We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place in downtown springfield”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best place in downtown springfield”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

This hotel is near the capital, on the other side of downtown from the other downtown hotels, but still walking distance to bars and restaraunts. This is the hotel that my business uses when clients come into Springfield, and where I stay when working on the House, need a night out, etc. It is not the greatest hotel in the state or even in town, but it is the most renovated, best sized, best staffed hotel in downtown springfield.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spiil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    373
    114
    35
    16
See reviews for
227
341
62
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rock Island, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

The hotel was nice and centrally located. The downfall was that the fire alarm went off at 3:00 am. Which is totally understandable if there is actually a fire. While standing outside in my pajamas for about 30 minutes another person said he stayed there 2 months prior and had the same thing happen.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRYAN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamonPriddy, Manager at The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
I am amazed to see a review like this one. This guest rated our hotel the lowest possible score because a life saving device/system was activated. Yes, we did experience a fire alarm last week, but no it is not a regular occurrence as this review insinuates. Our entire system is fully inspected annually, just as other public facilities. The only time our system sounds is if there is a real issue or reason.

In this instance the system was sounded because of a smoke detector detecting smoke on the 5th floor of the hotel. This smoke appeared to be from another guest of the hotel (whether they were smoking or it was some type of prank, we are unsure). The fire department responded, as well as hotel management. We treat each and every alarm as a serious and real event and we will continue to do so.

Guest safety is our #1 priority. I personally do not feel that a random fire alarm sounding at a hotel warrants a negative review, nor does it have anything to do with the hotel itself (cleanliness, amenities, value, etc). Any questions regarding our emergency plan, procedures, or systems can be directed to me at damon@thestatehouseinn.com.

Cordially,

Damon L. Priddy, CRDE
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collinsville, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

Complimentary upgrade, and excellent hot breakfast, are just two of the many features that keep us coming back to this fine hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

The rooms were nice. The staff were courteous. The hotel advertised free WiFi and a business center. WiFi did not work while using my phone most of the time. The computers in the business center were old and I could not get them to print from my zip drive. This hotel was well worth the price that i paid per night. I would recommend it if you are visiting Springfield IL.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpb491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamonPriddy, Manager at The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
As always, we appreciate the unbiased feedback we receive on platforms such as TripAdvisor. However, when we come across issues or comments such as the above, we need to set the record straight.

We do indeed advertise and provide complimentary WiFi and a state-of-the-art Business Center... again free to use. Our WiFi is one of the fastest offered in the city, with brand new technology just installed less than six months ago. Many guests report speeds up to 50mbps! That is faster than most receive at home. We offer the fastest Business Class speed offered in Springfield. Guests are required to accept the terms and conditions of use (just one of those annoying legalities) before they are able to access the internet. I would assume this guest attempted to use an app or program on their phone without actually going online to click "accept".

As for the Business Center, we are the only hotel in Downtown Springfield and possibly the city to offer such an extensive business center that is free to use. No, we are not the hotel that sets up one PC in the hotel lobby. We offer four Dell PC's with flat panel monitors and two new (within the past year) multi-function laser print/scan/copy/fax machines. All four machines print to these printers.

Are the PC's brand new? No, of course they are not. A hotel could not possibly attempt to keep up with the ever-changing technology. Do you purchase a brand new computer/laptop every year? With that said, the PC's are all fairly new and are in perfect working order and are all running the latest addition of Internet Explorer, Microsoft Office, and Windows XP. My only assumption with the comment above is that either this guest was attempting to open/print a file that was not supported by a program installed on the PC or our PC restrictions kept them from opening and printing this document. Unfortunately I was not made aware until this review, so I can not be sure.

Again, we always appreciate the feedback and the opportunity to resolve issues... even if they are post-stay. Feel free to contact me directly with any other questions regarding our amenities. Thank you!

Cordially,

Damon L. Priddy, CRDE
Assistant General Manager
The State House Inn, Springfield IL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

I stayed there after Christmas.
I found their rate on internet.
Probably it was off season.
The offer showed $63 with AAA member card!
Ididn't expect so much because of the hotel rate.

But the room was very clean and in immaculate order.
The equipment was nice too.
"Simmons" bed gave us a good sleep.

Additionally, their breakfast buffet was enough to satisfy the customer.
It included hot meal like scrambled egg and waffle.

Nothing disappointed in stay except there were few night spot around there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mambomaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

This was our first stay at this hotel and we were pleasantly surprised. The staff was friendly and courteous. The 60's retro decor was a nice change. The free hot breakfast along with the free parking in the city center worked out perfectly for our needs.We will certainly stay there on our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrg1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamonPriddy, Manager at The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Thank you for your review! We appreciate your 5-star rating. It is always great to hear when a guest finds us for the first time and thoroughly enjoyed their stay!

We are the only downtown hotel to offer free parking, free WiFi, and the full hot breakfast buffet each morning. When you add it all up, thats about a $30.00 value per day when comparing to some other downtown hotels.

Again, thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our unique and historic decor. I look forward to your next stay with us!


Cordially,

Damon L. Priddy, CRDE
Assistant General Manager
Email: damon@thestatehouseinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

The staff was so helpful and the location was in a great spot. It was right down in the middle of downtown Springfield. All the restaurants were easy to find from this location. If it was not so cold during our stay there. I could have walked everywhere we wanted to go. If your visiting in Springfield this is the place to spend alone time with that special someone in your life. My husband and I went down for the Lincoln Challenge Graduation for his brother and we did not bring our kids. This place was beautiful and very peaceful for a nice quiet get away weekend. The breakfast they served was hot, fresh and delicious. They only thing I do wish they had was a pool and hot tub and that would have been nice if that was apart of the hotel. But, overall we enjoyed our stay there. If you decide to stay at The State House go to the Lincoln Museum and Library that place is awesome.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.5 mi away
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Springfield City Centre
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Carpenter Street Hotel
Carpenter Street Hotel
#13 of 38 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield
3.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 38 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel

Property: The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
Address: 101 E Adams St, Springfield, IL 62701-1108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Springfield
#10 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#16 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The State House Inn is the only major hotel in downtown Springfield, Illinois to offer a complimentary full hot breakfast, super fast hotel wide WiFi and parking. The combined value of these complimentary goods/services make us, by far, the best value in Springfield. Also, when we say "Breakfast", we mean a real breakfast with eggs, breakfast meats, potatoes, biscuits & gravy, waffles, cereals, yogurt, muffins, toast, juices, Seattle's Best coffee & teas, etc. You could easily spend $10/person replicating our breakfast in a restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Springfield
Clarion Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing