We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Oak Park, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Funky & Fun!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Only in town overnight, but so glad to stumble upon this little gem! Very retro decor, still very clean and all the necessities were there! Easy walk to Capital, Lincoln Museum, restaurants on 6th St., etc. Staff were all very friendly! Nice value in a very sleepy little town! Had a wonderful time walking a block to the Saturday Farmers Market just down the street!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisaDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    381
    121
    36
    16
See reviews for
230
349
65
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centerville, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We found this hotel to be a hidden gem. From the outside I wasn't too sure but the inside is totally redone in the 60's style complete with shag rug in the lobby. A really funky place. We could walk to everything we wanted to see and there are restaurants close by. Breakfast was a step up from your standard buffet with really good scrambled eggs and home fries. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The only thing missing was a pool but we were so busy we probably wouldn't have used it anyway. We were very surprised we could get a downtown hotel for the affordable rate we paid. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife and I go to Springfield infrequently, usually for history-centered attractions. The Statehouse Inn is our preferred hotel. It is reasonably priced, clean and comfortable. We like the robes provided with rooms. The breakfast buffet is very good. The hotel is in walking distance to AMTRAK, but we find having a car almost necessary. We found reasonably-priced restaurant choices for dinner in the immediate area limited. Some might be put off by the older TVs in at least some rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OriginalWalteroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Plenty of parking and a great location add to this well appointed hotel in a historic and lively city.

Hotel was clean, modern and had good internet. We only stayed one night, but couldn't fault the hotel or the staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank staffie2001uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The location of this Hotel was the main reason we booked it as it is in walking distance of most of the Lincoln attractions.
Room was lovely and there was plenty of parking. Breakfast was good.
There are conference facilities and a piano bar in the evening although we didn't use it it looked nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Littlesoapyfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband, child, and I stayed here for 3 nights. We checked in really late, but the lady at the front desk was very friendly and welcoming. The beds and room were comfortable. The rooms are not very big, we had a pack 'n play with us and we could only set it up in one place in the room (which was no big deal). The breakfast "buffet" is less of a buffet and more of a typical hotel hot breakfast- cereal, toast, waffles, home fries, biscuits and gravy (similar to what most Hamptons offer). The parking lot is really small, everytime we pulled in I always hoped we would find a spot and luckily we always did.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BoilerUp2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at the State House in two nights during a recent vacation to see the Lincoln Museum and Lincoln sites. We had a very nice king suite room. It provided a refrigerator, microwave, and a sitting area in addition to the bedroom. However, the bottom sheet of the bed kept coming off the bed making it very difficult to sleep. This happened both nights we were there and it also happened to another couple we visited Springfield with who were staying in the same hotel. The complementary breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kurt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.5 mi away
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Springfield City Centre
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
0.5 mi away
Carpenter Street Hotel
Carpenter Street Hotel
#14 of 38 in Springfield
242 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ramada Springfield North
Ramada Springfield North
#3 of 38 in Springfield
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel

Property: The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
Address: 101 E Adams St, Springfield, IL 62701-1108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Springfield
#10 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#16 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The State House Inn is the only major hotel in downtown Springfield, Illinois to offer a complimentary full hot breakfast, super fast hotel wide WiFi and parking. The combined value of these complimentary goods/services make us, by far, the best value in Springfield. Also, when we say "Breakfast", we mean a real breakfast with eggs, breakfast meats, potatoes, biscuits & gravy, waffles, cereals, yogurt, muffins, toast, juices, Seattle's Best coffee & teas, etc. You could easily spend $10/person replicating our breakfast in a restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Springfield
Clarion Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing