We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay on our trip West!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Stayed June 29, 2011. The reviews on travel advisor steered me here, and it was worth it. This is a great place to stay. Very clean, griendly staff and good value. The breakfast was great. Eggs, meat, belgian waffles, breads, fruit, cereal, yogurt, juice, coffee and milk. The rooms were nice. Plently of towels, robes, hairdryer, bottled water, and coffee. Only issues were that I would have liked more water pressure in the shower. Also, the trains went through at 4:30am sounding their horns. Obviously not the fault of the hotel, but still notable to light sleepers. Overall a great, clean place and a great value. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: AAA rate beat all website offers
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank disneyhlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (958)
There are newer reviews for The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

747 - 753 of 958 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2011

I stay at the State House Inn weekly for business for a better part of the year. I have always found the management and staff to be extremely conscientious while providing quality service and comfort to it's clientele. It really says a lot that many of the people who stay at The State House Inn are repeat customers, year after year. The bottom line is that I would not stay anywhere else in the Springfield area. They truly treat you like you are one of their family!!

Room Tip: They make it extremely easy!!
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmspencer68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

I've been wavering between a very good and excellent rating for this hotel, and decided on excellent. Not only because that makes me the 100th person to rate it as excellent, but because it really is an exceptional hotel. As my title suggests, the location just can't be beat if you are in Springfield for sightseeing. You look out at the Capitol. The Old Capitol and the Lincoln and Herndon law office are just a few blocks down Adams Street. The Lincoln house is within walking distance. But there's more to location that makes this hotel stand out. Everyone I saw at the desk went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Unlike the lesser competitors, who have bored teenagers or foreigners who can barely speak English on the front desk, these people were travel/hospitality professionals. As so many others here have noted, the breakfast is much better than their competitors. The accommodation is clean and up to date. The minor quibbles that take this from a A+ to an A in my book are: the room was a bit small. The bathroom had a pocket door that was a little unsettling. There is no fridge, and the wireless is just in the lobby area. But these did not detract from a great stay. They give you an ethernet cable that works just fine. I noticed there are some inexpensive competitors in Springfield, which must account for the great rate I received. You can't go wrong here; a great value in a great place.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VTyankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamonPriddy, Manager at The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2011

Thank you, thank you, thank you! We very much appreciate your wonderful and detailed review... and the fact that you are the 100th person to rate us 5 out of 5! We pride ourselves on our staff and high level of service that they provide. I will certainly share your comments with our Guest Services Supervisor.

As for the "minor quibbles" that you mentioned, I appreciate your honest feedback. Our rooms may be smaller than some of the new "cookie cutter" hotels and can sometimes be tight for families. However, most find our rooms very well appointed and ample for the time spent in the room. We also offer suites, which are twice the size, do have a refrigerator, and only a few dollars to upgrade to. We do offer complimentary refrigerators for anyone who requests them that are not staying in a suite.

Most will also be happy to know that we are in the process of upgrading our complimentary internet access to include free WIFI! We are a historic building with extra sound-proofed walls. So, as you many imagine, we have had some difficulty in the wireless access area... but it is coming.

Thank you again for your review. We appreciate your feedback... and your excellent 5 out of 5 rating!


Cordially,

Damon L. Priddy, CRDE
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed here while visiting the Lincoln Museum and Lincoln's New Salem. The staff are cordial and helpful, the decor is bright and the rooms are clean and updated. Our room had the most comfortable hotel mattress I have ever slept upon. We stayed on the sixth floor on a Thursday and Friday night and it was very calm and quiet.

The complimentary breakfast is another best. We had biscuits and gravey, bacon, sausage, fried potatoes and Belgian waffles. Also offered are the usual bagels, muffins, cereal, fruit and juice. Everything was delicious and very high quality.

The only things we wished for and didn't have were a swimming pool and hot tub. We stayed in a suite and had a TV in each room and a microwave, fridge and sink in the parlor. The bathroom was spacious and everything worked as it should. Large picture windows look out on the State Capital, which is only a block away. There are also good restaurants within five or six blocks including Augie's Burner, El Moxo (Mayan) and The Holy Land. There is no food service in the hotel, only a bar and a gift/snack shop.

Highly recommended, especially if you are a history buff interested in the Lincoln sites.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhanTom4570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed at this Inn for a wedding. Everything was great from the front desk to the bartender to the lost and found department. My son's girlfriend left her necklace, called and they found it and will mail it! Thank you!

Room Tip: The suites are great but not super large.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MicheleIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

This hotel provided a very friendly staff, comfortable room, delicious breakfast, and a good location for downtown sites. I especially appreciated the delivery of USA Today in the morning along with my receipt and directions for speedy checkout. The plush robes and Bath and Body Works toiletries were an extra bonus.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iowaretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

If you care about design stay here.
Also inexpensive ($106) and good breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dgeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.5 mi away
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Springfield City Centre
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
0.5 mi away
Carpenter Street Hotel
Carpenter Street Hotel
#15 of 38 in Springfield
245 reviews
3.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 38 in Springfield
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel

Address: 101 E Adams St, Springfield, IL 62701-1108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Springfield
#10 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#16 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range: $112 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The State House Inn is the only major hotel in downtown Springfield, Illinois to offer a complimentary full hot breakfast, super fast hotel wide WiFi and parking. The combined value of these complimentary goods/services make us, by far, the best value in Springfield. Also, when we say "Breakfast", we mean a real breakfast with eggs, breakfast meats, potatoes, biscuits & gravy, waffles, cereals, yogurt, muffins, toast, juices, Seattle's Best coffee & teas, etc. You could easily spend $10/person replicating our breakfast in a restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Springfield
Clarion Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing