We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My room could have used some more room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My room could have used some more room”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I don't want my title to scare people away from this establishment. This is a good Hotel. If you are transacting business with the State of Illinois you should stay here. All of the major state offices are right across the street as well as the state capitol building. If you are taking Amtrak you are only about three blocks from this hotel. They have an outstanding breakfast. The rooms have everthing you would ever need in a hotel room. There were only two problems I had with this hotel. Granted, since I was traveling alone, these were really not issues for me. However, if a family of four were to stay in the room is was in, these two things might be a problem. First, the bathroom door was a large sliding door which covered the closet when it was open. A novel idea at that. However, the door did not have any kind of lock on it. This was not an issue for me, but for a family of four a lock on the door is important. The other problem was the lack of floor space. If you look at the photos accompanying this review, shots numbered 4, 18, 36 and 37 were probably taken in a room like the one I stayed in. By the time you put in two queensized beds, a chair, a floor lamp and a large combination chest of drawers and desk, which also serves as a TV stand, it just does not leave any room for much else. I might suggest that the management remove the furniture other than the beds and do the following. Replace the current TV with a wall mounted flat screen. Replace the floor lamp with a hanging lamp. Get rid of the the combination desk and chest of drawers. In its place, put some drawers in the closet and put a smaller desk in the corner by the window. These changes would improve the room considrably. In conclusion, if you are traveling on your own, my room was fine. If you are traveling with a family, you might want to consider a different room. Overall, the palce is a good hotel.

Room Tip: If you are traveling as a family of four, don't get the room with the two queensized beeds. Go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrbill59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joejeter, Owner at The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
First I want to thank this Guest for pointing out some of the things that make us an exemplary hotel before they made the rest of their comments. We do work hard to provide the best hotel experience we can.

That being said, we acknowledge that our rooms are small. The hotel was built in 1963 and this was the standard. Back in the Ricky & Lucy days of the 1960's a hotel room either had one single bed or two single beds and some furniture. Things have changed and now traveling Americans want at least a long Double Bed and most prefer a Queen or King size bed.

Even though we did a complete gut remodel when we redid the hotel in 2003, the locations of major structural, electrical & plumbing chases could not be changed so we had to make the best out of the room we had. Before I forget, we do have 23 Suites and 2 Executive Suites that are much larger than our standard rooms; if you need space we can provide it. If you've ever stayed in a hotel in New York then our rooms seem large anyway; it's all relative.

The sliding door is a huge improvement because it doesn't swing into the bathroom effectively reducing the size of the room by 3 feet. We agonized over a locking feature but our hotel is primarily for business travelers and a lock just didn't make as much sense as having a solid core door with a rubberized seal to provide privacy. I just stayed at a brand new hotel (Aloft by W Hotels) and they had almost the exact door configuration we had with no lock.

Again, I appreciate that this guest didn't just point out everything they took exception to and ignore everything else. One thing they did miss however is that every large piece of furniture in that room is custom sized. We reduced the width of the case goods from their standard width to compensate for room size. It's a tiny detail that almost nobody would catch, but 2" here and 2" there can make a big difference. That required that we design and build all of our own furniture so we did.

Thank you for choosing the State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    381
    121
    37
    16
See reviews for
230
349
65
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Good base for sight seeing, though not a great selection of restaurants nearby - generally mostly sports bars. Though it was great to have a Cold Stone Creamery nearby.

Room was clean, comfortable and pleasantly furnished. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saint100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I've been to Springfield a number of times but this was my first time at this hotel and I would return. It is very close to the Capital building and Lincoln sites. Very nice decor, rooms comfortable, great hot breakfast, nice hotel staff, free Wi-Fi, free parking. Really a nice surprise! Check it out.

Room Tip: I had a queen room that was a living room with separate bedroom, small counter, microwave, refrigera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel is perfect for a short visit to Springfield because of its close proximity to everything in the downtown area: Capitol building, Old State Capitol building, Lincoln Museum and Library,Lincoln home, and Amtrak station. A full breakfast and clean, comfortable, quiet rooms and free Wi-Fi are a plus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dekalbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Clean place Free parking Wi-Fi and breakfast Great location safe area
Nice bar is open till late.
Pantry area is nice to pick up snacks or anything you forgot.
Very nice indian restaurant 12 min away.
Furniture has a lot if newer Ikea stuff but I prefer this to older moldy furniture

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taufiq H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Just returned from Springfield. Stayed at the State House Inn from reviews on Trip Advisor. Hotel was cozy, great price and close to all the Lincoln sites. Which were easy to find once you get the hang of the one-way streets. Full hot breakfast. Comfy beds . Only complaint was that the toilets were practically on the ground and the sink was high. It also had a large lip that was hard to lean over to brush teeth. Also, we had a hard time finding places to eat at lunch - besides fast food. All in all I would recommend this hotel for a week-end stay in Lincolnland.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travlr64-49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joejeter, Owner at The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We really appreciate the time and energy our guests put into posting reviews here and on other websites about our property. Sometimes, even when the review is generally positive, something jumps out at me that might merit clarification. This is one of those reviews.
I'm not quite sure why they felt the toilets were low. Toilet height, especially in our accessible rooms, is governed by Building Code. We do not have low-boy toilets so, again, not sure why this comment came through. The counter-tops however were intentionally placed a couple of inches higher than what might be considered "normal". Since "Counter Height Standards" were set, the average height in this country has increased. There are more and more public facilities placing their sink counters 2" higher than what most people might be used to if they spend most of their time in older facilities. I'm 6'3" so I really appreciate the higher counters. If a guest loved our hotel but wanted lower counters, they should request an accessible room as they will have lower sinks and higher toilets. We have accessible rooms of every type; one on each floor of the building. Other than these two items, I'm happy to hear that this guest enjoyed their stay.
Joe Jeter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I would stay here again in a heartbeat; within easy walking distance to the Lincoln Museum and Library, State Capital Building (practically across the street), Old State Capital, Lincoln's Home and the Amtrak station. The staff were very pleasant and accommodating, even to the point of getting us map-quest directions to the Botanical Gardens.
The hotel is styled In the 70's Retro which we thought quite charming and for the most part, comfortable. The suites were very clean, the beds and pillows as good as our own. The heat/air was controlled by individual thermostats in the sitting room and the bedroom. Robes in the bathroom along with plenty of towels and toiletries rounded out the experience. This hotel is definitely on our list of do-overs!!

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor facing the Capital Building; beautiful view after dark! No noise and very q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alecsgrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.5 mi away
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Springfield City Centre
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
0.5 mi away
Carpenter Street Hotel
Carpenter Street Hotel
#14 of 38 in Springfield
242 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ramada Springfield North
Ramada Springfield North
#3 of 38 in Springfield
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel

Property: The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
Address: 101 E Adams St, Springfield, IL 62701-1108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Springfield
#10 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#16 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The State House Inn is the only major hotel in downtown Springfield, Illinois to offer a complimentary full hot breakfast, super fast hotel wide WiFi and parking. The combined value of these complimentary goods/services make us, by far, the best value in Springfield. Also, when we say "Breakfast", we mean a real breakfast with eggs, breakfast meats, potatoes, biscuits & gravy, waffles, cereals, yogurt, muffins, toast, juices, Seattle's Best coffee & teas, etc. You could easily spend $10/person replicating our breakfast in a restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Springfield
Clarion Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing