We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wingate by Wyndham Springfield
Nearby Hotels
$89
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Candlewood Suites Springfield(Springfield)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
State House Inn(Springfield)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Comfort Suites(Springfield)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baymont Inn & Suites Springfield(Springfield)(Great Value!)
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (592)
Filter reviews
592 results
Traveler rating
246
145
94
74
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
246
145
94
74
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshampton innthe breakfast areafront desk staffclean roomscomplimentary breakfastgreat place to staybreakfast staffeasy accesswould stay here againthe room was nicestaff was very friendlyoatmealbed was comfortablelincoln sitesparking lotdirkseninterstate
Filter
Updating list...
542 - 547 of 592 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The location of this place is actually really nice to get to off the interstate and also to visit the sites around downtown. The rooms and breakfast met the usual Hampton standards and are done very nicely. (I don't see anything wrong with the breakfast selections which were ample nor the location of the breakfast area) The air conditioning unit was actually a bit annoying and showed that it was aging. What was more frustrating was the pool was closed for general maintenance for the first two days we arrived there. (1) No notice of this was given on the internet or the confirmation (2) staff did not really seem to think it was a major issue and couldn't offer anything more than well "that the way it is". (with small children - this is A BIG ISSUE! Notice would have been nice and even nicer would have been a slight discount since I did question staying there) (3) Once we did get into use the pool - it needed a hell of a lot more help than a small maintance that was performed. Paint was done pretty poorly, grit in the pool, paint peeling and bubbling on the pool bottom, tiles falling off the pool edge. The restroom zone of the area was okay and maybe that was where the maintenance was done. I think I would have felt better for the pool being shut down for two days of our stay if it looked that something was addressed in the rest of the area. The hallways and the main area of the rooms were well kept but the nooks in the room were packed of cobwebs - not the usual Hampton expereince. Staff was okay - but really not what we have come to expect from this chain. It took over 7 hours to get the fridge we had requested when we booked the room - which included two reminders.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bedot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozkan D, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

We do apologize for pool being closed. Due to some reaction on the pool floor paint we had to strip the floor and repainted to make it non slip surface again. We did not have enough time to inform our website because our guests safety concern we decided to start painting ASAP. Once again I am sorry.

As of right now pool is back to order and we have no issues what so ever and if your planning to come here please call me directly we will be happy to reserve your room at the best rate available.

regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

If you don't mind sitting in recption to have your breakfast off plastic plates and cutlery then this is for you, room needed a make over as did the uncontrable air con , full on or off .musky smell in corridors , For price charged with surrounding hotels in area to compare it is far to high. One night stopper only .

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJH66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozkan D, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

First of all we appreciate your business and thank you for choosing Hampton Inn for your stay. The rates are depend on our occupancy as well as there is Illinois State Fair is going on at this time and we closed all discounts because of the demand. You can always check our rates online and also you can use the option for " ADVANCE PURCHASE" to save 15%

The disposable we are using for breakfast are the Hilton approved products and they are called enviroware products which almost 100% recyclable . This a requirement from Hilton Brand that every Hampton must use this products. If this is not meet with your needs we do apologize for your inconvenience.

When you were talking about "facelift" yes it is the time and happy to announce that we are going to have some projects starting soon to serve you better. Please stand by for our perfect mix lobby and updated breakfast area.

Once again thank you for your business and looking forward to have you in the future again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Convenient and just off the Interstate (look for the Power Plant stacks), staff was pleasant but this was the first Hampton Inn in recent memory where the obvious and expected total cleanliness was missing. As usual and most importantly the beds were clean, but the peripheals were not. Under the computer desk was a previous guests key card holder, and a product package, The bathroom floor corners had hair and dust buldup and the toilet seat had a loose or broken connection side. Slick bathtub surface so use the provided bath mat. Plenty of nearby restaurants, some within walking distance. No microwave or refrigerator often found in most Hampton Inn's.

Room Tip: Consider their Litchfield or Lincoln locations
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HopefulIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozkan D, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

I sincerely apologize for this inconvenience. your findings are absolutely very important for us to make it right. If you please contact me from Hotels number 217 5291100 I will be happy to talk to you in person and offer you our guarantee. I am looking forward to hear from you soon.

Thank you and we appreciate your business.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Great room - clean and updated. Also, love the white duvet that I know is clean! Always sleep well. The person I talked to when I made my reservation, was not that helpful, but maybe was having a bad day. Plus, when I checked in, there was a line. Jonathan was standing messing around and finally noticed we were there. Other woman was being most accomodating to her customers. Overall, though, excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank middleton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozkan D, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Thank you so much for your comments and we are so grateful to hear nice words from our guests about our beds. They are special for Hampton inn's and known as cloud 9 beds. Once again thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay and looking forward to have you again in the future.
We appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The hotel desk staff were very nice and helpful with directions, etc. The children enjoyed the pool. The room was updated and very clean. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. I would definitely choose to stay at the Hampton Inn in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ksinglete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozkan D, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Thank you so much for your comments and positive feed back about our hotel. We strive for excellence your good comments are always encourage us to work even harder to make sure we provide the top quality service to our guests who are away from home.

We appreciate your business and looking forward to have you again in the near future

regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews