We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff but some operational issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
821 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Nice staff but some operational issues”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Check in and check out went well. Did not eat in restaurant but servers all acknowledged me when I was getting coffee. The issues were the sweet smell in the room which probably was the deordizer and the loud clicking noise when the a/c kicked in. Also carpets throughout hotel needed cleaning or replacing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smiller560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    193
    80
    39
    24
See reviews for
234
160
39
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night. Check in/check out were smooth. Staff was friendly. The place is clean (outside, inside in both common areas and in rooms). Bed was comfortable (and adjustable). The indoor pool was a bit small, but I didn't expect a huge pool anyway. I really have no complaints. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmjr81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We chose this hotel for our weekend getaway from Chicago and it was a good choice. We chose the King Suite room, which was not that much more than a standard room, and I would recommend it for the extra space. Note: The living and bedroom are not separated by a door. The hotel had all the HGI qualities: Mini-fridge in room, free wifi, cookies available at the desk in the evening. We didn't have much interaction with the staff, but they were friendly when we did. Location is outside the 'downtown' area, which is just fine, since downtown was not a very exciting place. The hotel is close to several restaurants, fast food, etc. Only issue was that the vent in the bathroom was great at carrying sound from another room, so it felt a little like we were eavesdropping on another guests. Otherwise, great stay and would defiantly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Spent 7 nights at the Hilton Garden last week since our previous Christmas time visit. The stay was wonderful - love the staff! They all act so accomodating and really seem to care we are satisfied. We spent most of the days away but coming back at the end of a tiring day we were assured to find relaxation. Either hanging out with Wes or Nino at the bar or grabbing cookies to take to room for a midnight snack. This will be always be the place for us to stay when we come to Springfield.

Only complaint was a couple of the TV channels had no volume and Friday night we were unable to watch the Olympics opening because the channel was not working. Hotel really needs to get on their satellite provider!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank estherhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2012

It is a few miles from the center of Springfield, which was good because we weren't near any run-down parts and we were closer to the expressway, which was convenient. When we entered the East side of the hotel, closest to our room, there was an overwhelming musty smell. The only other complaint was that we wanted to go sit in the spa for fifteen minutes at the end of the night- now granted it was close to 10p.m. but our feet were tired from walking all day and all we wanted to do was relax. That being said, there was two women sitting near the hot tub drinking beer while two little children were splashing around and screeching in the pool. Next thing you know, some guys came in there to meet them, with more beer and now food too. Then to top it off, there were some girls that must have been their daughters and in a softball tournament because they had their uniforms on and they kept coming in and out and propping the outside door open letting insects in. I felt this was rather rude, especially seeing that it was closer to 10:30 by that point- not very relaxing as we had intended, so we picked up our things and left.
On a more positive note, the bed was extremely comfortable and the accommodations were great! If I am ever down that way again, I might consider staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyHamlin, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Springfield, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Julie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about our hotel. We apologize for the inconvenient smell during your stay and we are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services and amenities you deserve. Because travel is very important, we try hard to make sure all our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We want you to know that we have addressed our staff in regards to the incident in the pool area, and we again apologize for your inconveniences. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

Best Regards,
Stacy Hamlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I booked three rooms for a wedding and the service at the front desk was the worst I've experienced at a hotel. We arrived after the wedding, a full hour past check in time. Not one of our three rooms was ready and the clerk at the front desk was rude, asking me to step aside while I waited for her to check on their status. After waiting ~10 minutes, I was told one of my rooms was ready so I sent my daughter-in-law there with her 2-year-old son so he could take a nap. Ten minutes later, I was finally told the second room was ready and my son-in-law took his two children there for their nap. I waited patiently for my own room and finally asked about it after another 10 minutes and got the response - oh, you have another room? When I originally went to the desk, I showed the clerk all three reservation receipts so there was no question I had reserved three rooms. I also requested two keys for each room and had to re-request for each one. When I checked out the next day, I again noted my disappointment with the check-in process and was told that the 3:00 check-in was not a guarantee - that is news to me, as it is at every other Hilton property! I was also blown off, never apologized to or given a second thought. So, I wrote to Hiton Honors customer srvice and was told the property would be in touch with me. The property told Hilton Honors they contacted me, which they never did; plus, they made up a story about my requesting connecting rooms, which I did not request, nor receive. They also told corporate that there were a LOT of check-ins at the same time - that was also untrue as many of the other wedding guests checked in prior to the wedding. We opted not to do that, as when I called to request early check in, I was told it might not be possible and since I had children with me, it seemed wiser not to make a trip for nothing. I attempted to have the property address my issues/concerns, as well as the corporate office but since neither seems to be taking me seriously, I am resorting to writing a bad review. I don't know if this helps, but I feel better letting others know the staff at this Garden Inn does not care about its guests. There was one highlight to our stay - the breakfast was awesome and our server, Sarah, was fantastic. She was attentive to our needs and responsive to my disappointment during check-in.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gerib54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Springfield, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
We are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. I again would like to apologize for the level of service you received at check in. We want you to know that our staff has been addressed and this will not happen again. If you would like to further discuss please don’t hesitate to contact me directly. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2012

This hotel was great! My family and friends enjoyed their stay during our wedding weekend. Everyone there was so helpful and even gave my new husband and I free breakfast the morning after the wedding. I would definitely recommend them again!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
3.4 mi away
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 38 in Springfield
200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Springfield
4.9 mi away
Ramada Springfield North
Ramada Springfield North
#3 of 38 in Springfield
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Springfield

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
Address: 3100 S. Dirksen Parkway, Springfield, IL 62703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Springfield
#9 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#10 Family Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Springfield 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located at exit 94 of I-55 on the SE side of Springfield with shopping, movie theaters, and over 20 restaurants within a couple of blocks. We are also just minutes from the State Capitol Building Downtown and the Lincoln sites.-Complimentary high-speed Internet access and secure, remote printing to the business center-Refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker in every room-117 guestrooms (16 suites)-Full service Great American Grill Restaurant for breakfast and dinner-Evening room service-Pavilion Lounge-Heated indoor pool and whirlpool-Workout facility-Complimentary outdoor parking-Just over 4,200 sq. ft. of divisible meeting space to accommodate up to 200 people banquet style-On-site catering from our Executive Chef-Service that is focused on what is most important. YOU! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield Hotel Springfield
Springfield Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing