We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Quincy, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Over priced”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We have stayed at several differnt Hilton Garden Inns. This one is ok. The outside looks really nice. The rooms are showing some wear, but not horrible. The price was way too high for what we got. We stayed at one in St. Louis, MO for cheaper and it was much much nicer. It is close to several food options and right off the interstate. Might stay again in a pinch. Do shop around.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bsc2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyHamlin, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Springfield, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel for your travel needs. I apologize if you felt the room rate was too expensive. We will be undergoing replacement of case goods in the guest rooms and also carpet as well as a full remodel of our lobby. We look forward to you returning and staying with us to enjoy these upgrades
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    191
    80
    37
    24
See reviews for
231
158
37
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prospect Heights
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2012

I travel many days during the year and when I visit Springfield, Il. I always stay at the Hilton Garden Inn. Yes, the hotel is clean, rooms are spotless and it is centrally located in Springfield to all the tourist attractions and places to visit.. More importantly, the staff there is extremely accommodating to all of your needs. They are friendly and make yo feel like you are their only customer.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyHamlin, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Springfield, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear Loyal Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very pleased to know you had an enjoyable stay among us and we are looking forward to welcoming back to our hotel in the future.

With warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams Bay, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This is a nice hotel, but there is no free breakfest in the morning and I felt the price was somewhat high for what it is.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigguy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Typical HGI located among many restaurants in Springfield. Easy expressway access to and from. Service was good throughout my stay. Flat panel TVs with some HD channels including ESPN. I'll stay here again when I return this summer.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brauntosaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyHamlin, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Springfield, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write regarding your recent stay at The Hilton Garden Inn Springfield. I am delighted that your overall experience was positive and that you enjoyed our hotel. We hope to see you back in the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

The lobby and grounds are beautiful. The pool is small and was crowded. Breakfast was quite good but it is not a free one it is at their restaurant. The rooms are clean but they only have the "new" sleep system mattresses in their king bed rooms. So in a double you get quite dated old ones. The chair was also dated with a little stain. There is a highway close by so easy access. Just needs a little tlc in the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwotimesMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyHamlin, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Springfield, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thanks for the feedback on your recent stay. I sincerely appreciate the kind words regarding our hotel. The hotel is getting ready for a renovation and we are getting a new fresh look very soon. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I stayed one night at this hotel while in Springfield on business. I was disappointed, especially given the high ranking of this property on tripadvisor. Overall I would say that it was a below average HGI with nice staff. The room did have the basics—bed was OK, there was sufficient space, the free internet worked well, and there was a refrigerator and microwave in the room. However, the furnishings looked worn, the carpet looked dirty, the room had a musty smell, and the water pressure in the shower was weak. The noise from the highway also prevented me from getting a good night’s sleep. The staff were nice—I was greeted with a smile at registration and the restaurant. But, the overall experience was just not good enough to entice me to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IronChefNeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyHamlin, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Springfield, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your recent visit to Hilton Garden Inn Springfield and for having taken the time to write feedback about your stay on Tripadvisor. Your feedback with regards to our facilities and services is extremely important to us and allows us to continually monitor and improve our services. We will be having a renovation very soon and hope to see you again in the future to see our new look.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed here last week in March 2012. It was easy to find and had easy access to resturants and the Lincoln sites. Lobby was very welcoming, however the front desk clerk was efficient but almost to the point of being rude. She took our payment method and gave us our room keys, without any info on the layout or amenities. The room was small but clean and had a nice fridge. The pillows appeared to be down, so we called the desk, to find out (allergies) and were told, "I don't know." After confirming they were down, we asked for other ones and the person who brought them was so nice, he even brought us extras! The pool was beyond tiny. No room to play. We stayed on the third floor and found it to be very noisy at night. Each night we were not even given enough wash clothes for all the registered guests. Not bad given the price, but not what we expected given the other reviews.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank disfan79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyHamlin, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Springfield, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We appreciate you take your time to let us know our areas for improvement, we will certainly be working on rectifying the wrong doing in order to make all our visitors stay, a pleasant experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
3.4 mi away
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 38 in Springfield
197 reviews
4.9 mi away
Ramada Springfield North
Ramada Springfield North
#3 of 38 in Springfield
690 reviews
0.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Springfield

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
Address: 3100 S. Dirksen Parkway, Springfield, IL 62703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Springfield
#9 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#10 Family Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Springfield 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located at exit 94 of I-55 on the SE side of Springfield with shopping, movie theaters, and over 20 restaurants within a couple of blocks. We are also just minutes from the State Capitol Building Downtown and the Lincoln sites.-Complimentary high-speed Internet access and secure, remote printing to the business center-Refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker in every room-117 guestrooms (16 suites)-Full service Great American Grill Restaurant for breakfast and dinner-Evening room service-Pavilion Lounge-Heated indoor pool and whirlpool-Workout facility-Complimentary outdoor parking-Just over 4,200 sq. ft. of divisible meeting space to accommodate up to 200 people banquet style-On-site catering from our Executive Chef-Service that is focused on what is most important. YOU! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield Hotel Springfield
Springfield Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing