We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great base from which to visit all the Linclon attractions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Springfield, IL - The State House
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2011

This is our second time staying at the State House Inn. We had a good time the first time and this time it was better. The staff were more friendly and helpful. The No Name Bar is very nice and has reasonable prices. Although the tour bus does not currently stop at the hotel, as it did the last time we were there, it is only a short walk to a stop. If you want to see all the attractions in Springfield that center around the 16th president, there is no better place to stay in my opinion.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oldzion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (971)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

713 - 719 of 971 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed at The State House Inn last year around the middle of September, we returned again this year October 6-9. Both times we had a Suite ,last year on the seventh floor this year on the third year. We felt the room this year was a little (very little) less clean. The bed in Room 318 felt like you were sleeping on a mountain in the center and when you rolled over you rolled into the end of the bed valley. The matress cover and bottom sheets never stayed on and the bed frame makes it very hard to put them back on, We would wake up in the middle of the night with sheets and matress covers out and bunched together. We did mention this to housekeeping and althought the bed was made, after one turn in the bed the cover and sheet were off and bunching. Front desk personnel was very helpful with directions. Location is excellent for walking to all attractions, A good breakfast selection and loved the refrigerator and microwave oven in the room. We have and will continue to recommend this location to friends and family. Keep up the good work but try and fix the matress cover and bottom sheet problem.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joejeter, Owner at Red Roof Inn Springfield, IL - The State House, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2011

As always we appreciate it when a Guest takes the time to review our property. The issue with the bed in this review, while not common, has happened before. The metal frames under the mattress occasionally fail causing the mattress to be uneven. It's hard for Housekeeping to see this because the mattress remains flat until you lie on it. We will send Maintenance to the 3rd floor and check all the frames in the Suites until we find the culprit. When the mattress tweaks, the sheets pop off. I apologize for this and I wish someone had clued into the frame issue when the guest complained about the bedding. At least NOW we will be able to solve the problem in this room before it taunts another client.

Thank you for staying at the State House Inn and we look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,

Joe Jeter, Managing Owner
The State House Inn Management, L.L.C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

This is my second review of The State House Inn. We last stayed here in 2007 and things were just as wonderful this time around.

The hotel is clean, well kept, and staffed by a team of very helpful people. The lobby is beautiful (love the retro feel and furniture) and breakfast area is comfortable with a large screen TV. The free parking, free internet, and free breakfast are most welcome…three items that you usually get stuck paying for at most large hotels.

The beds were still fabulous and it was great to be able to walk to around in the room without my socks (there aren’t a lot of places where I feel comfortable enough to do that). The big fluffy robes are a nice little luxury, making the lodging adventure a little more romantic.

Breakfast is better than most free hotel breakfasts. There are a lot of food options, and they have friendly attendants working the room to keep the tables clean and the dining traffic moving.

The hotel is very convenient to downtown…we walked everywhere but to the State Fair. There are plenty of historic things to see and do, and the little shops are fun to visit. Our only complaint is that downtown rolls up the streets way too early! We wanted to get some dessert and coffee on a Saturday night, but the only place open late was the Cold Stone Creamery.

I disagree with one of the previous reviewers who said that The State House Inn’s ratings were inflated. For the location and the price, this hotel can’t be beat in Springfield. We certainly won't be staying any place else!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doormold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

September 28 we stayed 4 nights in suite #300. Room was large & clean w/comfortable bed, housekeeping great. Breakfast good, location excellent for walking to Lincoln attractions & centrally located for driving. Would recommend to our friends. Good restaurants were "Maldaner's" "Lake Pointe Grill" D'Arcy's" & "Gian Franco's Italian Restaurant".

Room Tip: Suites on west side are larger than those on the east side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

This was my second stay at the State House Inn. The first trip was business and this was for a short little sight-seeing trip. We got one of the queen suites which consisted of two rooms and was quite comfortable--all for $109 (pre-tax) which, given the cost of other downtown hotels, is super reasonable. Unlike other downtown hotels, that price included both breakfast and parking.
We enjoyed the South Beach retro modern atmosphere and interior design, with interesting art, furniture and uncluttered functional spaces and appreciated the thoughtful little touches like the Bath & Body works toiletries and the Seattles' Best in room coffee service. Our room was quiet and the bed was quite comfortable.
On the downside, the washroom was very small and lacked an exhaust fan--both minor issues but worth noting.
We had a great stay overall and would definitely recomend it to others wishing to stay within walking distance of many of the downtown sights.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusinessTraveler04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joejeter, Owner at Red Roof Inn Springfield, IL - The State House, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2011

As the Managing Partner, I want to thank this Guest, and every Guest that takes the time to Review our Hotel. It is our policy to respond to these reviews if ANY clarifications need to be made.

This guest commented that there were no exhaust fans in the bathrooms. The fans are located on the roof and each bathroom is continuously ventilated. By placing the fans on the roof and not in the guest room, they are virtually silent. A trick to make sure these fans are operating is to hold a piece of tissue up near the vent in the ceiling. It should be sucked into the grille and remain there until you pull it off. Our maintenance technician checks the operations of these fans and every other piece of equipment in the building on a daily basis.

Again, we appreciate your comments and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Joe Jeter, Managing Partner
The State House Inn Management, L.L.C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Upon arrival, the facilty looks suspiciously 1960 - but the interior has been made very modern. The reception desk personnel were wonderfully helpful and friendly. The suite we had was adequate - the bedrrom was great and the barhroom was modern....but the main living room furniture really needs to be better maintained. The sofa was a vinyl/steel modern piece, but the seams were all torn making it look shabby.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bagpipemarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joejeter, Owner at Red Roof Inn Springfield, IL - The State House, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2011

This review is exactly what I was talking about in my last Management Response. By inviting guests to post reviews, we expose ourselves to both praise and criticism. We REALLY do appreciate when issues like the worn sofas are brought to our attention as we sometimes cannot see the forest for the trees. I will forward this review to my General Manager and then our Maintenance staff will look for worn Sofa/Futon's in the suites and we will get them repaired. This one has either slipped past someone's attention or Housekeeping didn't find it to be an issue BUT our guest did hence, time to take action.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

Just to be clear. Our hotel was built in 1963 but when we purchased the property in 2001 it was dilapidated and, frankly, disgusting. We literally gutted the building down to its concrete walls and floors and rebuilt it from the ground up. The exterior of the building has been designated historic as it exemplifies that particular style of 1960's architecture. We decided to take this one step further by re-doing the interiors in 1960's design but with all the modern conveniences. In the lobby we actually have original 1960's furniture that has been meticulously refinished then, in the guest rooms we took iconic 1960's furniture and literally designed our own line of furniture around it. You won't find our hotel furniture anywhere else in the world because it was designed by us and built for us. It's not everybody's cup of tea and occasionally people are confused because they think the furniture is actually from that period, but it was all built new in 2002 and 2003. We had a lot of fun with this property making it unique. That's why Shelter Magazine did a 13 page spread on the interiors shortly after we opened.

And, yes, don't let the outsides fool you. The lobby is graced with Terrazzo Floors, Granite Counters, and Walnut paneling. We are NOT your typical 3 star hotel but, hey, who wants to be "typical"?

Joe Jeter, Managing Owner
The State House Inn Management, L.L.C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

I had room 711 on the top floor. I don’t know if other rooms on the floor are larger, but this room was “cosy” and seemed small for a room with two double beds. It had a connecting door so might be part of a suite. It had a bank of large windows across the width of the room and since it faces east is a nice, sunny room with a good view of the sunrise.

The linens were excellent quality with a good assortment of bright white towels and 2 bathrobes. There were good bathroom amenities and Seattles Best coffee for the in-room coffee service. The air conditioning was good, hot water plentiful and there was good water pressure. This is a comfortable, well appointed and very clean room.

The included hot breakfast is as good as it gets. Eggs, Bacon, sausage, potatoes, make-your-own-waffles, yogurts, a large selection of breads, both cut and whole fruit, coffee/tea/chocolate and other items too.

Staff were pleasant, friendly and helpful.

This is more of a business-type of hotel so there is no pool. I enjoyed my stay here while visiting Springfield’s historic sites on a group tour.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esther P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.5 mi away
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Springfield City Centre
3.7 mi away
Ramada Springfield North
Ramada Springfield North
#3 of 38 in Springfield
722 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
#7 of 38 in Springfield
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Springfield, IL - The State House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Springfield, IL - The State House

Address: 101 E Adams St, Springfield, IL 62701-1108 (Formerly The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel)
Location: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Springfield
#10 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#16 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range: $94 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Roof Inn Springfield, IL - The State House 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn Springfield, IL - The State House has newly renovated rooms, offers Free WiFi, and is pet friendly. This hotel offers both smoking and non-smoking rooms. Centrally located within the city limits of Springfield, within walking distance to great restaurants and historical site attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Springfield, IL - The State House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Springfield
Clarion Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing