We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location for Springfield Tours”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Clearlake Plaza
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
McLeansboro, Illinois
1 review
“Best location for Springfield Tours”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The location is 2 to 3 miles from everything and that was fantastic! The continental breakfast added biscuits, gravy and french toast! The hotel itself, especially the pres. suite . was extremely comfortable for 6 people!!! The room was extremely clean, lots of towels and friendly staff. We will definitely return to this location!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janleigh58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    76
    36
    5
    6
See reviews for
64
76
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

This hotel not only swipes your credit card to charge it (fine). They also make a complete carbon copy of your credit card - and they do that on their copy of your receipt. So, on one piece of paper they have your complete name, complete address, license plate info AND a carbon copy of your credit card. They refused to black out any of the credit card digits despite the room being paid in full and inspected to eliminate the issue of any damage charges. They keep this paper, with sensitive information, on the premises for 7 YEARS. They claim this is their policy, but can not produce it in writing. Best Western corporate is impotent and of no assisance, hiding behind "each hotel is independently owned and operated".

The manager, Bruce, walks away from the desk while you ask questions and refuses to give the owner name or contact information.

The desk staff stands right outside of the front door (and room AC intake units) and smokes. There is a film of God-Only-Knows-What on the surface of the pool water. Breakfast is juice and stale donuts.

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Ima T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GREENFIELD
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is an older hotel that is showing its age. The hotel staff was very friendly. Rooms had not been updated recently. Beds were comfortable. We were told to expect a hot breakfast but the offering barely qualified for continental.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raelynn219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

I stayed here one night for work. The outside looks a lot worse than the inside. The inside is ok. It's a Best Western and it looks like a Best Western, an average hotel. The room was better then expected. It was clean and was decorated nicely with modern bedding, carpet and TV. My major complaint is that the entire hotel smelled like an ashtray. The lobby, hallway and my room. On every door there was a Non Smoking sign but my bill said smoking and the room had an ashtray and matches. It smelled pretty bad. I luckily had some Fabreeze on me which I sprayed generously over the entire room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sigma723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This is a decent place to stay and is very close to 55, so if you are bad with directions (like me) you'll like the fact that you can get there VERY easy from the road -- no frontage road mysteries to solve here. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was clean. and the bed was comfortable. Despite being on a busy road, the room was quiet. The slight drawbacks are that this the view from the room windows is less than picturesque (if that type of thing is important to you), and there was no bathroom fan in at least one of the rooms (mine) and possibly others. Also, they accept pets there, so allergy sufferers be forewarned.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Wayne, IN
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed here on April 2nd. The very nice front desk lady was kind enough to let us see a room before we decided to stay as we had come to Springfield without a reservation. The room was very clean, the linens were new and soft and they had a decent breakfast. The room (king) was very large and had a nice bathroom. It was all very clean.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1963corvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

This hotel needs some updating. There is no view from either side of the hotel. The breakfast has only 3 tables for guest to use. Not much of a breakfast sausage and biscuits, an assortment of bread for toast. hard boiled eggs, cereal and some fruit. Pool looked okay but did not use The dead bolt lock on our rooms door did not work. if you are only staying for the night and want easy on or off from expressway this hotel is okay. We have decided if we were to travel this way again would try a different hotel. Also not to many places to eat around this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boopsie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
6.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Springfield
2.9 mi away
The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#8 of 38 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
2.3 mi away
Ramada Springfield North
Ramada Springfield North
#3 of 38 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Clearlake Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Clearlake Plaza

Property: Best Western Clearlake Plaza
Address: 3440 E. Clearlake Ave., Springfield, IL 62702-6210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Springfield
#13 Family Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Clearlake Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Clearlake Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Springfield
Springfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing