We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprising Poor Performance” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Springfield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia USA
Level Contributor
164 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Surprising Poor Performance”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

My wife and I were on an extended road trip and stopped in Springfield for a couple of days. As a longtime Hilton Honors member, I have always found the Hilton Garden Hotels to offer great accommodations and good service. After a long day of driving, we checked in and went to our room. We were surprised to find that the room had not been carefully cleaned, e.g., there was a large stain on the chair and footstool (coffee or soda) that my wife wiped up with a washcloth from the bathroom. We were too tired from driving to thoroughly inspect the room and did not want to go through the hassle of changing rooms so we decided to forget the incident. The next morning, on getting into the shower, I saw that there were several strands of long, dark on the bottom of the tub. My wife and I have not had dark hair for a few years so we knew they were not ours. Later, on the way out for the day we did bring to this the front desk’s attention. They asked if we had said anything earlier and assured us they would discuss this with housekeeping. When we came back that afternoon, the room was well cleaned and everything was in order. We stayed in five Hilton hotels on the trip and this was the only one in which we encountered poor cleaning and apparent lack of supervisory cross-checking.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobVirginiaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyHamlin, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Springfield, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
First of all, thank you for your candid feedback of your stay with us. I appreciate you selecting our hotel. I understand that you were disappointed with some issues at our hotel and more specifically regarding the cleanliness of your room. I am so sorry that your room was not properly cleaned when you first arrived. I am actively working with our housekeeping team to ensure our standards of cleanliness and comfort are consistently met. We strive on providing our guests with a clean and comfortable stay and we will do everything we need to do to ensure that this issue does not occur again. I am always looking for reviews to provide insight into our guests experience and I will keep your review in mind.

Thank you again for your feedback and I invite you back to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to the area.

Warm Regards,
Stacy Hamlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    185
    74
    37
    23
See reviews for
214
146
36
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

When we checked in, the clerk behind the desk was helping someone else but acknowledged us. She was very friendly but professional. We were looking for a quiet room after a day of driving. When we went to our room, we were next to a family who had children and were having a good time, laughing and talking. I get that but wanted quiet so went to back to the front desk. The clerk changed our room with no problem and understood what we were looking for. We were given a room in a quiet location. The bed was comfortable and the room very clean. The pool was small but clean. There was a hot tub but not a whirlpool. Again, very clean. We ate breakfast before leaving and it was very good. The servers were very outgoing and friendly and made sure we had plenty of coffee.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NormaRae03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

quality accommodations, and service, def great value The hotel was absolutely beautiful. We ordered the romance package for our wedding night and got amazing tasting chocolate strawberries and a bottle of champagne on ice. Our check in was quick and easy and check out was speedy as well. I would go back in a heartbeat and stay again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Gretchen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottleville, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

The woman at the front desk when we arrived was fantastic. The woman at the bar that night was the same woman that served us breakfast the next morning, and she was also wonderful. It was very quiet the whole time we were there, and we all got a great night's rest. We used the pool twice, and both times were the only ones there. It was on the smaller side, but cute, and most importantly, the water was warm. The hotel is close to a factory of some kind, so you could see smoke coming out of smoke-stacks. I wouldn't live near there, but staying one night it was fine, and we'd go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Comfortable bed & soft pillows. Microwave & fridge were clean. Bathrooms & room on the small size as well as the pool. Fastest check in ever! Close to highway on ramp. Panera is right across the street.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wiggleworms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This hotel is top notch. I would recommend to anyone to stay here. Sara and John in the restaurant are great. Lenee and Ebony at the front desk were a joy to see and that all comes down from the management. My room (416) was spotless and homey on a Thursday night stay in October. 10 stars from me. Thanks for the hospitality.

Tom M

Room Tip: King rooms are great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Concerned G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Park, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This hotel had very comfortable beds. The room was clean. It was convenient to get to off of the highway while we were traveling. The staff was friendly and made us feel welcome. We will stay there again when traveling in that area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield
3.4 mi away
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 38 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Springfield
Hampton Inn Springfield
#18 of 38 in Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
3.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Springfield

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
Address: 3100 S. Dirksen Parkway, Springfield, IL 62703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Springfield
#9 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#10 Family Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Springfield 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located at exit 94 of I-55 on the SE side of Springfield with shopping, movie theaters, and over 20 restaurants within a couple of blocks. We are also just minutes from the State Capitol Building Downtown and the Lincoln sites.-Complimentary high-speed Internet access and secure, remote printing to the business center-Refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker in every room-117 guestrooms (16 suites)-Full service Great American Grill Restaurant for breakfast and dinner-Evening room service-Pavilion Lounge-Heated indoor pool and whirlpool-Workout facility-Complimentary outdoor parking-Just over 4,200 sq. ft. of divisible meeting space to accommodate up to 200 people banquet style-On-site catering from our Executive Chef-Service that is focused on what is most important. YOU! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield Hotel Springfield
Springfield Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing