and also whilst a very noisy wedding reception was on at the hotel spilling out into reception so first impression was one of concern! Parking was only available in their alternative lot across the road but no problems accessing it. However check-in was smooth and the receptionist explained all the facilities. Walking into the room (King Suite) was like stepping back in time to a 1960's show home with the furniture and decor of that period, but it was clean and quiet. The bed looked strange and lumpy but to quote my wife in the morning "it was like sleeping in custard" as it was soft and deep. Breakfast was surprisingly good with various choices of fresh fruit, yoghurts, cereals, waffles, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, juices etc. Tables were cleared and cleaned as soon as they were left. Overall a surprisingly good stay plus it was in easy walking distance of all the main downtown attractions. Only negative point was that the a/c was loud and either off or on, there was no fan speed control.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moneyfools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington MO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We arrived from st. Louis via Amtrak. Walked with luggage just 2 blocks to the Inn. Lobby was clean and inviting. desk people were knowledgeable about tourist sites we wanted to see and how to get to each site via the city tourist bus service. Rooms were very nice and clean.
the free breakfast was outstanding, eggs, bacon waffles fruit etc. We will be back!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garypjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.5 mi away
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Springfield City Centre
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield
0.5 mi away
Carpenter Street Hotel
Carpenter Street Hotel
#12 of 38 in Springfield
238 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ramada Springfield North
Ramada Springfield North
#3 of 38 in Springfield
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel

Property: The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
Address: 101 E Adams St, Springfield, IL 62701-1108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Springfield
#10 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#16 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The State House Inn is the only major hotel in downtown Springfield, Illinois to offer a complimentary full hot breakfast, super fast hotel wide WiFi and parking. The combined value of these complimentary goods/services make us, by far, the best value in Springfield. Also, when we say "Breakfast", we mean a real breakfast with eggs, breakfast meats, potatoes, biscuits & gravy, waffles, cereals, yogurt, muffins, toast, juices, Seattle's Best coffee & teas, etc. You could easily spend $10/person replicating our breakfast in a restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Springfield
Clarion Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing