We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Route 66 Hotel And Conference Center
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun Time”
Reviewed January 14, 2008

Stayed here for a wedding reception. This is a unique hotel which contains lots of memorabilia! The pool was very enjoyable and the conference center where the reception was held was beautifully decorated. The food was very good and I had no problems with requesting extra towels & pillows as the staff was responsive to my needs. If you are interested in visiting a place which truly has some history throughout the hallways you should stay here.

  • Liked — The Pool
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank goFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    85
    81
    43
    37
See reviews for
47
123
19
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2007

This is a nice friendly hotel. It is very conveniently located for Route 66 travellers and great for those who want to visit the Lincoln Home and the Lincoln tomb.

My room was clean and a decent size if a little in need of refurbishment. The little cafe was extremely good value, serving a good selection of American food. I had a great breakfast for very little money.

Of course the hotel majors on Route 66 and there is lots of stuff you can buy t-shirts, mugs, etc and there is a nice Route 66 exhibition in the lobby.

So if you are passing through and it suits your itinery I would stay here.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Covenant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2007

I knew we were going to have problems when I turned the TV on and it began buzzing and shooting off plumes of smoke. Oddly, the smoke alarm didn't go off. Then I noticed that the sprinkler in my parents room was damaged and dangling from the ceiling.

This place was horribly noisy. A wedding reception was being held in the hotel. Many of the guests were drunk and wandering the halls screaming, yelling profanities, and talking crudely. This went on for SIX HOURS hours during the night. I complained 4 times to the front desk and finally had to make a special trip to the desk. The front desk clerk eventually had to call the Springfield Police to get a handle on the out of control wedding guests.

When I checked out I asked to speak to the owner or a manager - they weren't available. I called four times over the following week - no return call.

This is a noisy, potentially dangerous hotel with a non-responsive management. Not recommended for families.

  • Liked — Checking out
  • Disliked — unrelenting noise
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Crowder58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Springfield hotels

CessnaSkyhawk172
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2007

2 star hotel at 4 star hotel prices. Unclean and deteriorating bathrooms. Unfriendly staff. Be sure you confirm quoted price is billed amount. Will not return.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank CessnaSkyhawk172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2007

This hotel used to be an outdoor/balcony type motor inn but they build a new building around it. It was very weird. The rooms were old, bathroom was NOT clean. Seemed moldy and definitely musty. Cigarette smoke thorughout. Springfield has a law of no smoking in restaurants and bars but the teeny tiny restaurant had several smokers, and the staff smoked in an office behind the front desk. Manager was outright rude. They double charged for a fridge that didn't even work (had to throw some food away!) My toddler enjoyed the decor but hated the cigarette smoke he was forced to breath in.

  • Liked — toddler enjoyed the decor
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LoganSqMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2006

A very nice looking hotel from the moment you arrive with old moter cars and bikes throughout the lobby.

The room was nice and clean but beware of switching the light switches off as they power the TV as well..

Not much in the area of the hotel in the way of food but if you cross over the road behind the Mcdonalds you will find a nice local bar serving $1 draught beers

The staff were not to helpful and on our return home after our stay we found they had charged our credit card twice

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank layliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2006

We were just thinking of visiting the Springfield, IL. area to see the historical sites and happened on Rt. 66 Hotel information on the web. The web site was very intriguing and reasonably priced so we decided to book a room for 3 nights. There also happened to be a old car show going on in downtown springfield so the theme of Rt. 66 hotel went along very well with our time. The staff were soooo friendly and helpful. Everyone always had a smile on their face and they worked together better than any family I have seen. If you want a good time and friendly people to be around, we really suggest this hotel for you! Thank you Rt. 66 for making our time away from home so pleasant!

  • Liked — friendly
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 93wing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#17 of 38 in Springfield
178 reviews
2.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Springfield
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#26 of 38 in Springfield
123 reviews
3.5 mi away
Carpenter Street Hotel
Carpenter Street Hotel
#16 of 38 in Springfield
242 reviews
2.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Route 66 Hotel And Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Route 66 Hotel And Conference Center

Property: Route 66 Hotel And Conference Center
Address: 625 E Saint Joseph St, (6th & Stevenson Dr.), Springfield, IL 62703-4713
Location: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Route 66 Hotel And Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Route 66 Hotel And Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Route 66 Hotel And Springfield
Route 66 Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing