We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautifully remodeled” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautifully remodeled”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

My family stayed in a 1 Bedroom (queen) suite (accessible--because that's what was available). There was LOTS of room. The main living area is quite large and features a futon, 4 large chairs and 3 small tables. The room also has a small desk area and a large "dining" room table. There is a kitchenette area with a full sized fridge, microwave, and full sized sink. The kitchenette is stocked with enough dishes for four people. The bathroom area was nicely tiled and also had a small cart with shelves to hold towels and other bathroom items. The suite has one closet just outside the bathroom door. The bedroom area had a queen bed, a nightstand, a chest of drawers and another large dresser. The main living area and the bedroom both have TV sets. The decor in the room is retro modern--reminded me of the late 60's but very fresh. We had no problems or complaints. The fold out futon bed sleeps one at best (or two small children). Our 5' 9" son's feet hung off the futon bed a bit--and we ordered a rollaway for our daughter. There was plenty of room for both "beds" in the main living area--and we could have easily fit the rollaway in the bedroom if necessary. The breakfast was good--eggs, bacon, potatoes, biscuits & gravy, make your own waffles, strawberries, fruit, yogurt, English muffins, bagels, misc. juices, coffee, etc. Not many cereal choices but plenty of other food available. The hotel is the closest to the State Capitol--and a short walk from the other Lincoln sites. Free parking was very handy too. I would recommend his hotel to friends--and already have! If this hotel had a pool it would have been perfect (for my kids) but that wasn't a priority for our trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    369
    114
    35
    16
See reviews for
225
339
62
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Forney, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

This hotel was not at all, what we expected. Small room, stiff beds. The other guests were up all night partying and running from room to room. We got almost no sleep and then were very little room for us at breakfast.

The young man at the desk tried to move us to a smoking room after we had specifically requested a nonsmoking room.

I would not recommend this hotel. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rowedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joejeter, Owner at The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
I'm sorry this guest had a bad experience but I will let the hundreds of reviews here on TripAdvisor speak for themselves. Our mattresses are the same mattress used in many 4 and 5 star hotels. We have been using Pillow-Top mattresses since we opened almost 10 years ago.

This reviews falls under the category "you can't please everybody". It's disappointing but when someone says something as completely untrue as "hard mattresses", then I know that they were just bitter.

Joe Jeter, Managing Owner
The State House Inn Management, LLC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Rooms and staff were excellent. Free parking and wifi. If I had to complain about something, it would be that in modern times they still don't have flat panel tvs, buy hey you still get cable, so really not a big deal. Needs are awesome. We asked for towels and house keeping was there in like less than 5 min, its as if they were just waiting out there for our request. The maintenance guy came just as quick. The front desk lady, Kelly is super nice.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowoc, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

The hotel was good. Great downtown location. The breakfast was pretty good but some of the food was a little cold. The room was nice but there wasn't much space between the beds and the desk and we kept hitting our legs on the bed. The beds were comfortable but the pillows were very small and square. Overall the entire experience was great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missem137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hill, MD
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed two nights. Great breakfast, real food, better than any chain. Big suite, fitness room and close to the Lincoln sites. Glad we stayed. Oh, except for the fire alarm in the night!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Frodo1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Moline, Illinois
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

It was a very nice hotel, and we loved the suite we had. I forgot my phone charger in the room and the prompt and courteous housekeeping manager located it and promptly put it in the mail for me. The breakfast buffet was excellent and was very convenient .We will definitely stay here the next time we're in Springfield!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diamondg12u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was my first time staying here. I was a little apprehensive being that they said it was a 60s style hotel but I was pleasantly surprised. No problem with room. Breakfast was not that great but it was free. I would stay here again it was so close to Museums and we had a great time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank voicegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.4 mi away
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Springfield City Centre
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield
0.5 mi away
Carpenter Street Hotel
Carpenter Street Hotel
#11 of 38 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
5.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel

Property: The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
Address: 101 E Adams St, Springfield, IL 62701-1108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Springfield
#10 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#16 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The State House Inn is the only major hotel in downtown Springfield, Illinois to offer a complimentary full hot breakfast, super fast hotel wide WiFi and parking. The combined value of these complimentary goods/services make us, by far, the best value in Springfield. Also, when we say "Breakfast", we mean a real breakfast with eggs, breakfast meats, potatoes, biscuits & gravy, waffles, cereals, yogurt, muffins, toast, juices, Seattle's Best coffee & teas, etc. You could easily spend $10/person replicating our breakfast in a restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Springfield
Clarion Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing